We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 15:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre
from US$102.57
More Info
from US$85.90
More Info
from US$124.00
More Info
from US$119.24
More Info
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveller rating
917
493
173
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
917
493
173
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next door viewing platform well worth a visit sanctuary animals zoo tree orang rehab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2019

We'd seen the sunbear sanctuary on the programme with Dame Judy Dench before we went, which showed its amazing work, so it was great to see the place for ourselves.

Unfortunately we didn't have much time there as only arrived from our kinabatangan trip at 11am and wanted to see the afternoon feeding at the orangutan sanctuary, and needed lunch.

The bears are in large areas, separated by age group. Plenty of staff were about to point them out and they showed us through a telescope. We saw about 4 sun bears when we were there. Information boards told the background of the bears, mainly rescued pets.

Great place to visit and wish we'd had more time there.

Date of experience: August 2019
Thank Mrssma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2019 via mobile

I enjoyed every minute. Bears are so cute and it is great to see them in their natural habitat. Staff are very friendly. Be sure to purchase something as it all goes back into the conservation.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Neads77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 September 2019 via mobile

My review for this is pretty much the same as for the Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre which is directly opposite. A crying shame that there’s a need for these rescue and rehabilitation centres, but they do make for an interesting place for tourists to visit, learn and support what they do. We saw half a dozen or so bears from the viewing platforms who ‘entertained’ us with just doing what they do..

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank Penny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2019

Dropped by the centre and was amazed by the stories of the Sunbears that are living there. Saw them up close and am in awe of the wonderful work done by the volunteers who look after the bears. Make sure you dont miss stopping here.

Date of experience: August 2019
3  Thank carmorris101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 September 2019 via mobile

This place is opposite the Orangutan Rehabilitation Centre and I guess that’s what brings in most visitors. It is only a small Centre where you walk along boardwalks to the two viewing areas. There are staff with telescopic binoculars to point out the bears. They also helped us take a photo through the binoculars which was the best photo we got. You don’t need long here.
I did buy a gorgeous children’s book from the small gift shop which was a hit.
Don’t make a special trip but do call in if you are at the Orangutans.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank Ree_Views1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews