We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best hostels we've stayed in.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dillenia Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dillenia Guest House
Ranked #1 of 38 Miri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best hostels we've stayed in.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

One of the best hostels we’ve stayed in and one that I would definitely recommend. All areas were very clean with thoughtful touches all about the place (free toiletries and hairdryer in the communal bathrooms, plants dotted all over, even twined around the plumbing in the toilets, an honesty box for drinks, even cheap chilled beer in the fridge and a beautiful handmade quilt by Mrs Lee on the wall). She’s a mine of useful information for her guests and is able to assist in arranging transport at reasonable cost. We felt that Mrs Lee was genuinely interested in giving her guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay at her guesthouse. I was especially interested to talk to Mrs Lee as I shared an interest with her in needlework but I also learnt a little about her life as a Chinese in Malaysia; I’ve always been rather intrigued how people manage linguistically when living in a country where speaking more than one, completely different, language is a necessity. The only negative was one night out of four when the sound of karaoke kept me awake. My partner on the other hand seemed to sleep through most of it. The other nights were quiet.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosedell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    32
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
61
56
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2011

Comfortable and clean. Good sized rooms and nice communal area. Expensive for what it is, however, the owner, Mrs Lee is very accommodating and extremely helpful. We left a couple of bags here while we explored Mulu for a few days and also on a separate occasion when we went scuba diving. Mrs Lee also arranged for our bags to be delivered to us at the airport when we returned, which was very convenient. The 'value' added by Mrs Lee more than justified the slightly above par price. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theitinerantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed there twice within days apart. Agree with the other TA reviews, Mrs Lee is sociable, friendly, helpful and always makes sure you get to where you're going by arranging taxi/van transfers sometimes without you having the need to ask - especially when you're travelling in a group.

Mrs Lee doesn't live there anymore, like one TA review said, but she is there most parts of the day, leaving late at night after making sure there are fresh fruits and bread for breakfast the next day, cleaning the bathrooms and the rest of the guest house.

It's safe - the guesthouse has CCTV and you let yourself in with a key tag. If you're worried about your shoes (these are left outside the door) on the first floor, you can bring them into your room; just make sure you don't use them in the guest house. Bare feet allowed only.

There is filtered water available or bottled drinking water / other drinks for sale. There's a price list and she leaves the rest to honesty (there's a box where you drop your money in or take whatever change you require).

Location wise, there's a shopping mall within walking distance, but you still have to walk about 20-30 minutes to get into the centre of town and where all the nice food places are.

Only setback is that if your room is towards the side of the guest house, you can clearly hear karaoke till 2am (especially if you are on the first floor). Rooms on the second floor are much quieter but if you are a light sleeper, it's advisable to wear ear plugs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor and away from the karaoke cafe on the ground floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank assamkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

Mrs Lee was very hospitable and I highly recommend it for students as I went with World Challenge and there were university students staying there whilst teaching english at local schools. She also recommended transport and places to visit while we were there.

However, don't be put off as there were adults and families staying there as it is suitable for anyone.

Another perk is that it is across the road from the major shopping mall. Even more conveniently, you can get your clothes sent from the hostel to a local laundrette and sent back the same day through Mrs Lee who is the landlady. She is very helpful and a complimentary breakfast is provided within the cost, there is toast with a variety of spreads and fruit (usually pineapple and watermelon). Free access to the two computer's internet is a bonus.

Overall I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Large rooms with many bunk beds are available for large groups Regular sized rooms with double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oranguboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Our family trip to Miri was very adventurous and fun. We had a wonderful time in Miri. Our three nights stay at Dillenia were just like home sweet home. It was our first time staying in a bed n breakfast. We stayed in the family room with three beds. It is truly like a guestroom at your home. We did not know what to expect at the beginning but after the first night and consecutive nights we were very happy and satisfied. At least the kids were happy to stay there. My wife was surprisingly very happy with your services that you provide and the guesthouse itself was very clean. It was very comfortable and almost like my own home.

I believe not all the guesthouses are run as well as yours. Mrs. Lee is the heart n soul of Dillenia. She run Dillenia really well and she treated her guests like her own friends and that was how we felt when we stayed at Dillenia. At least when I stayed at Dillenia I got the feeling that I was a guest at Mrs Lee's house and not just a paying guest.

It was a truly HOME SWEET HOME feeling while staying with you.

Thank you. Hope to see you again on our next visit to Mulu.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael12341234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malveira, Portugal
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed two nights at Dillenia GH and we highly recommend it. Mrs Lee is extremely friendly and helpful (help us with the transport to the airport to go to Mulu and to Brunei, and with small things that mean a lot), and we found the twin room spotless and clean.
Excellent value for money - plus, you fell like at home.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaterciaSimoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

Great place to stay. The owner Mrs Lee couldn't be more hospitable and helpful. Hostel is clean and homely with fast WiFi. No bedrooms seem to have bathrooms attached but the shared bathrooms are clean with good showers. Beware, however, that Miri is a very noisy city (think terrible kareoke) and whilst this hostel seems to be quieter than some it may be a bit noisy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theitinerantone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 29 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 29 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nur
Hotel Nur
#7 of 29 in Miri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillenia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillenia Guest House

Property: Dillenia Guest House
Address: Lot 846 1st Floor Jalan Sida, Miri 98100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Dillenia Guest House Hotel Miri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing