We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Centrally located and easy to get around.”
Review of Imperial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Imperial Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Miri
KL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Centrally located and easy to get around.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Located less then 15 mins from Miri Airport, this hotel in centrally located to visit destinations in Miri. I had stayed at the Imperial Hotel for all of my visits to Miri.

Not to be mistaken for its sister, the Imperial Palace Hotel, Imperial Hotel is connected to 2 malls. This gives this hotel an advantage when it comes to F&B choices. Basically you may not need to get out of the building to get food for your stay in Miri. There's the famous Nasi Lalapan from Muara Restaurant just about 80-90 metres from the hotel.

All of my visits to Miri were business trips. Taxi is an essential service that I need, and this isn't a problem at this hotel. The location means that even if there are not any taxis standing by, it isn't long before one turns up.

The hotel food is ok. The Imperial Restaurant located at the ground floor of the hotel serves good (and not too expensive) Chinese fare. The breakfast buffet that came with the room is ok, could be better though.

The rooms are spacious. Really spacious, with all the basic amenities for a 4* hotel.

I am scheduled for another trip in a few weeks time. This time to visit the Curtin University Sarawak Campus. I will be staying here again. It took me less then 30 mins to get there from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    113
    67
    8
    3
See reviews for
74
27
10
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palawan Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I booked a deluxe room on the 7th floor. Room size is ok, clean and cozy, although the view from my room is nothing special. I've had a room service for lunch and dinner because i felt like spending some time to chat online with my wife after a long offshore job. Had an air-flown King Salmon Steak for lunch which by the sound of it should be something. I think i was good enough for me. For dinner i planned to eat at nearby Ming's Cafe but was full so i just decided to grab some beer from 7-Eleven and ordered food from the hotel. Expecting something much better, i ordered Baked Snapper Breval which i should say I found a bit bland. I guess I an just an Asian who's used eating tasty food all the time... but being all that said, i would still stay in this hotel. Why not? This is just one of the best location in Miri

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_Engr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bsb
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was staying in the Apartment Room during my stay here in the Imperial Hotel. The parking is something frustrating. Although the sign says "Parking for Hotel Guests", it suggests otherwise (due to the fact that aside from hotel guests, there are also shoppers and employees who park there). It took me about 45 minutes just to find one parking and the fact that the Security Guard is not that helpful. Another thing is the Elevators. It takes forever for it to come (especially when there is an event). However, my kids love the swimming pool and my wife loves the shopping area which is just right around the corner. Eateries is easy to access and get by so this is also a plus. Overall, although this hotel has its ups and downs, me and my family are happy with the hotel. Given the chance, we may stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coldmist11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tawau Division, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is located in the mid of the city. Nearby there are a lot of shops, malls and 24/7 outlets, so it's a nice place to stay and to walk around. If you're driving to Miri and plan to stay in this hotel, beware of the traffic!!!

Elevators services really need to improve! Especially whenever there are events going on in the upper floors, it create a mess and a long queue at the elevator area and that really need to be upgraded.

Room was clean, safe and air-condition is really a plus for the weather in Miri is quite hot, thumbs up for the management!

Front desk counters services for check-in and check-out normally a long queue, therefore, make sure you plan ahead.

Overall, I'm satisfy with this hotel, not the best but the potential is there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danielwmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A clean, pleasant hotel that could use a some improvement in it's customer service.

We drove in from Brunei and stayed overnight at Imperial Hotel. Only staying one night we didn't need very much and found the modest shopping complex the hotel was connected to sufficient. The Imperial Queen wing of the shopping complex had just opened and, as the name implies, caters to shoppers with more discerning tastes.

We stayed in a twin room. It was clean and provided a safe, fridge, kettle (with a slightly broken lid), complimentary bottled water and the usual assortment of towels and soaps. Wifi is also provided free of charge. The elevator limits access to the guest's floor by ways of key card, kudos for the added security measure.

My main, albeit small, complaint would be the service staff. While the reception desk was pleasant and helpful the floor staff could have used more training and discipline. Most of them appeared to be high-school students but that's no excuse. I sometimes found them being rowdy and noisy which does not reflect well on the hotel. Though never rude, common courtesies were missing such as allowing hotel guests to alight from elevators first. We also found the basement security guard sleeping when we arrived! I do hope Imerial Hotel invests in better training for these staff members and, if they are over-worked, hire more staff.

We were given complimentary breakfast at The Imperal Terrace Cafe which was average at best. Not that it's a bad thing, we weren't paying a kings ransom to dine like royalty, but if you are staying here for an extended period you may want to look elsewhere for food. Malaysia is never in need for more eateries.

Imperial Hotel also provides a restaurant, fitness centre and swimming pool none of which we used. Please check other reviews for information about them.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limshengming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunei
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This was the first visit to this hotel. As normally we stay at the Marriott. This hotel was very good though in terms of room size also very convenient location as right in the middle of town. We did not eat at the hotel as there are plenty of places around the hotel. All in all an ok place.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is a good low priced hotel in the central area of Miri and also part of a shopping mall.
Room was good and quiet. WiFi not particularly good, I went and bought a dongle for a local telecom company to allow better access.
Had an on suite double room. Could do with more power outlets.
Staff were polite, but not overly helpful, especially at the breakfast restaurant area. I did not eat any evening meals in the hotel, did not fancy anything. Breakfast which was included in the room rate was basic buffet style.
This hotel is used more or less exclusively for the personnel working offshore in the Oil & Gas Industry as a transit stop over before going offshore.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.8 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 31 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Property: Imperial Hotel
Address: Imperial Hotel Jalan Pos, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing