We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your average hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
214 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Your average hostel”
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This hostel got mixed reviews before, but there nothing bad or great about it. The staff is friendly and helpful. Our room had a (cold) shower and on floor there was one hot shower and two toilets. Wifi is lounge area is free. PC access you have to pay for. they also provide laundry service, which is on the costly side.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pimmetje_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    28
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
4
41
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I travel around borneo a lot due to work. I've stayedin many budget hotels around sandakan when i do my monthly visits. This place is mich batter than a hotel for me because i can meet and greet with other people here and feel less lonely. Having to share the bathroom and toilet is not a problem for me. The pnly thing concerns me tho is the fact that they dont provide blankets. It could get quite cold here in the night. And also you willneed to bring a botle of water with you in the night because they will close the living room come 12pmby then you wont have any access to drinking water in the night.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pingu_is_fluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was a very disappointing hostel. My friend and I (both in our 30s) were traveling around Borneo in August. We arrived in Sandakan late and stayed here based on good reviews and they had availability. We stayed in a twin room with a shared bathroom and were really disappointed. The twin room was 70RM in total which included a very basic breakfast (standard for Borneo). The location was great, but Sandakan itself is very small so most places have a good location! The hostel staff, especially the man on the night shift, were rude and not helpful at all. The hostel was so dirty and disgusting. The shared bathrooms were horrible and looked like no one cleans them. I'm sure that the sheets are not changed on the beds. We stayed for 2 nights and had to move after the first night to a different room. Both times when we looked at the sheets we found dirt / sand / hair / stains etc on the sheets. We have both stayed in lots of backpackers and this was very disappointing. When we returned to Sandakan we stayed at the Hotel City View which was also in a great location and only charged us 60RM for a twin room with our own private bathroom. You can get much better value than the Sandakan Backpackers!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penm80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lasko, Slovenia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I would rate this place somehow between 3 and 4 but anyway I rate it 4 as I stayed some better location on my travel that are competitive to this one. Place is conveniently located in the heart of Sandakan near the waterfront. I was staying a week before the Hari Raya celebration and I guess youth in Sandakan are a bit to much obsessed with firecrackers which I heard also early in he morning from time to time. Stay is OK, room was big enough and it was facing the street at the back, A/C was working and problem that was located just above your bed. But this is a problem that you usually see also elsewhere. For me it is a bit hard to sleep with aircon if it is blowing just on you so for me it is useless like that. Breakfast is basic: toast, butter, jam and cofee or tea. You need to prepare yourself and also at the end you need to clean the dishes. Somebody said that their services are a bit overpriced and it is true. Washing of 1kg comes 15RM what is way to much. Washing on Perhentian islands was half of that price. Anyway i was satisfied with the hospitality and I do not complaint much about other things. For tours it is better to do on your own. To Sepilok you can go with the public bus, to Labuk bay you can go with a minibus which is organized by Labuk Bay resort themselves and it comes in fornt of the Sandakan hotel every morning and this is also the cheapest option you can get there. You can also go around and visit the Sandakan Buddhist Temple which is quite nice to see and you will have a nice view over Sandakan and seaside. I recommend that you go there by a local public bus.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Considering some places where you have to pay more for a sea view, we got a double room with dual aspect, right on the seafront for a really cheap cost. Ideal location, close to the action and friendly staff who point you in the right direction. It feels really safe as you need to be buzzed in, and if you are out late they will give you a key to get back in.

It was clean and the breakfast was fine. A good choice for Sandakan.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trurzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A very shabby hostel, but clean enough for a night or two. A bit noisy outside but the roof terrace is lovely. It was almost empty, but I think Sandakan isn't really on the travel circuit yet. Breakfast was ok, showers were grim, staff were lovely and helpful though.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The location is fine, and the view from the roof top terrace is also nice. The place itself is run down, the rooms and toilets a bit dirty. There were no blankets or sheets to sleep under and you don't get a towel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kees_iggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandakan
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Nature Resort
Sepilok Nature Resort
#1 of 2 in Sepilok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
11.8 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandakan Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandakan Backpackers Hostel

Property: Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Address: Lot 108, 1st Floor, Block Sh-11, Sandakan Harbour Square, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New management of Sandakan Backpackers started to operate on June 2016 with the sea view on the new roof top surrounding. Come and share your adventure and travelling experience with us! Unique Borneo atmosphere and centrally located in the heart of Sandakan town, right at the WATERFRONT at Harbour Square complimented with trendy bars and bistro nearby. You will be strategically and conveniently located in close proximity to the best amenities and services the city can offer. Being small, we thrive to provide you with the best budget, clean accommodation option within the city so that you will be comfortably taken care of at Sandakan Backpackers Hostel, which doubles up as your launch pad to the treasures and beauty of Sabah, Borneo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Sandakan Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing