We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable price & strategic location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minda Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Miri
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Minda Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 38 Miri B&B and Inns
Bintulu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable price & strategic location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

For those that looking for cheap accommodation in Miri city the Minda Guesthouse is the answer! With it's perfect location can save your time & cost to discover more about Miri. Shopping mall, groceries store, laundry service, open air restaurant, bar & bank is just around the corner. For the 1st timer that visit Miri is really hard to find this place because the signboard is not maintain very well. For those that not like the night life and noisy I'm not recommended you to stay here. The bar is just in front of the building and they will closed around 0200 hrs and it's will become more noisy on weekend. The best things for me is the roof top lounge, hope the owner will do something with it because it will be great place to chill out if decorate something like culture thing's in Miri or surrounding it with green plant (just a suggestion). The toilet, room, and all inside the guesthouse is clean. I'm surprise that no blanket provided and I came quiet late and no one in the counter that can help me. Hope the owner will do something with the service also please put some rubbish bin inside & outside the guesthouse. I will came again one day and hope I will not facing this kind of problem anymore. Cheers!!! ~Visit The Nature, Saved Our World~

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince_Drus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
2
13
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The staff was very friendly and help us to find taxi and buses.
The wifi connection was very good.
The rooms are not too small and shared bathrooms and toilets was clean.
It's a good option to stay if you go to Miri.
If you stay here you should avoid the restaurant just downstairs, they change their prices for the meals from one day to another. THIS RESTAURANT IS NOT RELATED TO THE GUESTHOUSE.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for an overnight stay in Miri. Very friendly and helpful owner. Dorm room was only 20RM with great AC. Bring earplugs if you're not fond of the noise from the adjacent karaoke bar. It didn't bother me though as I slept right through it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ameiby1823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

First of all: Miri doesn't offer much and therefore one night should be one than enough. And that's what the Minda guesthouse (no sign at the door!) is designed for. The double rooms are equipped with a bed, a stool and a tiny table. No reading lights, nothing. The duvet we were given was dirty and had burn holes in it. We preferred our travel sheets cause we didn't trust the cleanliness of the sheet either, despite the fact that a sign at the reception states that all sheets are freshly washed. The floor in our room was clean and it had a fan and AC which was highly appreciated cause the AC didn't work very well.
My personal nightmare were the bathrooms. It smells very mouldy, my water preheater didn't work and everything was just yucky. This was topped by the sink's drains which definitely need a good scrub to get rid of hair and probably dirt from more disgusting origin. All in all the bathrooms were everything but clean. Though there is a no shoe policy in the house I didn't dare taking a shower without flip-flops on my feed. And this is basically the reason for my bad review. Running a badly equipped guesthouse is one thing which I'm totally prepared for in Malaysia, not caring about the condition and ripping off the tourists is another.
The owner tried to persuade us to take a minibus to Brunei, which are illegal an not insured. Moreover they are more expensive. No thanks.
Breakfast and wifi is included, I didn't attend the breakfast though.
We've stayed in much nicer rooms for RM 60 on our trip so far.

So all in all this place is sufficient for a one night stop-over. Don't waste more time in Miri. We've seen a new hotel on our way through town (Hotel Nu), which seemed nice from the outside and the staff was happy to help us when we were lost searching for a restaurant. This might be worth a try instead.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miri hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

Lovely owners Willie and Dennis will do whatever they can to help you. Rooms are basic but with air con and fan are very comfortable. The bathrooms are shared but showers good. I only put a 3/5 for cleanliness cos they needed a bit of a sweep when we stayed there but really it was fine.
Communal area with WiFi is nice, free internet and WiFi. Dennis took us in his car up to Canada hill and back , even though we called in the middle of his dinner! Awesome find in miri

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mirandacole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelers Rest, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

paying rm 20 for this hostel is a bit much: i travelled around sarawak on my own and always paid around rm15/dorm, with a better service. although it was low season and the place quite empty, no discount was possible; they only have a kind of discount after a one-week stay!! really, who wants to stay one week in miri, with no mulu/brunei/kk breaki? well, yes: there are some malaysian guys who kind of live in these hostels and started behaving as if it's their own home (loud at night, maximum tv volume, dirty in the kitchen, eating all the food etc). for sure the discount is not for travellers..
it was around elections, so i understand that everybody was busy and not always available (all malaysians had to go home to vote, so lots of preparations), BUT this is not an excuse for the owner (a male) not being kind. i had just arrived in miri and needed some info, but while talking to him, he just turned his back, started talking to sb else or simply left the room. he was also very unpleasant every time i asked about a bus/boat/cheaper internet, as he expects guests to take up his (quite expensive) offers. he offers some boat trip to mulu for rm 1000!! when i told him it was expensive (it's possible to get there by boat with max 400 if one person, less if more ppl), he was unpleasant again, sth like 'how dare i tell him it's expensive?!' later on, the owner of the mulu resort paid him a visit, and the minda owner asked me whether i wanted to sleep in that resort. he already knew i was travelling on a budget... again i said i was going to sleep in a homestay, as the resort is too expensive: both (he and the resort owner) treated me with a sour face and with obvious despise.
the owner (and seemingly everyone else) went home for the elections. just before that, he told me to feel like at home and.. even apologized for the way he had talked to me earlier (so even he himself realized it!). however, he did not take care to buy breakfast for the 2 or 3 days we were going to be almost alone in the hostel, so in the morning: surprise! actually double surprise: the kitchen was a mess because of the group of malaysian guys who haven't learnt how to clean after themselves, and who were also told nothing by the staff (of course, there is always a cleaning woman who should clean after them, right?! :-/).
on the same morning there was no internet, either, so the best i could do was to leave! especially that the night had been horrible: absolutely no sleep till the wee hours of the morning because of the disco-bar just opposite the hostel.
i gave a 'poor' to service because of the owner's attitude. there were other ppl around who were nice, including his young son (hopefully he will not take after his father..).
unlike other comments i have read here, however, i found the place pretty clean. i slept in a women's dorm, which was good (just the idea of sharing the dorm with those noisy guys who can't clean after themselves was intolerable), it had both fan and a/c, the beds were clean (at least in my dorm), and the shower/toilet rooms were clean, too (separate for women/men, so this is only valid for the women's bathrooms). the floor looked clean, too, and the no-shoe policy was respected by everybody, so i guess they must have changed some things based on ppl's comments.
the internet connection is very slow if u have no laptop and want to use the one provided by the guesthouse. it is also expensive: first 10 minutes free, then rm 2/half an hour. it's true: they usually don't count minutes in a very strict manner, but still.. the tension is there.
the location is terrible because of the terrible noise during the night: it is not their fault, but maybe they should think about a solution. otherwise, it is right in the centre, withing walking distance of everything and with plenty of dinner possibilities right next to the door.
leaving aside all the negative parts, there is a big positive thing there: the rooftop! this is indeed great, and one could spend a day or two just enjoying this place, reading a book and being lazy, especially after the sleepless nights caused by the bar outside :D

Room Tip: try to get a room whose windows do not face the street, and which is farther from the tv area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sayloure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

really budget and value for money. generally everything is good, clean. like the balcony very much. though bit noisy at night, but still bearable. nice location. Willie is nice and helpful. can meet with some local and travelers. will surely revisit this place in future

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecixoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.2 mi away
Dillenia Guest House
0.3 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
2.0 mi away
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 29 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.1 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 29 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minda Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minda Guesthouse

Property: Minda Guesthouse
Address: Jalan North Yu Seng, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Miri
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Minda Guesthouse Hotel Miri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing