We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fat furry animals”

Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
US$130.00*
and up
Full-Day Sepilok Orangutan and Sun Bear and Sandakan City Trail
Ranked #3 of 29 things to do in Sandakan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kota Belud, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fat furry animals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I like the part where there is a tour guide giving all the information we wanted and answered all questions we answered. Very friendly

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank zenmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    281
    105
    22
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We went to visit the sunbears after watching the orang utans in the morning. There were quite a number of bears that could be spotted and managed to catch the feeding time for the bears.

The bears were lovely and we learnt alot more about the conservation of the sun bears from the friendly staff who were more than willing to share about the habits of the bear and their cause.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pomodorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Go early whilst they are on the move.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Again it was our fabulous guide, Mary Ann Degullation that recommended that we visit the sun bears before the orangutans which proved to be excellent advice.
There were about 6 bears wandering about, climbing trees & generally giving us a good experience.
One of the keepers said that they often go into their "cave" to sleep when the sun gets hot.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west australia perth
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic set up”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

This sanctuary has been in the making for a few years and has just opened to the public. In the viewing area there are two large fenced off areas one hold the juvenile bears and when we visited there were four young ones chasing each other and having a great time. The staff here are very good and go out of there way to let you know all about there efforts to rehabilitate the sun bears.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank staynaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small but great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The sun bears were amazingly active when we arrived and we got great photos and video, including the wild baby orang utan who wandered in to see what all the strange tourists were doing. Small place but worth doing

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre also viewed

 

Been to Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing