We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise”
Review of NAK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NAK Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Don't judge the place by the architecture, it's a great hotel with lovely rooms, a fantastic roof terrace and friendly staff. Really transforms a stay in a rather grotty city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rszpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for NAK Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

We returned to the Nak hotel 3 times during our 2 weeks in Borneo. Each time we were greeted by friendly and helpful staff (even when checking in at 2am one morning!). We enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and welcome drinks in the Balin roof bar and enjoyed a couple of meals there in the evenings. The rooms were basic but clean and tidy with a huge bed. You can hear the huslte and bustle from the street below but this didn't bother us really. The hotel also has free wifi which helped us to plan more of our trip. Taxi's are readily available from outside the hotel, as are ATM's and shops. Overall, we enjoyed our nights at the Nak hotel as it was like returning home for a hot shower and rest after our various trips in Borneo.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaggy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We had one night here after our trip up the Kinabatangan River - it's a slightly run down hotel but they are in the middle of doing it up (we heard lots of hammering but didn't see the outcome). The best thing about it is the nice little roof top garden on two levels. Nice place to hang out, go online, have a drink - and they serve breakfast up there too. Breakfast was fine. Supplemented it with roti canai in a nearby shop an hour or so later.
The rooms were clean, as were the bedding and towels, and spacious enough too. Staff were pleasant and helpful.
Best of the two hotels we stayed at in Sandakan.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanishkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

we stayed 2 nights, taxi from a'port was 25 ringit. Staff are very helpful, friendly and polite. Our room was 150 ringit a night, large bed, tv, kettle, shower and bath, but only a small above head hot water cylinder so a bath wouldnt work, but it looks good anyway. Breakfast included, roof top bar is awsome, slightly high prices for alcohol, 10r for a beer, approx 15 - 20 for a cocktail. Highly recommend if the budget allows. No internet in rooms, only wifi in lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jando999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2011

I really wouldn't recommend stayng in Sandakan unless you have to. There really is just nothing there and we could not wait to get out. If you really do have to stay there then the Nak Hotel is a great choice.

The hotel is in an exellent location with the Waterfront being close by for cheap and delicious food. Our room was huge, clean and decorated in a modern theme which we loved. It had a great bathroom with a powerful shower and hot water. It was slightly noisy as we were facing the front and on the fifth floor. Staff were friendly and the roof bar is perfect for a relaxing drink away from the bustle of Sandakan.

My only comment is that the breakfast was a bit basic but to be honest it did the job.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerS1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

This is a very basic hotel in the centre of Sandakan and we stayed here for one night prior to our trip to Turtle Island. The rooms are comfortable enough and had showers with hot water, rooms with air conditioning and clean sheets and towels. Fine if you don't mind simple, clean and basic. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was extremely basic and poor and this has room for improvement. The roof top bar is good for spending the evening looking out over the town and enjoying the holiday feel. It would be a great place to meet if travelling with friends. Our major problem was lack of sleep due to the motor bikes that race around the town and road just outside the hotel all night long. The police are called by the hotel and the noise stops temporarily but starts up again within 30 mins. If this terrible situation with noisy bikes is dealt with then the hotel would be fine for a very short stay. Best suited to young travellers I think.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WandaSlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

We stayed here for a few nights, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the beds comfy. The bathrooms are decorated with Chinese style bowls for vanity basins on old wooden tables. Really hot water from the biggest shower head I've ever seen.
We had two room changes while there because of the noise problems, the sounds from outside in the streets echos terribly inside the rooms. People outside in the street start calling out very early in the morning. The first two rooms we had were on the 3rd floor, one facing the street and we heard amplified motorbikes till all hours. The next night we were moved across the hall and had all of the air conditioner engines going at once outside the window. Not good for sanity so we asked to change again and were told there was no other rooms, then shortly after they let us have a larger room on the 4th floor at no extra cost for the first night. It was meant for 4 people and cost us a bit more to stay an extra night, but we felt it was worth it for a good sleep and they gave us a discount. They were very helpful and patient with the whole process.
I would recommend this hotel though unless you can handle noise or happy to sleep with earplugs and will not be spending much time in the room, make sure you stay above the 3rd floor or ask for a room facing inland, towards the hills, not towards the sea or the back of the hotel where the air conditioner engines are.
Breakfast is included in the price and alternated between pancakes and vegetable omelettes with toast and cereals.
There is a great bar and lounge up on the roof with cushions in areas to lay back and relax, and you can climb to the open air roof top for more tables and cushions with views of the city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photonomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
537 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAK Hotel

Address: Hotel Nak Jalan Pelabuhan, Sandakan 90708, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £18 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NAK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest, purpose-built hotel in Sandakan. Family run since 1966. Retains the old and embraces the new - a hotel brimming with cultural detail and interest. Situated in the centre of town. Nestled among all the commercial buildings, banks, airline offices, and next to central market and bus station. Less than 2km from the jetty, and boat rides to islands such as Lankayan, Turtle island and Berhala island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your NAK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NAK Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing