We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rustic resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Santa Barbara, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful rustic resort”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The grounds are simply gorgeous, and within walking distance to the Orang Utan and Sun Bear Rehab centers as well as the Rainforest Conservation Center. The staff are friendly and helpful, and because their sister property is the Bilit Rainforest Lodge (or something akin to that) it was very easy to arrange a visit to the Kinabatangan River.
My room was large, with wifi (which only worked one part of the property), bathroom with shower stall and hot water, comfy bed, tv, a/c, and assorted teas and coffee. The pool is large with a waterfall, but it does cost 5 ringgit, 2 ringgit more to rent a towel. The breakfast buffet in their restaurant was basic and good, as were the other offerings. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcf805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear lcf805,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. We will inform our staff and I am sure they will be delighted and it will motivate them to serve and work harder.

Our sister lodge is called Bilit Adventure Lodge located at Kinabatangan River. Best to go for some who love nature and wildlife.

Thanks for all the compliments.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    211
    185
    76
    47
See reviews for
107
286
49
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in one of the budget rooms here. The room was very simple but clean and the shower was hot (what more do you need?) The place is massive and pretty much backs on to the sunbears and orang utan rehabilitation centres (an orang utan walked through the place about half an hour before we turned up!) so it's a great place to have a wander around. The staff were lovely and helpful and the food at the cafe was nice enough. A good budget option if you're not looking for anything too fancy.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nos21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear Nos21,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

The fan room has just been renovated and currently we are doing the reception area.

As we have set aside 20 acres of land for the wildlife in the area, it is not surprising to see wildlife in the resort. Furthermore, we are located just next to the Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. Sometimes, they do come here to pay a visit.

Once again, thank you for your overall compliment about the room, food and services.

Looking forward to serve you again.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Me and my partner stayed here while visiting Borneo. We choose to stay here because its only 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehab Center. The place is wonderful but is very much tired and a bit runs down. We stayed at the Fan room and the room was renovated. The staff was also friendly and helpful at all tomes except the waitress. They are so lazy. You need to call them many times because they are busy with gossiping. The restaurant was over priced but nice food. The funniest about this restaurant is, on the night time, it turn to a gambling center. They are playing mahjong.
The thing that we never forget is their driver. We booked the transfer at the reception counter. They gave us discount since we have to share the transfer with the staff. On the way, the weather looks like going to rain so we bit worried about our valuables thing where we put at the back of the car. I ask the driver to stop for a while to check our luggage. He stop at the roadside, going down but he close the door firmly. “Bang”….. Me & my partner was shock. We don’t understand why he angry with us because we do pay for the transfer. I guess he was not happy because we ask him to stop and check the luggage.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babyboy1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear babyboy1972,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Playing mah-jong is the only entertainment the staff has here in the jungle. Only staff who are not working is allowed to play at the corner - max 4 person per session. Since we have received a complain from you, we will review this entertainment as we value our customer feedback.

So sorry about the driver. As there is no mention of name, this driver may not be our staff as many times we will engage other driver as we have limited driver ourselves. We will monitor all these drivers and will inform them to be courteous to all clients.

We also take note of the waitress.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the nice food and we will inform our kitchen about it. I am sure they will be delighted.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Belud, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I recently went there for my elective with a few of my friends at Sepilok Rehab Centre and I chose to stay here because it was close (literally 5min walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehab Centre) and for the price.

We were shocked at first to find out that our room had one fan only and a small one too and it the blazing hot weather, it wasnt enough. However, the nights were better at least and we can sleep.
The bed was comfortable, the hot shower (not that we need them because of the weather) was functional but the flow of the water is not that strong so we took our bath using the pail and bucket provided.
There is also that stinky smell coming from outside the bathroom sometimes in the night. I don't know where that is from but it was really disturbing haha.
The staffs were really nice though. We requested a few things not easily available, and they provided us with those things, free of charge!

The breakfast, although almost always the same menu everyday, but it was tasty and sufficient.
And we have neighbours living below us who I think are workers there, sometimes they turn on the TV and their musics too loud. And they smoke most of the times (even early morning 5am++) and the smoke will enter our rooms.
So that was a bit turn off staying here.

Other than that, it was a pleasant stay. Will definitely stay here again, but I would definitely book the one with air conditioning. haha

Room Tip: Definitely go for the air conditioned rooms on hot weathers. :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zenmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear zenmax,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.

Being a local Malaysian should understand that our weather is very hot and humid. Usually a room will be given a fan. We do not see the need of putting multiple fan in a standard size room.

We will inform our staff about your compliments.

However, we thank you for your feedback about the loud noise and we will inform our staff about it. Those staff who are staying near the fan room is all non smoker so I am not sure if the smoke is from the staff quarters.

Overall, we are happy that you will come back to stay with us and be sure to choose an air cond room next time.

Thank you very much.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We highly recommend staying at the Sepilok Jungle Resort if you want to be within walking distance to the Sepilok Urang Utan Rehabilitation Centre. There is another hotel near the centre but it was pricier than the Sepilok Jungle Resort. The village of Sepilok is just a few minutes by taxi from the Sandakan airport (about 40 MYR). Imelda and Regina at the front desk were very helpful, professional and efficient. They provided us a room that was very clean and functional. The A/C and fan were a luxury for us. The restaurant/dining area could be reached by a series of board walks from our room. The breakfast was excellent and it was included in the price of the room. We also ate one lunch and two dinners and we were very satisfied with what we ordered. You can also easily visit the Rainforest Development Centre (20 min walk or short taxi ride), Sun Bear Conservation Centre (short walk), and Labuk Bay Proboscis Monkey Santuary (half hour taxi ride) from the Sepilok Jungle Resort (SJR). What impressed us the most about the SJR was the staff who could think outside the box. We paid for 3 nights but after two awesome days in the Sepilok area we decided to move on to see more of Sabah. It turned out that SJR has a sister lodge at the Kinabatangan River area The front desk gals, Imelda and Regina, applied a big portion of our balance (less booking fee from a third party booking company) at the SJR to their sister lodge. They also helped us with the transportation arrangements and tours in the Kinabatangan River - that was service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear ReneTeresa,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and our sister lodge, Bilit Adventure Lodge at Kinabatangan River.

We are specially delighted that you are enjoying and find our food very delicious.

I have forwarded your comments to all the staff and it has motivated them to work harder to serve all future guests especially Melda and Regina.

Once again, thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have marked this review as a 5 because of what it cost us and what we received.
The room was spotlessly clean and the aircon worked well.

We stayed 3 nights and ate all our meals in the banana café. The breakfast was ok, not great but perfectly edible. The lunch and dinners were really good. We ate all Malaysian food and it was perfect. I'm sure if you want burgers then it prob wasn't great, but you're in Malaysia , so eat what the locals eat!

The location to the sun bears and Orangutans was literally a 5 minute stroll .

We didn't mind paying extra for the pool, as we knew it before we went and it was peanuts, and absolutely beautiful after walking round the sanctuarys, and getting very hot.

We also saw 2 orang-utans in the banana café on our last evening and one there in the morning when we went to get our packed breakfast, which made the stay even more magical.

Don't bother to prebook a taxi when you arrive as there are lots at the airport for 40RM, but if you're leaving early in the morning ,check on your taxi. We had prebooked and prepaid for a taxi that didn't arrive, but my husband "hijacked" one of the tour buses!

All in all a fantastic place to stay, and a big thank you to all the staff , especially the girl who kept us topped up with Tiger beer, (sorry don't know your name!!) and Johnny for all the local info.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 38, with a lovely view of the jungle
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marknlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear marknlou,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you loved the local food that we served.

Orang Utan coming to the resort is quite common as we are sharing the same forest with Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre.

We will let our staff know about your compliments and I am sure they will be very happy to hear it.

Good to know that you find that my local information is useful to you.

We look forward to serve you again in the future.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent 2 nights here with my husband. The resort is just 10min away from orang utans and sun bear, so great location. the resort is nice, bit run down, but food in the restaurant is fresh and good. go for the prawns that are big and juicy and amazing Sabah vegetable which you cannot get outside Sabah. During our breakfast one morning orang utan came to visit, so we have a really close encounter with this amazing animal. Pool is there, which is nice after hot day spent in jungle trails, and also because after 4pm all places close. the fee of RM5 for pool use and RM2 for towel seem excessive for guests staying in resort. it is right to charge the outsiders, which come from other hotels to use the pool. Rainforest discovery center is also very nice and interesting with better trails. RM40 to airport by taxi.

Room Tip: n.38 is with balcony facing jungle ad near to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minna_s_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limjohnny, Owner at Sepilok Jungle Resort, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear minna_s_12,

Thank for choosing to stay with us.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with especially the food. We will inform kitchen and I am sure it will motivates them to work harder.

Orang Utan visit to the resort is not unusual as our land is just to the sepilok orang utan rehabilitation centre. They come quite often. Sometimes few days in a row.

Once again, thank you and we look forward to serve you again.

Johnny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.0 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
589 reviews
11.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.5 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
319 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 32 in Sandakan
38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sepilok Forest Edge Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sepilok Jungle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sepilok Jungle Resort

Property: Sepilok Jungle Resort
Address: Jalan Rambutan | Sepilok, Mile 14, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sepilok Jungle Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 5 minutes walk to Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre, Sepilok Jungle Resort offers comfortable lodging for visitors around the world to get close but un-intrusive glimpse of this nature paradise. It is enclosed within a tropical virgin Borneo Rainforest in Sandakan, Sabah (Borneo), Malaysia. Let its beautiful landscaped gardens and wide expanse of lush jungle transport you back in time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sepilok Jungle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sepilok Jungle Hotel Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Sandakan
Sepilok Jungle Resort Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing