We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy stay”
Review of Meritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Meritz Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed for more than a week in Meritz and was very satisfied with the room facing the pool. Staff at the counter was very helpful. Internet speed is great. Bintang mall is just beside the hotel, makes it very convenient for me to spend some free time there

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank CT_KL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
There are newer reviews for Meritz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Hotel is well situated in city center and nearby good local Chinese restaurant and drinking places along the street.
Hotel is still newly renovated and clean. Aircond in room and corridor area could be too cold.
Connected directly to a shopping mall, can do basic shopping easily.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeanYang78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel for work - loved it. Great rooms and when i saw the price on the invoices i thought it was a bargain. Right on top of a few bars and shops. Great breakfast and good food. Roof top bar is nice. Would stay here again no probs'.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hump75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

ive stay here with my wife.....before i choose this hotel,ive read through this website and obtained plenty of pro and cons regarding this hotel.....Eventually after i checked in,i found the room is massive and superb with all of sofa,queen size mattress.......viewpoint from windows also amaze both of us....toilet also in clean condition too with huge bath tub.....overall this hotel situated just next to shopping complex.....the cons of this hotel is wifi connectivity poor....others GREAT..tq

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pichot84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I attended a function at this hotel last week and stayed there for a night. Overall the hotel is value for money for the amenities it provided. The only drawback I noted is the facet in the bathroom.

For a hotel that is less than two years old, the condition of the facet in the bathroom is deploring. If I may make a suggestion to the owner/management of the hotel, you are running a hotel and so outlook and services is the paramount "assets" for you. Please do not use inferior facet just to save a few dollars when in the long-run it brings down your brand.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at Meritz Hotel in Miri in September 2013, in the middle of the night we could hear scratching sounds in the ceiling and something in my bin in the room. When I switched on the light a rat ran through the panels of the wooden wall. We didn't get much sleep that night. We complained to the front desk the next morning and wanted to check if there were other complaints. We were informed that there are holes in the building which they are working on. rats are coming into the building because of the food outlets at the shopping centre. We enjoyed visiting the Meritz previously but this was a very bad experience for us especially that we were on the 12th floor of the building. Will think twice about visiting the Meritz Hotel.

Room Tip: Find out if anyone complained of rats in that room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tilisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Conveniently located above a mall and near a street lined with a number of restaurants. Hotel has a decent dining area on the top floor with a view of the city but otherwise below-average facilities.

According to the locals, this is one of the better business hotels in the city with meeting facilities but room was disappointing with stained upholstery, rusty sink and pilling bed sheet. The internet connection was also very unreliable and terribly slow. It is probably a known problem as the front desk will provide a wireless router if you complain. However a refundable cash deposit is required but after going through all the trouble, the device failed to improve the connection.

For business travelers, pay a little more to stay in a hotel under an international chain.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.6 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
0.3 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#7 of 31 in Miri
186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
1.7 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritz Hotel

Address: Jalan Bintang | Jalan Miri-Pujut, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meritz Hotel is the more recent four-star business class hotel in Miri, Sarawak. It is strategically situated next to Bintang Megamall, namely one of the leading shopping malls in Miri. With more than 200 branded retail shops operating with the anchor tenant, Parkson Department Store, you are bound to enjoy the shopping experience. It only takes 15 minutes to travel from Miri Airport to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing