We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dillenia Guest House
Ranked #1 of 41 Miri B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is a great place! Good clean rooms and spotlessly clean showers and bathroom. Mrs Lee, the owner, is a wonderful lady, doing almost everything for her guests. I highly recommend Dillenia Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuhammadSafian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have stayed in Dillenia just for 1 night on our way to Mulu.
We were reliably picked up at the airport by a driver and driven back. Guesthouse has nice communal area where you can make breakfast. Owner is helpful in getting advice about everything and she helped us a lot with tips for Mulu.
Otherwise guesthouse facilities are very simple and basic but clean

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karelcermak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My family stayed here for one night. We have been travelling for 11 months and this place is up there with the nicest places we have stayed. It is clean, laid out well and extremely well run. Mrs Lee is obviously a perfectionist, it shows in the communal area, as its all well thought out. Don't bother looking for other budget places just book in here. Thank you Mrs Lee, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannecharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We only planned to stay for 2 nights but extended to 3 once we got here and met Mrs.Lee. The guesthouse is very very clean and has a great lounge area where you can use the computers, watch tv or dvd's and use the kitchen facilities. There is free wifi through out the building and it is very fast. There is free breakfast with toast, and spreads and fruit. Free coffee and many different types of tea as well as drinking water are available 24 hours a day. We had a room with 2 single beds and shared bathroom which was always clean and had a blow dryer and soap and shampoo. Laundry services are also available. Mrs. Lee makes you feel welcomed from the minute you walk through the doors. She has an abundance of information about the area and surrounding areas and will not hesitate to give you direction or help in your planning. She can also arrange for transportation and she gave us contact information for a homestay in Mulu National Park. We've been traveling for over 3 months and this place we would put on the top of our list of places we have stayed so far. I would recommend it and would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 01Kelly01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed in Dilennia for just 2 nights, mainly to visit the Niah caves. Mrs Lee arranged for a transfer which costed 60RM, lunch included. This was excellent value for money, as independent travel would have costed as much, if not more, and would be less convenient. Mrs Lee knows all about the hotspots in Miri (not so many though). The hostel itself was very clean and tidy, bathroom facilities were good as well. The only remark I would make is that it doesn't seem to be a solo traveler's hostel, it's more a guest house for groups. For me it wasn't a problem because I didn't stay in Miri for too long, and this is not something the owners have control over. I enjoyed my stay a lot, with all the comforts a traveler needs.

Room Tip: Ear plugs as the A/C can get a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gveugen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place! Good clean rooms and spotlessly clean showers and bathroom. Mrs Lee, the owner, is a wonderful lady, doing almost everything for her guests. I highly recommend Dillenia Guesthouse.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nipeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

My experience with Dillenia started on the wrong foot when the owner turned up about half an hour late to let me into the guest house. Thankfully, it was all uphill from there. I stayed both in a private single room and a twin room, both of which were pleasantly clean (clean enough to be comfortable barefooted) and basic. I also enjoyed the fact that those rooms both had windows, though the large glass panels did warm the room up a bit unless you turn the aircon up (greenhouse effect).

The common toilets were very clean (I was somewhat taken by their handsome floor tiles) and somehow kept dry almost every time I visited them.

Aside from that, it's also a plus that the wifi was pretty fast (and free) even from the rooms. The legendary Mrs. Lee written all over other reviews did not disappoint in the hospitality department either.

I'd definitely come back here again if I need a place in Miri.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jklee6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.2 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
6.3 mi away
Ajang Hotel
Ajang Hotel
#10 of 31 in Miri
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
My Homestay
My Homestay
#2 of 41 in Miri
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Next Room Homestay
Next Room Homestay
#6 of 32 in Miri
10 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coco House
Coco House
#5 of 32 in Miri
38 reviews
2.2 mi away
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dillenia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillenia Guest House

Address: Lot 846 1st Floor Jalan Sida, Miri 98100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Miri
Price Range: £10 - £11 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Dillenia Guest House Hotel Miri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing