We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reception was good but the facilities in real need of an upgrade.”
Review of Park Hotel

Park Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Park Hotel
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed year as part of a cost-cutting exercise for our business trip to Miri. Honestly speaking, we get what we paid for and at RM80+ ringgit for a twin room it was really2 affordable. Being a Mirian myself, this hotel has some nostalgia attached. It's well known for its Chinese restaurant & it still is. However the accommodation itself is in serious need of upgrading. The pathway leading to the room was gloomy. It would be good to have the exterior & interior painted with bright & fresh colours. The toilet needs and upgrade & the furniture needs to be polished or replaced. The free breakfast provided was decent. I will always recommend anyone to go to their Chinese restaurant but the hotel rooms itself must be upgraded.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Mega Hotel. The view is pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arlzev R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

Got here late at night & shown to our room. Good points.....behind bus station & lots of shopping around but absolutely nothing else going for it!!
The room was disgusting, very old & pretty dirty overall. A giant green fridge in the corner was a conversation point! The bedding was clean so that was a plus. Bathroom was more than basic & very much in need of restoration. We had no hot water in the morning & they had no idea when this was going to come back on. We went down to breakfast which was included in the room rate but to our dismay it was one bowl of slops for want of a better word. Nothing else & nothing even as basic as toast or bread so we didn't stay for breakfast. That made up our mind to move on a day early as this place had nothing going for it apart from the counter staff. They were quite nice & friendly. Consequently there was a great coffee shop/cafe down the road which served good small meals as well as a great cuppa.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Glenis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2010

I found the rooms to be big but in desperate need of an uplift. Bathroom was particularly shabby. Breakfast was not very good and wifi only worked in the lobby (my room was on the top floor). The hotel is next to the local bus station which was convenient for onward travel to Brunei.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mk6on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2010

The room was quite clean but in need of refurbishment. The hotel is conveniently located close to the centre, the market and the bus station. Breakfast was very disappointing, with only fried noodles or rice served, neither of which suitable for vegetarian and not particularly tasty. Receptionists seemed to take ages for check-in/out. Apart from that, it was a decent place and would recommend it to people looking for a reasonably priced hotel in Miri

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CPu_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

Miri did not strike me as a place where you would find the greatest hotels in the world, but the Park was reasonable enough. Handily situated for the tourist info office and about a 10 minute walk to the start of where the bars and restaurants are.

The hotel staff friendly enough, room was clean but had clearly allowed previous guests to smoke in it and thus, had that stale odour. Had breakfast one morning but went elsewhere after that.

But the place was clean and secure but maybe lacked enough to make you feel really relaxed. Would just about recommend it to anyone else but if like us you were holding up in Miri in betwen trekking, then it will do.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoftusroadW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Dropped in on the off chance and got a room with no problem. Rm85 for a twin. Room was clean with views of the park.

Staff are friendly.

Food in the restaurant / cafe was not that good.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esorlegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.6 mi away
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
0.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#6 of 31 in Miri
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Address: Jalan Raja, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Number of rooms: 88

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing