We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location”
Review of Hotel Sandakan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“location”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This 3 star property's location right in the heart of Sandakan city is excellent for business & tourist travellers - being close to many eateries also. Though old, the hotel is very well managed with decent & clean rooms & also reasonably priced for this grade. Would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: All rooms are o.k.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    42
    52
    11
    3
See reviews for
20
52
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We didn't stay here but had lunch booked as part of Borneo Eco Tours. We arrived at 11.30 and all the food was already out on the buffet for lunch. It was nicely presented and the curry that i tried was very tasty, so were the prawns, but unfortunately was not warm. I asked if they had a microwave and they agreed to warm my food up. The waiter came out with a very hot plate but my food was as luke- warm as it had been the first time! A pity. Staff very pleasant and public toilets clean. Located in a good part of town.
PS ignore the star rating on rooms, fitness centre and swimming pool. They do not apply as I didn't try them out but I couldn't change the settings:-(

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The location is very good and you can be easy to visit other attractions nearby. The room is big and can be joinable when you stay with your families. The breakfast is OK even not too much can be chose.

Room Tip: rooms away from lift are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhy1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kajang
Level Contributor
126 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed in Hotel Sandakan on 25th September with my 3 colleagues as we were doing roadshows in Sabah. We reached there quite late around 8 pm. The check process was smooth. Since it was already dark when we reach there, so we didn't have much time to go around the hotel except to the mamak restaurant across the hotel. I also ardered the room service. The service was quick and the food was okay. as for the room, it was a bit small and tight to move about. I had problems in seraching for the sockets until I moved the table where the additional sockets were placed behind the table. The air-cond was not cool enough as i suspected maybe due to lack of maintenance. The buffet spread was okay, not so may choices though. Overall, I would say it was an average stay for me at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 546 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

As others have said, Sandakan is not he biggest, brightest of Asian city jewels, but as a base for lots of ongoing trips it's great. The hotel is clean, efficient (if a touch aid back), food is fine and plentiful. Toilets were a touch smelly in public areas, but certainly still some of Sandakan's best.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Let's get this straight from the outset. Sandakan is not what you'd call a pretty city, by any means. If that's what you're after, go to somewhere touristy like Penang. Or Fiji. Or Phuket. We prefer to see life as it really is and that's what you get with Sandakan.

Now that's out of the way, we thoroughly enjoyed our time in Sandakan and can't wait to go back. I made our booking for four nights at the Hotel Sandakan online, many months in advance, and received excellent communication from them. We were warmly greeted on arrival and got a room upgrade as it was our first time there.

We were on the eighth floor, with a view overlooking the city and the harbour. The view from the window is not pretty but it is fascinating (as well as being a stark reminder of privilege versus poverty). The harbour is gorgeous and at night, shows real beauty. We fell in love with the view.

Our room was of good size, with a very large bed (?king size), which was very comfy. There was air-con and free wifi in the room. We had a TV and a coffee making facilities but the coffee, tea bags etc costs so go down to the supermarket at Harbour Mall and buy your own!

The bathroom was nice, with a fantastic shower. Unfortunately the plug didn't work so we couldn't have a bath, and the clothesline was also broken, which made hanging up rinsed-out clothing a bit challening but we coped. The safe was broken but we didn't need to use it anyway.

Overall the hotel is really good if a little tired looking. The carpets in the hallway could do with an upgrade, and little things like the towels have seen better days and so have the coffee cups - little things like that, but these are minor quibbles.

Staff were efficient and discreet. The free breakfast was interesting! We tried hard to get out of our Western mindset for breakfast but I don't think I'll ever be able to have curry and rice first thing in the morning! I was able to have cereal, toast and tea though so I was quite happy.

Juan on the front desk made it very easy for us to book some tours and another staff member helped us hire a car. I'll do separate reviews for those.

For the price, we highly recommend the Hotel Sandakan. It's in a great location at the top of town and is an interesting walk down to the waterfront. We felt very safe everywhere we went (although we did feel very white, as there weren't many Westerners around), everyone was friendly and curious, and the people we spoke to and interacted with all had great senses of humour and were helpful and kind.

We would definitely stay there again. Forget over-touristy places, immerse yourself in the realness of Sandakan and its people. You won't regret it.

Room Tip: Nice & quiet on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPraxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandakan, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Room - Deluxe room upgraded with wooden flooring.. room spacious enough and can add more bed even though I got king bed. Clean and quiet. :)

Bathroom: Bathtub and shower together. amenties limited and got no toothbrush even a deluxe room. but toilet is clean

location: located in centre of the town. easy access to everywhere - nearby police station, sandakan municipal hall... but far a bit to Central Market. 10 minutes walk. Huhuh... easy access to public transport.

breakfast: available with limited choice. above average.

Value: good value and cheap. :)

Room Tip: in centre of town.. easy access to public transport and other place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennyahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.5 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Borneo Cove Hotel
Borneo Cove Hotel
#14 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.3 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 32 in Sandakan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#5 of 32 in Sandakan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandakan

Property: Hotel Sandakan
Address: Hotel Sandakan Lebuh Empat, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sandakan 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at town centre, Hotel Sandakan is only 20 minutes drive from the airport and within walking distance to business district, tourist attractions, centre market & the new shopping mall.We have 105 tastefully furnished rooms with 14 suites. They are fully equipped with all amenitiesneeded for a restful stay including complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, in-room safety box, minifridge and color TV with satellite channels.Our Palm Café at ground floor which offers local Malay food & Western cuisine. The Palm GardenChinese Restaurant located at 1st floor serves Dim Sum & Chinese cuisine. We have variety of function rooms, with the most up to date facilities to cater all types of events, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing