We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 15:30
Save
  
Ways to Experience Bornean Sun Bear Conservation Centre
from US$102.57
More Info
from US$85.90
More Info
from US$124.00
More Info
from US$119.24
More Info
Reviews (1,628)
Filter reviews
1,628 results
Traveller rating
917
493
173
33
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
917
493
173
33
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews next door viewing platform well worth a visit sanctuary animals zoo tree orang rehab
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,628 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Great opportunity to see these bears. The keepers were informative about the individual bears who were happy exploring in their natural environment.

Date of experience: August 2019
1  Thank Deb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 October 2019 via mobile

enjoyed our visit
staff friendly and polite
very helpful
was good to see these bears being saved and protected
will return again

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank CommandoBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 October 2019

I had never heard of the Sun Bears before visiting this sanctuary. Interesting animals and I am glad someone decided to protect these animals from poaches and extinction.

Date of experience: September 2019
3  Thank Francoise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 October 2019 via mobile

This is next door to the Orang Utan centre, and every bit as good. I had ‘Winnie the Pooh’ read to me as a child, so the chance to see real live Honey Bears (the local name) was too good to miss.

As with so much here, the Sun Bear story is a sad one, and we are to blame - through habitat destruction, poaching for body parts, and the illegal pet trade. Therefore this centre is enclosed and a bear will only be released back into the Wild if the experts believe that he/she can make it. Thus, some residents are ‘lifers’ - but at least they have a life. Record age in captivity (safe from human abuse) is 38 years.

Very knowledgeable staff who speak excellent English. Their friendliness persuaded me to adopt a sun bear - money very well spent in my view.

Absolute ‘must visit’ if you’re anywhere in Sabah.

Date of experience: October 2019
3  Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2019 via mobile

We took a short visit here as part of our exploration of this part of Borneo.
This charity run place has only recently opened its doors to tourists and primarily exist to rescue and rehabilitate. There is a walkway above enclosures where you can see rescued bears re-adjusting to life after injury or maltreatment. This is not a zoo so dont expect animals on tap but we did see the bears foraging.
A short visit is all you need.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Janboy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews