We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, but the hotel needs refurbishment”
Review of Hotel Sandakan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sandakan
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here as a stop over on the way to Sepilok for a couple of nights. The hotel is situated a little way back from the waterfront but it's only a 5 minute walk so this shouldn't put you off. The staff at the hotel were all friendly and tried to assist with the problems we had, which were mainly with regards to our room. It was clean, spacious and on the top floor so had a decent view, but the decor was old with some stains, the bathroom shower was poor and the main issue was that our windows did not close.This meant it wasn't the quietest night's sleep but more importantly didn't make us feel particularly secure, especially in a room with no safe. When we alerted the reception staff about the problem, they very kindly offered another room for us to look around but unfortunately the windows were also unable to close in that room. A handyman was sent up, who did manage to jam one of the windows shut but not all of them. Overall the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel was decent for the price but just needs a bit of a spruce up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in Sandakan before going to Kinabatangan. This was a very comfortable hotel with good service from the staff. Rooms were clean and functional. It's in a central location with good access to the seafront and restaurant.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is withing walking distance to the waterfront and shopping alleys. A great location to stay with good value for money. We had a great 2 night stay, bed is comfortable .Coffee house serves great food especially the curry laksa. Delicious dim sum served by the waiting staff at Palm Garden except we prefer the Rice Noodle Rolls to be steaming hot. Only fall back is some minor defect needs the housekeeping attention, ants were crawling all over the mini bar counter, bidet is leaking .Wifi connection is abit slow and it is only assigned to one user which is quite a problem for us .Nevertheless friendly and courteous staff are a plus point of this hotel . !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clsp, Manager at Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your good comments. We will continue to keep up our food qualities & services. Looking forward to serve you again at Hotel Sandakan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

There isn't a lot to do in Sandakan as it really is an overnight stopover on the way to other places. The hotel has a good location and the rooms were clean. Sandakan has been rebuilt since World War 2 and it's clear the city planning has not been well thought through. The city sprawls and a good urban planner would fix up the waterfront and this town could be sensational. Instead, stay where your budget permits and move on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

In terms of location, this hotel is on the fringe of the Centre. The nicest bit of Sandakan City is the closest to the waterfront. I was put to stay at this hotel by a local tour company. All attributes of the hotel looked great on paper such as free WiFi, up to standard hotel room but the reality of the matter is that the WiFi is set up for one account. And so, as you registered yourself on one account on your smartphone, you are not able to do the same with your notebook. When the place is busy, the WiFi is slowing down to a snail pace. There isn't much choice served at the buffet restaurant but the staff is willing to please. The hotel room hardly has any power point, an indication that this hotel is not built to the present online generation. After having a shower, the water inside the cubicle would stay on, an indication that the drainage is severely blocked and not being maintained. The hotel room door latch had come undone and as you tried to close the door, it actually didn't close due to the door being severely misaligned. When I put the key card into the slot to switch on the power, it didn't work until I was shown by the housekeeping team that this is actually an older type system, where there's a microscopic hole on the card that needed to be aligned with the card slot itself. I tried to draw the curtain but it didn't budge. The hotel was overlooking a high rise building that is unused. Just like the whole of the City Centre, it's rather rundown and it gave me a feeling of being in a city infested with zombies especially in the evening with its narrow alleyways and grimy surroundings. Don't get me wrong, the staff was friendly and had been more than helpful with my request for faxing and using the business centre. That being said, in the competitive environment of hospitality management, the hotel needs to be updated to keep up with time. The staff needs to be trained with conflict management because just by standing at the lobby waiting for my turn, I witnessed disgruntled customers who were trying to get hold of the management team. And truth to be told, the staff had the look that they are accustomed to complaints and perhaps, it's time for the management to help the operational staff rectifying the core problem, focusing on little things to make this hotel good! One last thing, the toilet seat looked very scratched, a strong indicator that the room is mostly been used by mainland Chinese tourists who had a tendency to kneel ON the toilet seat with their shoes on!!! Hotel Sandakan is a large hotel and with right tweaking, this hotel could have been a top performer. That being said, Sandakan is not somewhere that you would come for a visit but as a stop over to Turtle Island and to inlands where jungle adventures are to be savoured. A disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wiredfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I am a local here... staying in Sandakan. Therefore, as mentioned in the title, I will be reviewing on its chinese restaurant - Palm Garden (as I am unable to search for the review ONLY for it's restaurant :) ).
This restaurant serves breakfast chinese dim sum ('non-halal' for Muslims) every morning. There are varieties of dim sum to choose from ranging from 'siu mai' to porridge to deep-fried yam pastry to 'chu cheong fun' to chinese-style bun ('bao'). The price is quite reasonable as it's at hotel. The food served are always hot as cold dim sum will taste awful. Normally it will be quite crowded on Sundays, public holidays and especially Chinese New Year.
Besides daily breakfast dim sum, the restaurant also offers Buffet Steamboat on weekends (Saturdays & Sundays). The price for adult is RM33 (nett), for senior citizen (above age 55) will be RM28 nett and children will have a lower rate as well (sorry I didn't notice the price for childrren). There are a lot of food to choose from..... etc. cooked food that you can eat immediately while eating for the raw food to be cooked in your steamboat pot, raw seafood, poultry, noodles, various type of vege, desserts (includes ice-cream) and fresh local fruits. It was my first visit for the buffet steamboat last weekend and I returned home with satisfying tummy :D Will definitely go again.
This restaurant is having a membership program where you may sign up as member at a fee and will enjoy 10% discount off your bill everytime you eat here. There are also other benefits.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BellaWong-SDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Family room with 2 queen size bed. The room size is quite spacious. Comfortable enough to perform prayer. No carpet in the room is a PLUS for me. But seriously, the towel provided is really in bad condition. Breakfast buffet is so humble.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aisyadaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandakan hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
0.6 mi away
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
Sabah Hotel Sandakan
#3 of 33 in Sandakan
545 reviews
11.7 mi away
Sepilok Jungle Resort
Sepilok Jungle Resort
#4 of 33 in Sandakan
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
NAK Hotel
NAK Hotel
#9 of 33 in Sandakan
328 reviews
0 mi away
The Mark's Lodge
The Mark's Lodge
#7 of 33 in Sandakan
44 reviews
0.2 mi away
S'kan Styles Hotel
S'kan Styles Hotel
#6 of 33 in Sandakan
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sandakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sandakan

Address: Hotel Sandakan Lebuh Empat, Sandakan 90000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > Sandakan Division > Sandakan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Sandakan
Price Range: £24 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sandakan 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located at town centre, Hotel Sandakan is only 20 minutes drive from the airport and within walking distance to business district, tourist attractions, centre market & the new shopping mall.We have 105 tastefully furnished rooms with 14 suites. They are fully equipped with all amenitiesneeded for a restful stay including complimentary Wi-Fi internet access, in-room safety box, minifridge and color TV with satellite channels.Our Palm Café at ground floor which offers local Malay food & Western cuisine. The Palm GardenChinese Restaurant located at 1st floor serves Dim Sum & Chinese cuisine. We have variety of function rooms, with the most up to date facilities to cater all types of events, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Sandakan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sandakan Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing