We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$95
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
US$39
US$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$44
US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$50
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$38
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
93
34
10
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
34
10
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracesea viewbeautiful artworksnake fruitgreat mixcomfortable place to staywatching moviescooking facilitiesenjoyed our stayfree breakfasthome away from homedouble roomfresh fruitstayed two nightsevery morningcoffee teastrategic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Considering some places where you have to pay more for a sea view, we got a double room with dual aspect, right on the seafront for a really cheap cost. Ideal location, close to the action and friendly staff who point you in the right direction. It feels really safe as you need to be buzzed in, and if you are out late they will give you a key to get back in.

It was clean and the breakfast was fine. A good choice for Sandakan.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Trurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A very shabby hostel, but clean enough for a night or two. A bit noisy outside but the roof terrace is lovely. It was almost empty, but I think Sandakan isn't really on the travel circuit yet. Breakfast was ok, showers were grim, staff were lovely and helpful though.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The location is fine, and the view from the roof top terrace is also nice. The place itself is run down, the rooms and toilets a bit dirty. There were no blankets or sheets to sleep under and you don't get a towel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kees_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed here in April, friendly staff, nice common area, breakfast included.

we recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ranchale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Arrived here without a booking and planned to stay one night. We enjoyed our stay so much we ended up staying 3 nights. Clean, good bathroom to guest room ratio, excellent free breakfast, helpful, knowledgeable staff. About as good as it gets for the money, imho. Our twin fan/aircond room (share bathroom) was on the side near Swiss Hotel and we found it difficult to sleep one night, with loud music playing up until midnight, someplace closeby. Take quality earplugs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lyndy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews