We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Meritz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meritz Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed 28 February 2014

read some reviews earlier and glad that i have made the right choice.

stayed here for 2 nights for the first time. Everything is okay. The only grumble is the hotel need to improve on the in-room wifi service. You can only get the wifi signal at the respective floor lobby area.

Breakfast dining is average (located at rooftop area-17th floor), but the English Tea is tasteless. Good view of the city at the restaurant bar at this floor.

During my stay, chanced up with the "outgoing" Chief Minister of Sarawak who is here for the water theme park ground breaking ceremony in Miri. As such, the lift was particulary slow as only one lift is operating while the other two is "reserved" for VIPs usage. Also witnessed some good lion dances activities at hotel reception area & local VIPs who were here to attend an important dinner function by the chinese chamber association on Saturday night

If you need any groceries, the Bintang Mall is there for your needs. Opposite hotel is the government clinic (in case you need it) and Ming Cafe is just a stone throw away from hotel (2 min walk). No problem of finding food. Canada Hill is visibly located at far left opposite end of the hotel.

overall, it is a good experience.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor to have a good view of sea & city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christong8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritzAdmin, Manager at Meritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear KristopherKL,

Thank you for writing this review. It has been a delight serving you.

Sorry for the inconvenient experience during your stay. As this is an important state function for Chinese Federation. We are looking forward to improve our facilities.

Once again, we look forward to having you back again very soon.

Regards,
Doreen Liu
Branding & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

I saw a rats in my hotel room running to the floor towards behind the tv.Can't believe newly furnished beatiful hotel is so dirty and not hygenic.This is my last time staying here.Even when i having my buffet bfast at their restaurant,the foods are surrounded with small flies n it not even taste good.The male with glasses receptionist at front counter lobby r not friendly too n look so serious.I rather staying at park evelyn hotel even tho old hotel but its clean n the foods are good.The staffs also friendly n smile always

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bebebabe603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritzAdmin, Manager at Meritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Bebebabe603,

First of all, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you had experienced during your stay. For your info, we had done and work closely to do pest control every month as usual hotel procedure.

We are looking forward to your return visit. Your comment as we strive to offer the better service and improving our food quality.

Regards,
Doreen Liu
Branding & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is my first time staying this hotel. I've heard that this new hotel is very very good. That was the same experience I got once I entered the room. The set up of the room is very grandeur-like but the rate of the room is so affordable as it is only a two star hotel.

the facilities of the room is very comfortable and luxurious.

Not to forget, the rate is included breakfast for two.

this hotel is very affordable

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suffian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritzAdmin, Manager at Meritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear suffian,

Thank you for your positive comments and choosing to stay with us.
I am delighted you had a pleasant experience at our hotel.
We hope that you will visit us again soon.


Best regards,
Doreen Liu
Branding & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights at level 10. Location wise right in the middle of city. Combined with Bintang shopping mall and easy access from the lobby. Many options to search for shopping & dining nearby the hotel. The front desk staff were friendly. The room was spacious, neat & tidy when we check-in. Bathroom was comfortably sized with bathtub & hot water. The room & hotel interior came with modern design. Flat tv screen but there was not much channel option to choose (less than 10 channels & NO sports channel!). When we booked & received reservation confirmation, it stated with "complimentary use of internet access is available in the room". Unfortunately, there was no internet signal at all in the room. We can only get the signal outside the room at the 'atrium lobby'. Called the hotel to get feedback & I was offered wireless internet router but with a deposit of RM50! Breakfast at level 17 (Grand Old Lady) & the choices of food was very dissapointing. Overall I would say the hotel is good and recommended. The hotel management need to upgrade & look at the wifi facilities & also the food.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritzAdmin, Manager at Meritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Jan J,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your overall experience at the hotel including the location and the room.

Your constructive feedback is also appreciated and will be helpful as we continue to improve ourselves to better meet guests’ expectations. We are in the process to add more tv channels, including sport channel and to boost up the quality of internet and services.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Doreen Liu
Branding & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Ive stayed a couple of times and I really like the hotel because it is located next to a shopping mall which make it more convenient (door to the mall is located in the lobby through Parkson). The first time I stayed here when it was newly opened and half of the hotel was still building in progress. I remember the swimming pool was partially complete but the gym facility, spa and changing room were not completed. Fast forward now, the spa is incomplete and the rest of building is probably 90% complete.
The rooms are quite large and clean. Amenities is commendable. The price of the room includes breakfast for 2 adult, free basement parking and free Wi-Fi. The breakfast is served on the 17th floor which overlooks the City of Miri. Wide variety of food but not as much but worth the price we paid. The free Wi Fi is very poor if you try to get connection from your room. Sometime you get a signal and sometime you do not. But if you do, there is no internet. If you do really want a good connection, then you have to sit in the common 'lobby' of the floors. Sleeping experience is just alright. The single bed that I use was not comfortable at all. Its a bit 'springy'. Not an ideal experience if you have to have a good night sleep. Lighting in the room is sufficient but the bathroom need a little more illumination. TV Channels are sufficient but it could have been better.
The in room dining experience is a bit of a disappointment. The choice of food is limited and they did not deliver / take into account what we had requested although the operator / order taker said they do entertain such request. They do need to improve in this area I guess. I definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay and a bit of a shopping but if you are looking for a more relaxing vacation in Miri, you ought to try the hotels near the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank storm t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritzAdmin, Manager at Meritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear HMSR,

Thank you for your continuous support and your detailed review.
Your comments are very important for us.
We are continuously reviewing ways to better improve on our internet ad room service.
We hope to welcome you and your family back to Meritz Hotel in the future.

Regards,
Doreen Liu
Branding & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I understand now why this hotel have many favourable view. This hotel has eveverything that we asked for a hotel. The downside is the hotel parking. The hotel need to finish the renovation soon and it will surely becomes the number one choice for hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alliyah5521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritzAdmin, Manager at Meritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear alliyah5521,

Thank you for writing this review and I am delighted you had a pleasant experience at our hotel.
Your suggestion on improving the facilities in the hotel has been noted.
We are look forward to having you with us again.

Regards,
Doreen Liu
Branding & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The Hotel itself is in the vicinity of a shopping center. Anytime you could just go down and do some shopping or dine in restaurants that are plenty to choose from. Children would love the swimming pool. The free breakfast for 2 person is such a great deal where you will enjoy buffet breakfast with plenty of food to choose from. You dont have to go out of the hotel as everything was perfectly there for you. When you are tired of walking around you could just drop by in to a Reflexology shop where you could enjoy foot massage for 60 minutes for only RM40. I surely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: It depends if you like swimming choose the 7 or the 8 floor. Standard and deluxe room are not really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdleyBrunei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeritzAdmin, Manager at Meritz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear AdleyBrunei,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
The positive comments on rooms, foods, F&B outlets and facilities serves as a great motivation for the team.

For additional plus service, we are going to launch the Spa and Sauna facilities soon. Look forward to your return visit soon.

Regards,
Doreen Liu
Branding and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
0.3 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
0.8 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#6 of 31 in Miri
200 reviews
1.7 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritz Hotel

Address: Jalan Bintang | Jalan Miri-Pujut, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Hotel Class:4 star — Meritz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meritz Hotel is the more recent four-star business class hotel in Miri, Sarawak. It is strategically situated next to Bintang Megamall, namely one of the leading shopping malls in Miri. With more than 200 branded retail shops operating with the anchor tenant, Parkson Department Store, you are bound to enjoy the shopping experience. It only takes 15 minutes to travel from Miri Airport to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing