We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sandakan
Nearby Hotels
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$14
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
NAK Hotel(Sandakan)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sanbay Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$21
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Borneo Seaview Hotel(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$18
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Harbourside Backpackers(Sandakan)(Great Value!)
US$19
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$18
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$170
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveller rating
12
46
55
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
46
55
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspriced hoteltwo nightsthe ground floornice roomclean roomsfamily roomkinabatangan riversea viewtourssocketsmemorialtoiletrieschannels
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 129 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We arrived here from Kota Kinabalu having travelled cross country by bus. Travelling this way is very inexpensive but it is a very long and slow journey.
The hotel is fairly close to the centre of Sandakan and within easy walking distance to most of the local attractions. We walked to the tourist information office shortly after arriving in Sandakan which ws shut and had been shut for some considerable time…office was gutted. This was really an indication of the importance of tourism to Sandakan which does not seem to be geared up for tourism in any shape or form.
Hotel was fine for a budget hotel, good facilities good breakfast although buffet not replenished as quickly as I would have liked, staff very friendly and helpful. Cleaning not quite as good as we might have expected, one day we were left without towels and the room was not cleaned very well.
Wi Fi signal was very weak and difficult to use!
From the hotel we went on trips in the near bye area but used a travel agent in the town that was half the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_tasker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here as a stop over on the way to Sepilok for a couple of nights. The hotel is situated a little way back from the waterfront but it's only a 5 minute walk so this shouldn't put you off. The staff at the hotel were all friendly and tried to assist with the problems we had, which were mainly with regards to our room. It was clean, spacious and on the top floor so had a decent view, but the decor was old with some stains, the bathroom shower was poor and the main issue was that our windows did not close.This meant it wasn't the quietest night's sleep but more importantly didn't make us feel particularly secure, especially in a room with no safe. When we alerted the reception staff about the problem, they very kindly offered another room for us to look around but unfortunately the windows were also unable to close in that room. A handyman was sent up, who did manage to jam one of the windows shut but not all of them. Overall the staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel was decent for the price but just needs a bit of a spruce up.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in Sandakan before going to Kinabatangan. This was a very comfortable hotel with good service from the staff. Rooms were clean and functional. It's in a central location with good access to the seafront and restaurant.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The hotel is withing walking distance to the waterfront and shopping alleys. A great location to stay with good value for money. We had a great 2 night stay, bed is comfortable .Coffee house serves great food especially the curry laksa. Delicious dim sum served by the waiting staff at Palm Garden except we prefer the Rice Noodle Rolls to be steaming hot. Only fall back is some minor defect needs the housekeeping attention, ants were crawling all over the mini bar counter, bidet is leaking .Wifi connection is abit slow and it is only assigned to one user which is quite a problem for us .Nevertheless friendly and courteous staff are a plus point of this hotel . !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clsp, Manager at Hotel Sandakan, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your good comments. We will continue to keep up our food qualities & services. Looking forward to serve you again at Hotel Sandakan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

There isn't a lot to do in Sandakan as it really is an overnight stopover on the way to other places. The hotel has a good location and the rooms were clean. Sandakan has been rebuilt since World War 2 and it's clear the city planning has not been well thought through. The city sprawls and a good urban planner would fix up the waterfront and this town could be sensational. Instead, stay where your budget permits and move on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews