We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Awesome”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

First i would like to commented about the room. It was so old style and the carpet was smelly... The bath tab was leakage and asked the service to fixed it, but no one came to fixed it... Please fix your customer service. Sabah hotel was a strategic place and seriously my husben and i like it so much, so dont spoiled it with the service. I want to thank you for the service provided by the staff of the hotel sabah during my honeymoon...I'd like to thank to one of the staff sabah hotel, Nadia... She is Very friendly and made me very meaningful honeymoon with a very creative idea conveyed by nadia. Sabah hotel should appreciate the staff as nadia and I will come again just because the way she treated me... Overall even the room and service from houskeeping was poor but sabah hotel is awesome... The view, the sauna,pool and everything was great!!! Thank you sabah hotel, thank you nadia...i will come again and see you again... I will learn korean language just for you...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Roxen85 ,

Thank you for the review.

We have taken note of your comment with regards to the level of service and we will definitely ensure it will not be repeated.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your honeymoon with us and that our associate, Nadia has contributed positively to your stay experience.

The next time you visit Sandakan again, please send us a quick note and we will make it as delightful, if not better.

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    242
    128
    29
    15
See reviews for
106
219
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

We stayed one night on our way to the jungle at Kinabatangan. I liked the reception area and the pool is amazing ! The first room we were taken to was a smoking room and I asked if we could be moved. The second room was a bit better, but had quite a musty smell - (I have a very sensitive sense of smell). The staff were friendly and helpful, and we were delighted that there was free wifi around the place.. downstairs. It has an old colonial feel about the place. There was an abundance of food in the restaurant downstairs, although it was really busy - a lot of variety.
We sat outside and enjoyed the pool view. We also took a room for the day on our way back from the jungle, prior to getting on the long flight back home - we used the pool and restaurant. Nice views from the rooms looking into the jungle or onto the pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brookman-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Dear Brookman-Dublin,

Thank you for the review.

We are delighted to note that you have enjoyed your stay, especially the pool, food and the level of service rendered by our associates.

We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Anthony Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Having read the reviews on this hotel I was a little sceptical.

The hotel is fabulous, 10 minutes from town, WONDERFUL staff, couldn't do enough for me - I stayed for a portion of my trip on my own and they were all very helpful and kind and provided excellent advice for me.

The hotel is going through renovation, the rooms are spacious and clean.

The food is DELICIOUS with a good variety of choice, breakfast good, dinner nice.

The location is great for a stay to visit Sepilok, the War Memorial, Turtle Islands (a must see), proboscis monkeys, Sandakan market and more.

I have fallen in love with Borneo and WILL BE BACK!

Room Tip: Higher floors in the main hotel are better, hotel is being renovated so I can;t wait to see what thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VickyRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 6 December 2012
Dear VickyRobinson,

Thank you so much for the review.

We are indeed happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay.

We wouldn't be surprised to know that you have fallen in love with Borneo, as the destination indeed has so much to offer, and with our strategic location perched on top of a little hill and yet 5 minutes taxi ride to town, Sabah Hotel is easily the choice of accommodation in exploring Sandakan.

Please contact us should your travel brings you to Sandakan again in the near future.

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The Sabah Hotel is located on the edge of town just a fifteen walk - mostly downhill - into Sandakan. We were a party of 13 adults and most of us made the walk to town at some time or another during our stay there Some did the walk both ways but it is a good uphill walk back so my wife and I opted for the local bus which dropped us at the Clock Tower Roundabout at the top of the climb from where it was a short walk to the hotel. It's a shame that there's no bus stop right outside the hotel but it is on a dual carriageway with no pull in for buses in either direction.

The main hotel building is laid out overlooking the very attractive swimming pool with a water slide (for use by children only). There are sun loungers around the pool and towels can be collected from the adjacent gym. While we were staying there - October - the sun moved off the pool area around 4.00 pm which was rather disappointing as it was such a pleasant place to relax.

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Sabah - the buffet breakfast and dinner were excellent with a good choice of food. The dining room is alongside the pool and one can be seated either inside the dining room or undercover in the open. My wife and I don't drink alcohol so I have to admit I didn't fully understand a notice on the door to the dining room - it seemed that alcohol was banned from the dining room itself, but it could be consumed in the outdoor undercover dining area. If this is important to potential guests then it may be worthwhile clarifying the drinks policy when booking.

The hotel seems to be something of a social centre for Sandakan. While we were there we had a wedding party in one of the function rooms, a school 'prom' was taking place with the girls all dressed to the nines in their extremely colourful Islamic outfits complete with head coverings and there was an exhibition of a property development facing Singapore Island which I attended and found quite fascinating.

There are squash courts and a tennis court in the grounds but these are some distance from the hotel being located at the far side of the hotel grounds accessible by a rather steep wooden staircase which has seen better days. The tennis court was in a playable condition but they do need to repair the net! I have to say that I admired a husband and wife team from our party, both in their seventies, who had a hard game of squash in those soaring temperatures.

Room Tip: Try to book a room overlooking the swimming pool - it is such an attractive outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Welsh_Travel_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tyne and wear uk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Could do with some redecoration, expensive alcohol even by malay standards,(captive audience comes to mind). Food a little bland, probably toned down to suit european palates.(or so they think, but after listening to dutch french and german residents, most think , more spice please!!)
No safe in room, safety deposit at reception
Pleasant as a overnight stop but woud'nt linger

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyTyneAndWearUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

First impressions are excellent. The hotel is a fair way out of town (but only a 10 ringgit taxi ride away) and has a distinguished location and very smart public areas. It's evidently though that the wing we were in had not been refurbished for a very long time. Quite small and had Seventies delights such as the TV controls being in a panel by the side of the bed pre remote control style. Clean enough, though, and a very nice view out across the pool. Apparently the Borneo wing is actually cheaper but has been refurbished so it may be better to aim for this section. The breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Obarmoth,

Thank you so much for writing this review.

We would like to share that renovation plan is in the pipeline and we would like to welcome you back to Sabah Hotel to experience the total make over.

The Borneo wing rooms are limited in numbers and are set in a more private environment with a beautiful garden, offering an alternative choice besides the main hotel block that comes with scenic and pool view. Prior reservation is recommended.

Please contact us should your travel brings you to Sandakan in the near future.

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We are just about to leave the Sabah hotel, which we have stayed in for 3 nights. The hotel is dated and needs a bit of a revamp as the furniture and decor is old and tired. There is a damp, musty smell that is probably due to the fact that they have carpets and wallpaper and in such humid conditions this isn't good.

I have to say though the hotel is well staffed with friendly and helpful people. The pool is excellent and exceptionally clean with a hot tub and children's pool.

The rooms are very clean and the beds comfortable, which is good after a days trekking in jungle.

The service in the restaurant is not the best, but they try hard. I think this maybe due to a lack of English. The food is good, especially the breakfast, which is buffet style and has most things you would want.

One thing that we really didn't like was been accosted by the shop staff even when just looking in the window. One of them jumped out from behind a plant and scared my mother, so we did not even bother to look in the shops as this put us off.

Be aware that there is no shop that sells things you may have forgotten such as sun cream etc. you have to go into town for this, which is a 15 min walk or a 5 min cab journey. Sandakan is not the nicest town you will visit, but has everything you will need.

The Sabah hotel is the only hotel in Sandakan with a pool, so if you have kids this would be your best choice.

Overall this is a great hotel as a base for trips and tours and we would definitely stay here again if we came to this side of Sabah.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tragedy0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony K, Director of Sales at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
Dear Tragedy0607,

Thank you so much for writing this review.

We have taken note of your comment, especially on the level of service at the restaurant.

We would like to share that renovation plan is in the pipeline and we would like to welcome you back to Sabah Hotel to experience the total make over.

Please contact us should your travel brings you to Sandakan in the near future.

Thank you and regards,

Anthony Kong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.5 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#9 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Hotel Sandakan

Property: Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Address: Km 1 Jalan Utara, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabah Hotel Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sabah Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Hotel Sandakan Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing