We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 stars hotel with a beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“3 stars hotel with a beautiful view”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Enjoyable one night stop on our way to the river. The biggest pro of the hotel is its view: absolutely stunning. It gives you the impression of being in the middle of the jungle. The structure is nice too, but unfortunately the furniture is a bit dated. What really takes it down though, is the dreadful carpet floor. In 2014 it is painful to still see a hotel with carpet, especially when it’s – inevitably – dirty.

This is why you should think of Sabah Hotel in Sandakan as a 3 stars hotel with a 5 stars view. But it perfectly served its functional purpose. At least for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank giulio998844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    243
    131
    29
    15
See reviews for
107
222
33
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Sabah Hotel Sandakan is an excellent choices for those wanting a solid hotel with pool as a base for your time in Borneo. I found the hotel to be a very good condition. The rooms are generous and comfortable. The lobby and lounge are well designed. The pool area is enticing, well maintained and a place you'll want to spend lots of time. The service was prompt, friendly and competent. The food was good with lots of variety. A relaxing, stress-free, hassle-free environment is what you'll find here.

Room Tip: Ask for a poolside view. Windows do not open. No balcony available that I saw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank energywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have been staying here now for quite a few nights. Sadly not been upgraded to junior suite though, which would have been nice! We stayed one night before going to turtle island and the Kinabatangan River and then returned for 5 more nights. We have 3 left to go. Although a little out of town it is very easy to walk in and get a taxi back for 10 ringgit. The food is very good, the meal deal at lunchtimes Monday to Friday is excellent. All staff are very friendly and the pool area excellent after visiting the attractions. The gym is also very good and never very busy. Today is the first day we have seen the hotel busy. Like the previous person said, when there are a few people around, there is not a lot of room to relax in the sunshine around the pool. Would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheilas21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here just for one night on our way back from a wildlife trip and enjoyed it.
We were upgraded to a Junior Suite (as there were literally only 10 guests in the whole place), so we can't comment on standard rooms. The hotel is tired, but has all the facilities you need. Nice meals, cold beer and a nice lounges and bars.
The pool area is something else and the highlight of the hotel. The breakfast had a good selection.
It is about 30 minutes from all of the wildlife sanctuaries, so be aware of that.
We walked into Sandakan and I wouldn't do it again ...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

This is a large and high quality hotel in Sandakan. The room was very spacious, well fitted and very clean, if a little retro in style (in a charming way really). The service, from porters to front desk to restaurant staff was first rate. The pool is large and interesting, but perhaps slightly lacking in areas to sun-bathe (being picky). Only meal had was breakfast, which was decent. It is set in the jungle (amazing view across/into the canopy from the pool side of the hotel) on the hill above Sandakan old town, 10RM taxi down to town and 50RM taxi to Sepilok Orang Utan Centre. Stayed there one night as part of a week-long package tour, so can't comment on value, but recommend the Sabah Hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyMoon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline C, Acting Senior Sales Manager at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Mr Tony

Thank you for taking time to share your good comments with us.

We are indeed very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Sabah Hotel.

For your info, we are in the progress of refurbishing our guestrooms at the moment.

We hope to welcome you back to Sabah Hotel in the very near future.

Regards
Jacqueline Chea
Acting Senior Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked the Sabah hotel to recuperate after a real "roughing" it experience on the Kinabatangan River safari, plus it was also my partners' 21st birthday during this time. Initially we were a little dissapointed as the reception staff tried to put us into a twin deluxe room instead of a double deluxe room as we had booked. However, they quickly rectified the issue and allowed us to stay in a huge double room, despite this room not having pool and jungle views as is guarenteed by paying for a deluxe room it had a lounge area and large flat screen TV so we were happy! The buffet breakfast was really nice but be sure to get there early or most stuff is gone or cold. The pool was also really nice however, the jacuzzi had far too much undissolved chlorine salts in it. One piece of advice though would be to maybe house the sunbeds somewhere over night, all of them had a lot of large ants on them! For my partners' birthday they brought him a birthday cake - a really nice touch! The staff were very very friendly and helpful and the rooms were very comfortable. Unfortunately the restaurant was expensive and out of our price range so we ate in Sandakan instead. Altogether a nice stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline C, Acting Senior Sales Manager at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Ms Amy

Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts with us.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Sabah Hotel in the Nature City of Sabah, Malaysian Borneo in the very near future.

Regards
Jacqueline Chea
Acting Senior Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

This comfortable hotel is dated, but renovations are planned according to other reviews. We were upgraded on arrival, our room was spacious and clean. The pool is lovely but again the surroundings are shabby.
We ate breakfast & a barbecue dinner here, I have to say the food was amazing in its variety and very plentiful. All of the staff were without exception pleasant & helpful, they kindly kept our bags overnight whilst we visited turtle island. Could do with extra staff available to man the reception desk at busy times. Thanks for a lovely stay

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Heathernurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacqueline C, Acting Senior Sales Manager at Sabah Hotel Sandakan, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Heathernurse,

Thank you for taking time to share your comments with us.

We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at Sabah Hotel in the Nature City of Sandakan.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Jacqueline Chea
Acting Senior Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.4 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
621 reviews
1.1 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#20 of 32 in Sandakan
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sandakan
Hotel Sandakan
#10 of 32 in Sandakan
120 reviews
0.7 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#8 of 32 in Sandakan
322 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sabah Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Hotel Sandakan

Property: Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Address: Km 1 Jalan Utara, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sabah Hotel Sandakan 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sabah Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Hotel Sandakan Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing