We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible”
Review of Palace Inn Miri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palace Inn Miri
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Positives:

1. Location not that far from main city shopping complex
2. Cheap
3. Free WiFi
4. Friendly staff

Negatives:

1. Smelly damp and moist bedrooms
2. No elevators
3. Dirty rooms
4. Dirty utensils in rooms
5. Dirty water (brownish)
6. Old and stained rooms
7. Tv with local channels only (blur and no signal)
8. Electrical socket uncovered, exposed and not working
9. Insecure environment
10. Dirty bedsheets
11. Pillows probably 10-20 years old
12. Wall pictures probably 20-30 years old

Many more negatives which I'm just too tired to write down. The only reason I stayed here for the night is because all other hotels in Miri at this end of year time are fully booked!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2011

The rooms were smelly and damp. Pretty much everything was broken. It was our first night in Malaysia but I feel that it was way overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nicothed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

We are here for one night at this moment before going to Mulu park. We chose this because we wanted an affordable option with attached bathroom. We even checked the room before check-in. However, we did not check thoroughly. The bathroom is really dirty, water comes out of the toilet all the time. The worst thing is noise: the neighbour's A/C sounds like a very old fridge standing beside your bed. The karaoke club opened at about 8 PM and seems to become louder every hour. It is 10:45 PM now and it is not possible for me to sleep.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mhuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

This was the worst hotel of our trip, the room smelled bad and the carpet was dirty and had burn marks and other unidentified 'spots'. The girl who worked at the reception didn't speak proper English. The sheets were old and were not able to get clean anymore.
There was a door between our room and the neighbours and it sounded like they were in the same room, happy she only kept sneezing noting else :-)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnkeV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

On arriving we were ignored by the young reception staff for about 5 minutes whilst they continued to chat amongst themselves. We paid 85 MYR for a superior double room. The room was filthy, dark and smelt of damp with worn furniture.There was damp on the walls,cracked paint and noise coming from the club downstairs.They showed us to another room which was only slightly better se we decided to go.
At first they refused to give us our deposit back so we had to speak to the guy in charge.Because we had paid the deposit in cash before seeing the room they eventually gave it us back but this took ages to sort out.
The rooms look completely different to their website which is very misleading.
Can not be certain but got the impression that this was a brothel.
We left and paid $10 more to stay in Somerset Hotel across the road which was much better.
Not much to do in Miri,we only used this as a stop over to Brunei.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enrique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

Before I embark to Miri, I called the receptionist several times to get idea of their facilities especially Wifi services in the guest room, hot shower and their check-in time. Everything they have answered as if they are the best in Miri. Upon arriving Miri Airport, bought taxi coupon of RM20 and without hassle got to the hotel. The Best part of the hotel is the staff who are friendly, very accommodating and helpful. But the biggest let down would be the hotel room:
a) not well lighted to the extent some of the bulps left unchanged. Have no idea since when.
b) the furnitures in the room are very old, to the extent having a shaky TV Table. I was wondering what if the Table fall down by itself and I was blamed for breaking it...
c) the toilet was not cleaned properly with some hair strands can be seen in the bath tub
d) the hot shower which is not even warm
e) Leakage from the toilet ceiling
f) when I requested for a room change, they accommodated but I refused to accept after seeing the condition and felt the existing room would be THE BEST among the worst
g) I dare not drink their complimentary coffee in the room because the coffee sets were dusty and I wonder whether the 3-in-1 coffee satchets already expired.
h) NOISE that came from their Night Club which is located at the ground floor, just next to the receptionist. The room should be sound-proof, if they were to operate such club. However the noise subsided at 10pm.

Having said the above, I would advise fellow travellers to look for better hotel that really worth our stay and money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Stayed 1 night as most other hotels were fully booked.

Room was cheap at 75RM, and it was spacious with free wifi (but this only worked in the lobby) The room was not the best, dirty bathroom and stained bed sheets are inexcusable even in a budget hotel. Location is decent, fairly central for eating and drinking options - though there is really not much to keep you in Miri if you are a tourist. Noisy people in the corridor did quieten down by about 11pm.
Overall it was just about adequate for 1 night, but cleanliness should really be improved.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
5.5 mi away
Venice Inn
Venice Inn
#22 of 31 in Miri
15 reviews
0 mi away
One Times One Inn
One Times One Inn
#13 of 31 in Miri
2 reviews
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
Citi Hotel
#19 of 31 in Miri
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pacific Orient Hotel
Pacific Orient Hotel
#24 of 31 in Miri
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yew Hotel
Yew Hotel
#12 of 31 in Miri
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nova Hotel Miri
Nova Hotel Miri
#20 of 31 in Miri
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Inn Miri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Inn Miri

Address: Lot 192, Palace Inn Jalan Kwangtung, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range: £12 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palace Inn Miri 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Palace Inn Miri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing