We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel, value for money”
Review of NAK Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
NAK Hotel
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Friendly staff who were accommodating to us when our plans changed at the last minute. Though rooms are bare and bathroom is basic, the bar upstairs is great - if you can get the attention of the serving staff. A pity wifi isn't available in rooms. Perfect choice for a quick stopover in Sandakan.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineCreedon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for NAK Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 74 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for one night. We were so tired and wanted to have a nap when we arrived during the day but were put in a room with air conditioning units all along the outside wall which were so noisy so we asked to move and were put in a room which was pretty nice but needed a lick of paint. The bathrooms were both adequate although the second one definitely needed to be re-done. The roof terrace is worth visiting and there are cool views of the city from the top. The food is very western and was delicious, especially the pizzas.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with a tour group in Room 402 last week at this hotel which even the owner in her welcoming letter admits is tired...no exaggeration! Though hot water may not seem essential in a tropical climate, something a few degrees above stone cold would have been welcome. Initially, we turned on the water heater and waited the noted 10+ minutes before we tried the hot water - stone cold! No difference after several hours, so went to bed with a cold shower and left the heater on for the duration of our stay, only to find that after 48 hours it was still stone cold! And yes, the TVs are ancient, and the A.C. struggled. Rain caused washout of the rooftop restaurant located above 7th floor which leaks like a sieve. We ate a basic breakfast there only. Restaurants on the waterfront offer better value and more ambience. Nice reception staff. No computer for public use, though I believe they had WiFi. This is a very basic accommodation. Sadly, I couldn't find any "old world charm" about the place. Better views and given the small size of the old township, better located hotels for similar prices. The new commercial areas where new shops & residences are being located and the old town shops are re-locating means that this old part of town is pretty sad and tired, though banks and ATMs are close by - but all close down at 5p.m. while in the new areas they remain open, as do shops, until around 8p.m. If you're travelling by bus, this might suit because it's across the street, but if by air/private vehicle, find another. Note: even the Four Seasons still does not have money change facilities within the hotel at this point in time ( Feb 2014); they are awaiting approval.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jusjuly07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We were traveling as a small group of friends and found Hotel Nak a perfect match to our needs.Location in the heart of Sandakan, close to shops, restaurants and next to the local bus station was superb. Family deluxe room was really spacious and clean. Fridge and coffee making facilities in the room were a nice surprice. Staff was extreamly helpful with all our needs and requests. They helped with all the arrangements without any extra charges. Pick-ups from the hotel were in time both to Sepilok Orangutan Rehab Centre and Kinabatangan river cruise.
Beautiful and popular rooftop bar was a true oasis after the busy day. It can get crowded time to time, especially close to sunset, but the staff at the bar keeps things rolling. I can highly recommend Nak Hotel to everybody planning a trip to Sandakan.

Room Tip: Family deluxe room is perfect for small group, and a true bargain. Breakfast is included and served...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night between our arrival in Sandakan and our transfer to Kinabatangan the next morning. The hotel's decor was charming. We stayed at the Double Harmony Room which was clean, comfortable and fairly spacious. There were some leaks in the bathroom (shower and tub) and the tap over the sink made a loud whizzing noise when you turn it off but since it was only for one night, it didn't bother us too much. We had dinner at BaLin Rooftop Restaurant which had a lovely ambience. Food wise was a bit of a hit and miss. The soup and pizza was excellent but everything else (pasta, chicken & chips, grilled lamb) was not great. Despite the minuses, we would stay here again should we ever find ourselves back in Sandakan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7spa_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I'm really grateful that NAK hotel is listed in the Borneo- Lonely Planet book. Our bus got into Sandakan fairly late on an extremely rainy night. We had no options to look around so we picked a hotel from the book. I was immediately impressed by the cleanliness of the room and the decor. Right up my alley for style. My favorite thing about this hotel is the rooftop restaurant. After arriving I was so grateful that we didn't have to go on a mission to find good food and drinks. We just walked right upstairs. Great pizza, drinks, and atmosphere. This hotel could definitely use some renovations…and I really wanted wifi in my room (rather than just the lobby and rooftop). However, for the price, its a cute little spot if you passing through Sandakan.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kmhitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We were placed in this hotel by General tours for our last night in Borneo I checked trip advisor reviews it looked reasonable. The hotel was like a beat up South Carolina motel beside a secondary road .The hotel is in need of a lot of repair.the sink and bath both leaked and taking a shower required a good sense of balance as it rocked when you moved .the towels were thread bare. The room was painted in a flat deep purple ,very depressing.sleeping was disturbed by a lot of street noise.This hotel is not recommended .

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
537 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
646 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NAK Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NAK Hotel

Address: Hotel Nak Jalan Pelabuhan, Sandakan 90708, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £18 - £27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NAK Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest, purpose-built hotel in Sandakan. Family run since 1966. Retains the old and embraces the new - a hotel brimming with cultural detail and interest. Situated in the centre of town. Nestled among all the commercial buildings, banks, airline offices, and next to central market and bus station. Less than 2km from the jetty, and boat rides to islands such as Lankayan, Turtle island and Berhala island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your NAK Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NAK Hotel Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing