We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
May Fair Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel City Star(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Samila(Sandakan)
View Hotel
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Lagenda(Sandakan)
View Hotel
Hotel Sandakan(Sandakan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel London(Sandakan)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
93
34
10
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
34
10
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracesea viewbeautiful artworksnake fruitgreat mixcomfortable place to staywatching moviescooking facilitiesenjoyed our stayfree breakfasthome away from homedouble roomfresh fruitstayed two nightsevery morningcoffee teastrategic location
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 146 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had two nights here enroute to Sukau. The staff were friendly and helpful, they weren't trying to get us onto their tours and were full of information about local transport and how to get to places in the surrounding areas.
The communal area is nice, with tv and comfy seats. The rooms were spacious and airy with great waterfront views.
We certainly didn't have an issue with the stairs! And if toast and jam isn't adequate for your free breakfast (when you are only paying a max of Rm 55 a night!) then try the masala dosas down the road.
We had a great stay and we would go back. In fact my friend did.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clarkes_in_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights as a base for visiting Sepilok. The hostel was easy to find, just a street or so away from the harbour.

The staff we dealt with were very young but friendly and effecient. We were shown to our double room, which we were pleased find had aircon. The room was very basic but clean and had a mirror, power plugs and hooks to hang our towels.

The shared bathrooms weren't great (one had no light and cold water) but the water pressure was good. They could do with a makeover - fix grouting etc.

The common area was quite small and it didn't have an atmosphere that encourages backpackers to sit around and chat.

The breakfast was standard fair for South East Asia - cheap white bread and chemical tasting jams.

One thing that gave the hostel character was the graffiti on the walls. There were lots of comments and drawings from past guests, some of them very artistic.

Overall the hostel was fine for 2 nights but not particularly interesting or special.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MagnusJunior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Nice hostel, the stairs can be a nightmare if your traveling with a heavy backpack. Our room was ok, had a weird smell and the mattresses were pretty thin, not very informative staff, they forgot to mention the shower on our floor has no hot water, you share the hostel with the family, there's something like 6 children!! Breakfast is bread and jam with tea or coffee. Laundry is expensive 12rm a kg. Location is good your just around the corner from all the restaraunts and the supermarket.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank denise_cahill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Very nice hostel right by the harbour, some rooms even have water view. Rooftop area with a small pool table and dart. The reception has a tv with some dvd's if you need a break.
Staff is very friendly.
Only minus is that the laundry service was quite expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fuzzy1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Generally this hostel have a very strategic location. Market, shop, bus station, restaurant just nearby. The staff also was very helful. This hostel also recommend tour with a cheap price. Besides that, they also provide kitchen for us to cook, NICE ROOF TOP, free Wi-Fi and also prepared a simple breakfast. Overall, this hostel is awesome! we have a good time to stay at this place! :)

Room Tip: choose the room with sea view. :)
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 186Johnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews