We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of NAK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NAK Hotel
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 15 December 2013

clean room, the roof top restaurant is wonderful. The scenery is very beautiful, chat with friends at the rooftop restaurant is a pleasant thing.
we like the welcome drink.
We have order pizza, and the pizza is tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheneng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2013

Let's start with the reason why I gave this hotel 5 stars: it is an excellent accomodation for the money you pay in a non-touristic town. So besides it's good value for money it's also of a quality you just wouldn't expect in Sandakan. A great way to treat yourself after fighting the Borneo jugnle for a week.

The rooms are very clean, luxurious (in the way that it has really comfy beds and a nice shower) and the rooftop restaurant has great food, snacks and cocktails. The staff is very nice and helpful.

Personally I found it was the ideal place to reset myself after having an exciting time in the outback of Borneo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The pride of Sandakan town, once known as Elopura. The NAK hotel (est. 1966) has been one of the first few hotels around ever since the British came to make their presence known in the once ever busy Sandakan township. With the harbour located just a stone's throw away from its strategic location, it is without a doubt that this ancient hotel reserves the right to command a magnificent view from its general outlook.

No other hotels as splendid as the NAK can be so strategically located with the bus station located right opposite it and the beginning of the heritage trail just a few distance away. All visitors get a refreshing welcome drink which was a brilliant exchange for the scorching bright late morning and afternoon sun. The interior decor of the lobby is dubbed with a Chinese taste with some old fashioned cash register, furnitures, racks, tables, cabinets and paintings all resembling and evoking memories of the recent past. The elevator is a small dingy one which could easily accommodate a family of four or five, but that's about it. They only have two of those, so if you're feeling up to the challenge you can take the stairs. There's after all only seven floors with the roof top level being discounted for and is not accessible by the elevators. Staffs here are friendly and kind enough to point out to you the local attractions and how to get there.

Rooms are pleasant - we got the family room with two single beds and one queen sized bed attached to a toilet of a marvel. The room is extremely spacious with a great view facing part of the naval base and the sea as well as the bus station. The toilet gives off a pretty old rustic look and smells musty too but I take this all in good faith as the hotel is after all nearly five decades old with the further point of it in attempts to relive the past. My parents loved the place and couldn't stop commending on the smart decor of the room and the lobby.

Their rooftop dining is another plus point to marvel on but I'd leave this on another section review at Ba Lin Rooftop Restaurant - so that readers won't get confused with it.

Room Tip: Get the higher floor level rooms - level 5-7 to acquire a commanding view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syme0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We really liked this hotel, the style was unique and really cool, especially the sink in our bathroom which was an ornate Chinese bowl. I want one in my house!!!

The rooftop bar is really cool and very chilled out. Located near the bus station so easy access to the Orangutan sanctuary.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank 1Vikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

First we arrived enough late, just landed in Borneo. Spent a short night there, following day went to the jungle at Kinabatangan.

To get out welcome drink (included in the price) went the the rooftop, the restaurant and the bar is really great! View to the sea, some music, intimate place to rest. The meals were really tasty :)

The room was very simple, the bathroom was a little bit dirty (now, I know, why they user dark tiles, not to see the dirty). There were many AC boxes on the outside wall, so woke up in the morning very early...

After the jungle tour we returned, our friends arrived on the same day. We spent a great afternoon and evening on the roof again. The meals were great again and tasted many kind of drinks.

Our second room was almost the same quality, now we got problems again with the AC. They are using card for the room, and the AC is working with only the card. So, if you are in the room, can cool, if you don't, no. If the AC is working good, you need only couple of time to cool the room, it is ok. But, we were unlucky now with the weakly working AC... had terrible night :(

The breakfast was average with awful caffe (awful for a European, who likes real coffee). We wanted to order a real one, but the machine did not worked :(

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koka888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My sister and I stayed here for one night after 2 days of airport hotels. The room was spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable. The reception staff were friendly and welcoming. The stylish roof top bar was a welcome relief in our weary states and we ordered some very tasty cocktails straight away. It was amazing to watch the sun set and tuck into some delicious food- the breakfast pancakes were also great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzijane3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

I had a smoked salmon salad with lime juice and it was soooo good, the best dish iv had since in Sandakan, sadly they're coffee machine was broken. The interior decor is pretty cool, even a chance of a jam session with a guitar hanging on the wall!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank denise_cahill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
655 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
543 reviews
0.2 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 33 in Sandakan
139 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAK Hotel

Address: Hotel Nak Jalan Pelabuhan, Sandakan 90708, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £18 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NAK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest, purpose-built hotel in Sandakan. Family run since 1966. Retains the old and embraces the new - a hotel brimming with cultural detail and interest. Situated in the centre of town. Nestled among all the commercial buildings, banks, airline offices, and next to central market and bus station. Less than 2km from the jetty, and boat rides to islands such as Lankayan, Turtle island and Berhala island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your NAK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NAK Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing