We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location/setting”
Review of Treetops Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Treetops Lodge
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Miri
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful location/setting”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Treetops is sort of a cross between a longhouse and a B&B, very outdoorsy. This is a nice place to just sit outside and enjoy the fresh air and foliage for a few days. Dinner and breakfast are served communally for all guests at a big table and consist of simple local dishes. Quiet, enjoyable, peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seawolf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    18
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
28
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay (6 nights) at Treetops. The beautiful setting, the surrounding gardens with fish pond, the large room, the beach at 10 minutes walk, everything was perfect. And moreover, the food was excellent. Dana and her daughter did a very good job. Besides some very relaxing days, we visited Lambir Hills and the Niah Caves. Ester, the owner of the lodge, arranged Mr. Dennis to drive us there. He is a very charming and humorous man, we had great fun with him. If you don't want to stay in Miri town, this is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: Kamer 2 is groot en heeft een mooi eigen terras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Treetop Lodge is located in a very peaceful and quiet place where you can relax.
The beds were comfortable and clean, however the room itself could be cleaner. I saw dust and old lizzard poo. The little pool could be cleaner too.
The food is outstanding; the cook and her daughter make delicious local dinners!
From Treetop Lodge you can walk to a deserted beach and you can even use the beach cabin. You can also hire a car or ask for driver Mr Dennis Hua, the most charming and friendly old man we met in Malaysia.

I had booked the room 2 months before arriving. When we arrived we were asked to stay in a different room. When we refused we got the room I booked, but 1 hour later we were asked to
stay the first night in the room showed before, which is cheaper and less beautiful. Two men, regular guests, took the room we had booked. We got the difference in money back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samhollznd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were at Treetops in early January for three days or so - we had the place to ourselves as January is rainy/quiet season and it was so beautiful! The owners/staff are all awesome, really genuinely friendly and up for a yarn, helpful, good company. We stayed in a superior room but could have stayed anywhere there and we would have been just as happy - definitely want to come stay in the Longhouses at some point! The place was great, clean, spacious, no problems at all. Food is limited but delicious, fresh, no complaints there, if you want other options the owners organize a cab to Miri town where there's heaps of options :) the grounds are stunning, such a pretty place to stay. Got to mention that since we were the only people staying there at the time, we didn't have any problems with noise from other guests, but even if there was noise we would not have been bothered. There are 2 dogs, Sam & Lulu, who we fell in love with and Mark even let us walk them down to the Treetops beach hut and sent us off with a packed lunch - sooo lovely, got very wet and muddy but had a blast, beach was beautiful and deserted. We had a great time and the owners were so kind. Will def be back to visit, even if just to visit the dogs! Thanks guys and sorry for the late review - Dana and Tai from NZ.

Room Tip: Loved it all.. stayed in twin superior room. Longhouses looked great aswell, right above the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Overall, it was a pleasant experience as the lodge was in a quiet area, surrounded by nature and the staff is very friendly, esp the owner who can tell you interesting stories and provide good information on Miri and Niah. However, the lodge is located between Miri (about 15 kms away from the city) and Niah caves (about 1 hour drive), so it's better if you have the convenience of your own transport for easy mobility; otherwise you will have to rely on public transport. The owner also has a car that you can rent. My only complain is that our room could be cleaner; there was a layer of dust on the bedside tables, and one of the lamps had cobwebs. The bathroom sink also needed a proper cleaning. Good thing that the bed was comfortable, with clean sheets, and the aircond worked well, although it took time to generate cold air. As the lodge is in the middle of nature, there are lots of flying insects in the evening and night, and mosquitoes. If you don't cope well with insect/mosquito bites, then bring an insect repellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

What a lovely setting! The lodge overlooks a small lake and is surrounded by jungle beauty. Owner/hosts Mike, a Brit and his Malaysian wife Esther are engaging and caring hosts. Esther discussed her fascinating family history with me and Mike was super helpful in helping me sort out arrival/departure details. The home-cooked dinners were really delicious. The only downside is that the lodge is a (relatively) expensive taxi ride from the airport and the bus station.

Room Tip: In that the lodge was pretty empty during the nights that I stayed there, I was generously offered a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drleanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

As expats (NZ/Aus.) based in Brunei we've stayed at Treetops several times. Due to conflicting work schedules we haven't been as often as we'd like and we'd stay more often if we could.
The owners are friendly, helpful, engaging yet never intrusive.
The rooms are spotlessly clean and tidy and comfortable.
My wife and I love the genuine Malay food cooked by a local. There's plenty of it and lots of options.
There's much to do...we've...
Gone on numerous walks into fields, palm plantations, and forests to see the mad monkeys, hilarious squirrels, and scuttling lizards charging about.
Explored the fauna and found numerous strange and exotic plants.
Sat on easy chairs in the shade during the heat of the day and read.
Enjoyed a cigar while watching the fish in the pond meander about.
Visited the gardens and tried to identify the array of unique fruit and veges.
Chatted to the locals as they go about their day.
Strolled to the beach for a romantic sunset wander.
Chatted to the owners about the plants in the nursery.
Played with the two friendly dogs.
Sat and stroked the cats as the sun goes down and the delicious smells of dinner cooking waft about.
Most of all we've kicked back, relaxed, and thoroughly loved being aware from the world for a night or two.

Treetops is very popular with Brunei expats such as ourselves and it's easy to see why. You are well looked after in every respect and advice and ideas are forthcoming from the experienced proprietors who obviously take great pride in their wonderful guesthouse.

The prices are reasonable, the 'vibe' is just perfect for anyone wanting to put the travel/life brakes on for a night or two, and the hospitality and friendliness is welcoming and genuine.
We love the place!

Jules and Kerri Millward

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
5.5 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
5.5 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
7.0 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
5.6 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
178 reviews
6.1 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 31 in Miri
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops Lodge

Property: Treetops Lodge
Address: Lot 210 | Kampong Siwa Jaya, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Treetops Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house style accommodation in a rural area close by the beach and jungle.Some rooms have en suite hot shower and toilet, whilst the more basic rooms are arranged "longhouse style" on a little dam at the bottom of the garden with shared facilities.Meant as a quiet rest stop for tourists going through Borneo, complete with Internet and lots of travel info plus help in organising your travel plans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Treetops Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing