We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandakan Backpackers Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Borneo Sandakan Backpackers(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$21
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Borneo Seaview Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbourside Backpackers(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$19
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$18
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
94
36
10
3
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
94
36
10
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracesea viewbeautiful artworksnake fruitgreat mixcomfortable place to staywatching moviescooking facilitiesenjoyed our stayfree breakfasthome away from homedouble roomfresh fruitstayed two nightsevery morningcoffee teastrategic location
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2009

Very nice staff and hostel, it was in a good location with a great communal area. Although the staff were helpful, they were only to recommend places of interest that they advertised. Not so helpful for the independant traveller. The hostel rooms however are really good, we had a room overlooking the sea, apart from the rubbish in it the view was lovely!! The hostel provides free breakfast of toast and tea and coffee and you get free towels in your room.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joandrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2009

I stayed in Sandakan backpackers in Nov 08 for 3 nights. We booked a taxi from the airport through them so the driver was waiting there already which was nice and easy enough. Room with a sea view and AC was OK private shower shared toilet. Bathroom and toilet were a quite old in a need of cleaning and not too nice. Room was on first floor facing the local promenade so can get quite loud. Staff OK but I mean it - just OK do not go out of their way for much. 2 ladies watchin telly in the lounge sometimes in their pyjamas.
Trip to Orangutans - took taxi to go there (4 of us) so we're not late as were not sure on the bus times and bus on the way back, works out almost the same price if you negotiate with the taxi driver. Orangutan sanctuary was absolutely amazing, many monkeys and very well done.
Proboscis Monkey sanctuary does not have transport so a bit too hard to get to we booked a trip which included transport. There is another review here suggesting you can get there by walking/hitch hiking but there were no cars AT ALL passing by while we were getting there and super hot blazing sunshine and it's very far from the bus. However once you get there its truly amazing too and worth the money. I would have loved to stay there overnight as planned but couldn't afford it.
Sandakan itself is not the most beautiful place in Malaysia but the monkeys and other wildlife were well worth our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 0nHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2009

Tourist info center reccommend this place. Indeed it is a lovely place at the harbour square waterfront, near to the bus station, taxi stand, suepermarket and Open market where you can find local handicraft n souvenirs.
The seabreeze n view from our room was nice, we love our comfy pillows n our mattress, doesnt seems like your staying in a backpacker. Toilets are clean and the staff was kind n always helpful.
They advice me how to visit places of interest myself by just taking bus to go there and not taking tours which really save me a lot of money as a budget tourist.
The only thing is that the construction near the area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AmaNda_BaRceL0na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2008

My friend and I booked in advance one overnight stay in Sandakan but we ended up coming back and forth to this lovely and warmful place again and again as we returned from our tour trips. The hostel is situated just by the seaside and we had an excellent seaview from our double bed room.

I would definitely recommend this place to all travellers. It's not luxury but it was clean with aircondition and a had a very cousy atmosphere. At night time we enjoyd satellitte movies with the other guest. It was the best.

The staff were always helpful with information on day trips and we booked a cheap and absolute fantastic Kinabantangan tour package from them. I would recommend to book tours from here. It's cheap and well-organized.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mr9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2008

The Sandakan Backpackers is perfectly situated at the beach front of Sandakan. However the beds are way to hard - feels like sleeping on the floor, good is that they have aircondition in the rooms. The hostel charges high amounts for the laundry and internet. For what you pay there for 15 mins you get elsewhere an hour for. The WC were not clean and everything looks a bit run down. This place is certainly good enough for a one night stay but not more

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank manuelrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews