We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Uddevalla, Västra Götaland, Sweden
2 reviews
“Best hostel ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We spent 3 nights at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers during our 4 mounts in Asia. This place has it all! The staff is excellent, very helpful and with perfect english skills. The rooms are big and clean, so are the bathrooms and the common areas. This is a modern hostel to a very affordable price. Borneo Sandakan Backpackers is probably the best hostel we have been to so far!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FannySomnas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    22
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
51
37
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
134 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

I travel a lot in asia and this is so far one of the best hostel I have ever stayed it! The staff is super friendly, it is located right in the center, the rooms and bathrooms are clean and the internet works well. First we planed to stay just for one night but then we extended our time in sandakan, watching soccer and movies every night.
If you visit sandakan choose this hostel, it's amazing!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank James_Supertramp_Th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers & Borneo Sandakan Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

We came to this hostel by a mere chance and we found it excellent. Rooms and facilities are clean and spacious. The breakfast is included. What impressed us the most was the Manager Johnatan who helped us a lot with our intermediary, offered excellent tips for sightseeing and tours as well as shared his knowledge about the local customs and cuisine.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdLuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers & Borneo Sandakan Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We booked this place simply because it was the cheapest but I am glad we did. The rooms are basic (literally just a bed) but very clean and the air con is fantastic. Also had 2 large windows and nice view out onto the street below. Bathrooms brilliant very clean hot water great pressure! The staff are wonderful they will go out their way to help you and very friendly! Lovely location right near the harbour! A good tip though don't bother booking any tours to sepilok, the rainforest discovery centre or labuk bay you can get to all these yourself easily at a fraction of the cost. The number 14 bus leaves the minibus station for sepilok every morning at 9 and is only 10 ringgit. Walk out the hostel to the right, turn right again and then turn left, past the local bus stop and you will see it ahead. You can get a connecting bus from sepilok to RDC and do them both in a day. The 14 bus leaves sepilok at 4. For labuk bay there in a shuttle bus that leaves hotel sandakan every day at 9.30 for 15 ringgit. Head towards the police station and when you can see the police station its just on your right and the bus is very comfy with AC. Overall loved it, would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers & Borneo Sandakan Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived in Sandakan late evening with no accommodation booked. We saw another hostel first which was more expensive for a room without window and then came to Borneo Sandkan Backpackers. We really like our room. It's spacious has a window and air con. From what we know all single, double and 3 bed rooms have windows. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Make sure you give it a try when visiting Sandakan.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_Franciszek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Hi

Greetings from the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers!

Thank you for your review.

We hope to see you again!

Regards,
The Team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers & Borneo Sandakan Tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Borneo backpackers was a lucky find for us. Arrived in the middle of the night and Red got us settled. We stayed for around 7 nights either side of a stay in the jungle. Cheap, clean, great atmosphere and Jono and Gary know how to show 3 young kiwi lads a good time! Friends fo life!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Whats up, Tim

Thanks for the review. Really appreciated it. Send regards to the boys.

Regards
Jonathan, Gary & Ray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sittard
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in a twin with airco and shared bathroom (RM60 pn), but we would have stayed a lot longer if we hadn't booked our Kinabatangan tour yet. The hostel is new, clean and has a great atmosphhere. Johnatan is the niced manager ever and will help you with anything.
The location is perfect, in the main street and close to all restaurants, mall, waterfront, shops, busstation and McD.
The room was huge (we even had an extra bed) and the beds are comfortable.
The (hot) showers and toilets are also clean. The breakfast is simple but good, toast and jam, just as everywhere else.
The only little thing was that we found a Long black hair in the bed, again.. We are used to this after 2 months of travel but IT's still a bit annoying when you're not sure wheater the sheets have been changed or not. Apart from this minor thing Borneo sandakan backpackers is the best value for money you will find. I think it was the best guest house we have stayed in so far.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thailalaudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Thalia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our backpackers on Trip Advisor and thank you very much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to be able to chit chat with you and share what we know at our Borneo Sandakan Backpackers lounge area.

We are disappointed to learn of your experience, and your comments indicated to us that you did not receive our usual very high standards. I can ensure you that our bedsheets are changed daily and our staff are constantly working to ensure the hygiene and cleanliness of all rooms in the backpackers, but please be assured that we will take action on your points raised.

We hope to welcome you back to Borneo Sandakan Backpackers in the not too distant future, and we hope to demonstrate to you that we are capable of exceeding your expectations. We would be delighted to personally look after you and ensure your room meets your requirements.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know of your experience and we look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,
Jonathan and the team at Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#4 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Sandakan Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Sandakan Backpackers

Property: Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Address: Block HS-5, Lot 54 & 55, 1st & 2nd floor, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Sandakan Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are proud to present you with the newly built Borneo Sandakan Backpackers, strategically located in Sandakan Harbour Square, a well-developed domestic area at the town of Sandakan. A couple of minutes’ walk to restaurants, banks and shops, Borneo Sandakan Backpackers offers comfortable and convenient accommodation for couples, singles, families and backpackers travelling to Sandakan.Borneo Sandakan Backpackers is directly in front of Swiss Inn Hotel. Our building is painted in red and white with a vertical red "BACKPACKERS" signboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Borneo Sandakan Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing