We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Hotel London

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandakan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel London
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 20 December 2011

best value for money. the room is neat but frankly, my skin is telling me that the bed is not clean. the towels are smelly too. and no bell boy service. city star hotel is better in my opinion.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aisyadaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights . Rooms were huge with tv, ac ensuite. Large bathroom. Towels provided and soap. Great free breakfast on the roof. Good location just 2 mins to town. Great food on the water front and for a great sunset view get to the nac hotel rooftop bar.
Sandakan good for turtle island visits. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwilea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and we where surprised the size of the rooms and the cleanliness - both exceeded our expectations.
We especially enjoyed breakfast on the roof terrace each morning with the pool of terrapins.
On a personal note Sandakan is not one of the most appealling cities to stay in but it is home to some of the most friendly people we have ever met and is an excellent gateway to other attractions.

Room Tip: get a room on the lower floors as wifi can be dodgy on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daviddwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Hotel London was surprisingly good value for the 65 RM we paid for a twin room. It's in walking distance of everything in Sandakan, even the Agnes Keith house, if you're good at hill walking.
Breakfast is included on the roof garden, but it's nothing special, hardly worth the trek up the stairs (no elevator)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zooey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. We had a room on the 2nd floor facing the back. There was no view as it was overlooking a storage area. The room was clean and attached toilet was clean. The room had tv. I would suggest to get a room on the 3rd floor facing the hill at the back, as it was beautiful with a small garden. There is no elevator, however. We didn't hear any prayers at all from the mosque.

The hotel also has a safe gated parking area for a few cars. The roof top garden is where breakfast is served. Breakfast is self-served, with toast and coffee/tea. There is free wifi throughout the hotel. It is a short walk from the busy downtown streets.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kutepanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights after 5 nights on the Kinabatangan river.It is in town with wi-fi and free breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank updog247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

we stayed at the sandakan hotel for 1 night then went to turtle island, and hadnt booked anywhere for the next night. a couple we had met suggested the london hotel as it was about 15usd a night, compared to the 65 usd at the previous hotel.
the room was fine, its nothing flash for what you pay, we have never stayed in such a cheap place so we were a bit unsure, however we thought it was fine.
the BIG DOWN SIDE is that its right next to the mosque. who have pray ceremonies over loud speakers until around 10 or 11 at night and then again from like 4am onwards. this really didnt help us get any sleep.
so for 1 night id say its fine, but for more than that, maybe try else where.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekahtarte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
655 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hsiang Garden Hotel
Hsiang Garden Hotel
#12 of 33 in Sandakan
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
544 reviews
19.2 mi away
Labuk Hotel
Labuk Hotel
#4 of 22 in Sandakan
7 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sanbay Hotel
Sanbay Hotel
#11 of 33 in Sandakan
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel London

Address: Lot D1-D2, Block 10, Jalan Empat, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £14 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel London was established in 1975. By 2006, the hotel management renovated the hotel completely. All the new rooms are furnished with new furniture. The hotel is located in the heart of Sandakan Town. The hotel facilities include Internet Access Corner, Rooftop Garden, Internet Access from room (upon enquiry) , Air Conditioned Room, Satellite TV, TV in every room, and hot water bath. One of the major attractions in this hotel is the Roof Top Garden. It is a perfect place for guests to rest and have some reading while hearing the sounds of the waterfall from the pond. This hotel is an ideal choice for travellers that come in Budget. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
London Hotel Sandakan
Hotel London Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing