We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views from the roof top bar”
Review of NAK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
NAK Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one night after 2 days of airport hotels. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The stylish roof top bar was a welcome relief in our weary states and we ordered some very tasty cocktails straight away. It was amazing to watch the sun set and tuck into some delicious food- the breakfast pancakes were also great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzijane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for NAK Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

82 - 88 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I had a smoked salmon salad with lime juice and it was soooo good, the best dish iv had since in Sandakan, sadly they're coffee machine was broken. The interior decor is pretty cool, even a chance of a jam session with a guitar hanging on the wall!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank denise_cahill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed at the NAK Hotel whilst passing through Sandakan. NAK is a good hotel with well-appointed rooms and a great rooftop bar. It's located very close to the waterside area in Sandakan.

The rooftop bar serves a variety of western-style food and also a reasonable selection of beer, wine and cocktails during the evening and a decent breakfast in the evening. For those with an addiction to espresso, the quality of lattes and cappucinos was quite acceptable. There are three levels - one covered area and an open area above this with another small platform. The top level especially offers great views across Sandakan and the bay.

I stayed in a room on the third floor - which was a tastefully decorated and pleasant place. I had a few complaints - no kettle and some loose fittings but these were rectified by the staff. The staff members were all very helpful and good to deal with.

I recommend the NAK Hotel. Don' expect same consistency of experience as you might from a 5 star. The management left a welcome note for some of our group describing the hotel as 'cranky'. Those who are flexible and accomodating will likely enjoy a great stay at NAK.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

The Nak is a really cool hotel and we've stayed here a few nights whilst in the Sandakan area. The rooms are really nice, clean and with ample towels, water bottles, soap etc.
The staff have all been lovely and try really hard with their English- the trainees are sometimes the best as they're really helpful with doors & luggage and full of big smiles.
The Ba Lin rooftop restaurant & bar upstairs is awesome and a welcome menu if you've been unlucky enough to have a few dodgey Malay meals on tours etc.
Great rooftop seating means you can look out to sea or over the city.

The only bad point is that there's a public bus terminal outside opposite the hotel, which means a very loud guy shouting at people and beeping the bus horn to get everyone's attention. This starts around 6am so if you're a light sleeper, pack some ear plugs.

Other than that, walk around town and people watch, have a roti at Habeebs, get a taxi driver to take you on a city tour, and enjoy the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_ob84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, lovely rooms, our daughters had upgraded us to the honeymoon suite for our anniversary which was amazing. Very friendly and helpful staff . Felt part of a family. Restaurant and bar staff were excellent and the bar areas lovely decorated with great seating areas And great food. Roof top bar great to see town and for sunbathing. Owner should be very proud of what has been done with this hotel, loved its quirkyness and friendlyness. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George7620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We travelled here with 2 children (10 & 12) and had the family room, which consisted of one large room with a queen bed and 2 single beds. The location is fantastic, you are right in the middle of all the action that Sandakan has to offer. The roof top cafe/restaurant/bar is great with spectacular views over Sandakan and the harbour, and yes the service can be a little bit slow, but is certainly isn't a deal breaker. We were also lucky to be there for Ramadan, with hundreds of hawker stalls setting up across the road it was great to duck out for some seriously good food, while then heading back upstairs for dinner. Upstairs and the lobby has free WiFi, and upstairs has seriously good coffee which they will deliver to your room if you ask.
Reception staff could not have been more helpful, and did everything that we asked, including storing of luggage for a couple of days while we went off elsewhere.
If heading to Sandakan, I highly recommend the Nak Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJungleCat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We stayed here twice on our trip to Borneo as a stop over between other bookings. We liked the quirky decor in the rooms and the rooftop garden is very cool and great to have a drink at sundown. The service in the bar area was really bad, but I feel it's not the fault of the waiters, more the disorganisation in the kitchen. On the first night we never got our pizza as the oven was not working so we had to either wait ages or just go to bed without. We chose to go to bed as we were too tired to wait up. The next morning we had a collection from the hotel at 9.30. We were all packed and ready to go so went up to breakfast at 9. By 9.30 there was no sign of our food so we had to go without again. This was extremely annoying as we had a big day ahead of us and we were not even able to take our malaria tablets. When we made a complaint about this we were offered 10% off our bill.... Which is frankly a joke and amounted to approximately 3 euros (for two cooked breakfasts??). We asked for 25% as a matter of principal but they wouldn't budge. I feel that the apologies were hollow and there was no goodwill at all from the staff or management. I definitely wouldn't recommend staying here. Really disappointing.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
537 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAK Hotel

Address: Hotel Nak Jalan Pelabuhan, Sandakan 90708, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £18 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NAK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest, purpose-built hotel in Sandakan. Family run since 1966. Retains the old and embraces the new - a hotel brimming with cultural detail and interest. Situated in the centre of town. Nestled among all the commercial buildings, banks, airline offices, and next to central market and bus station. Less than 2km from the jetty, and boat rides to islands such as Lankayan, Turtle island and Berhala island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your NAK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NAK Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing