We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked this place simply because it was the cheapest but I am glad we did. The rooms are basic (literally just a bed) but very clean and the air con is fantastic. Also had 2 large windows and nice view out onto the street below. Bathrooms brilliant very clean hot water great pressure! The staff are wonderful they will go out their way to help you and very friendly! Lovely location right near the harbour! A good tip though don't bother booking any tours to sepilok, the rainforest discovery centre or labuk bay you can get to all these yourself easily at a fraction of the cost. The number 14 bus leaves the minibus station for sepilok every morning at 9 and is only 10 ringgit. Walk out the hostel to the right, turn right again and then turn left, past the local bus stop and you will see it ahead. You can get a connecting bus from sepilok to RDC and do them both in a day. The 14 bus leaves sepilok at 4. For labuk bay there in a shuttle bus that leaves hotel sandakan every day at 9.30 for 15 ringgit. Head towards the police station and when you can see the police station its just on your right and the bus is very comfy with AC. Overall loved it, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers & Borneo Sandakan Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived in Sandakan late evening with no accommodation booked. We saw another hostel first which was more expensive for a room without window and then came to Borneo Sandkan Backpackers. We really like our room. It's spacious has a window and air con. From what we know all single, double and 3 bed rooms have windows. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Make sure you give it a try when visiting Sandakan.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Franciszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers & Borneo Sandakan Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Borneo backpackers was a lucky find for us. Arrived in the middle of the night and Red got us settled. We stayed for around 7 nights either side of a stay in the jungle. Cheap, clean, great atmosphere and Jono and Gary know how to show 3 young kiwi lads a good time! Friends fo life!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Whats up, Tim

Thanks for the review. Really appreciated it. Send regards to the boys.

Regards
Jonathan, Gary & Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a twin with airco and shared bathroom (RM60 pn), but we would have stayed a lot longer if we hadn't booked our Kinabatangan tour yet. The hostel is new, clean and has a great atmosphhere. Johnatan is the niced manager ever and will help you with anything.
The location is perfect, in the main street and close to all restaurants, mall, waterfront, shops, busstation and McD.
The room was huge (we even had an extra bed) and the beds are comfortable.
The (hot) showers and toilets are also clean. The breakfast is simple but good, toast and jam, just as everywhere else.
The only little thing was that we found a Long black hair in the bed, again.. We are used to this after 2 months of travel but IT's still a bit annoying when you're not sure wheater the sheets have been changed or not. Apart from this minor thing Borneo sandakan backpackers is the best value for money you will find. I think it was the best guest house we have stayed in so far.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank thailalaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hi Thalia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our backpackers on Trip Advisor and thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to be able to chit chat with you and share what we know at our Borneo Sandakan Backpackers lounge area.

We are disappointed to learn of your experience, and your comments indicated to us that you did not receive our usual very high standards. I can ensure you that our bedsheets are changed daily and our staff are constantly working to ensure the hygiene and cleanliness of all rooms in the backpackers, but please be assured that we will take action on your points raised.

We hope to welcome you back to Borneo Sandakan Backpackers in the not too distant future, and we hope to demonstrate to you that we are capable of exceeding your expectations. We would be delighted to personally look after you and ensure your room meets your requirements.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Jonathan and the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This would be the best backpackers I've stayed at. Very Clean, Hot Showers, Cold Aircon, Fast Wifi, Breakfast, Tea, Coffee, Filtered water, Friendly well spoken and helpful staff that will help you with anything you need.

The backpackers is joined to Borneo Sandakan Tours, which organises package deals and day trips to the Kinabatangan, Sepilok etc. This takes all the hassle out of planning your time in the area and Johnathan and his team will give you honest, reliable advice on what to do and how to go about planning it. I'd strongly recommend booking your tours through these guys as well.

I also really appreciated being greeted by name on a daily basis and all the staff there seemed to have a genuine interest in what you're doing, where you're going, where you've come from etc.

It took me a long time to think of something that they could improve on, If I was being really picky the only thing we thought the rooms were missing was a shelf or bedside table.

I stayed here on 2 separate occasions for a total of 5 nights

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

Hi Marc

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers & Borneo Sandakan Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Wow! Best backpackers we experienced in 2 months of travelling. Service was so incredible. The staff go out of their way to welcome you and see to your needs. The tour company attached it fantastic too! Highly recommend staying here if you want to plan trips around Sabah. The shared lounge is spacious and fun, kitchen is clean and bread always fresh! Rooms are big! Great swipe card access. Bathrooms are spotless with big hot showers. We booked a your through the company and came back to stay here after. Have recommended them to all our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Dear Jo

Thank you for staying with us and I appreciate you are taking time to share a review on the Backpackers.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and the tours.

Again, thank you for the feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Borneo Sandakan Backpackers when you next return to Sandakan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Easily the cleanest hostel I stayed in. The staff are friendly and helpful, the air conditioning cold, the showers hot and it's one street from the harbour in Harbour Square! The only tiny downfall for me was the mattresses were a tad hard and there was no window in my room (there were windows in other rooms though). But overall best hostel in Sandakan. And at 22ringgit for an air conditioned dorm with only 6 people in it, it's a bargain!

Room Tip: Ask for a Room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThePoorExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2013

Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

We appreciate your very kind review, thank you very much for that.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
664 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sandakan
326 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#8 of 33 in Sandakan
124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Sandakan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Address: Block HS-5, Lot 54 & 55, 1st & 2nd floor, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range: £10 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Sandakan Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to present you with the newly built Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, strategically located in Sandakan Harbour Square, a well-developed domestic area at the town of Sandakan. A couple of minutes’ walk to restaurants, banks and shops, Borneo Sandakan Backpackers offers comfortable and convenient accommodation for couples, singles, families and backpackers travelling to Sandakan.Borneo Sandakan Backpackers is directly in front of Swiss Inn Hotel. Our building is painted in red and white with a vertical red "BACKPACKERS" signboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Borneo Sandakan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing