We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passed its glory days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Parkcity has definitely seen better days. Mouldy bathrooms and icky carpets, the management could have done better with the maintenance works. Our sink was leaky and our toilet kept flushing itself.

When we checked in, our pantry was infested with fat black ants which shows the lack of housekeeping standards.

The only plus of Parkcity would be the comfortable bed and soft pillows. Good view of the coastline too but that too is nothing to shout about.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steph y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 142 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed at this comfy yet 'just feel like home' hotel when we had a relative's wedding on at the Pavillion, June last year (2013) I find that its a much recommended, good hotel to stay in and has a reasonable price.. I recalled that we were served with welcoming smiles, and one of that i remembered was this one very helpful and friendly staff named Madam Blenda. So far, our stay was just as superb as the grand wedding that evening!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamthebulan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

very happy with choice of hotel.
The staff is courteous and room comfortable.
Miri has changed a lot since we lived here nearly 57 years ago.
A lot of condominium construction along the beaches.
We look to exploring the place over the next three days

Room Tip: The hotel is modern, well maintained. I would come back and stay here agian
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atlantaranjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This hotel has an even balance of good an bad, I personally would not return here and would most likely stay at the Mariott on my next visit to Miri.

We stayed in the Hillside Deluxe room with king sized bed. The room was well set out and spacious. The bed was very old, uncomfortable and needed urgent replacemet. The bed sheets were not clean and had unremovable stains on them. The room itself was not clean as there were huge build up of debris and dust around the skirtings of the walls and the bath tub was not a welcomed site, we did not even use it as it was unclean.

Our room was supposed to be a no smoking room yet when we entered the room the first smell that hit me was the smell of smoke. I asked for a change and was moved into another room. This room also smelled of smoke, especially in the toilet but it was slightly bearable so I decided to settle.

Our room had very nice views of the hillside, the service of the staff were okay. Check in and check out went smoothly with no hiccups.

The shuttle bus was a nice option but the pick-up time was not on the dot and was late by about 10 minutes.

The buffet breakfast which was included in our stay was decent, food was good and there was a nice selection of food. The dinner had a greater option and I absolutely loved the honey soy chicken wings.

I am sure this hotel was a grand hotel back in the 1960's or 70's but ever since then it has been barely renovated or modernised. It has huge potential for redevelopment and can once again be a jewel of Miri if renovated and brought upto date with current hotel standards.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Although our room had a wonderful beach view, the bathroom was smelly and the room was not spotless: somebody else's hair in the bathroom and balcony is a no-no!!! There is a shuttle service between the hotel and places of interest in Miri - but be warned: the pickup time is not as stipulated. On one occasion the shuttle bus was 45 minutes late: the driver's excuse was that he had to go to the airport to pick up members of an airline crew.The breakfast was okay: the cheese platter consisted of one type of unidentifiable cheese. Coffee in the room was not replenished on a regular basis (as promised in the hotel brochure).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. It is rather nice to sit on the balcony and watch the sun setting ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoreneBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I have just experienced the most horrible hotel stay in my life here. Upon checking in, we asked the receptionist a few questions regarding our room. However, our questions were ignored as the receptionist pretended that she did not hear us. It was so awkward standing there waiting for a reply. What she should do is at least ask for assistance if she do not know anything rather than pretending not hearing us!

Next, we requested for an additional bed at 8pm before we headed out for dinner. When we came back to the hotel at 1am, there was no sign of additional bed in our room. So we decided to call the receptionist, the phone was not working at all! I am so exhausted but I still have to go all the way to the lobby. Horrible!

Facilities are super old in this hotel and everything smells old! The swimming pools were so dirty that even if you go underwater, you can't see anything.

It certainly did not live up to my expectation despite being a 4 star hotel. Never in my life that I would return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JesmineW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Let's be clear, not everything about this hotel is bad. The room was spacious, the beachview was great, the beds were outstanding, and the staff is very helpfull. Check in an check out very smooth. But... This hotel is a past glory, outdated in many ways. It seems like the management decided not to invest any ringit, euro, dollar or even köpec anymore in this hotel.
The bathroom: showercurtain quite dirty, mold on the tiles, toiletseat extremely used,...
The swimmingpool: nicely situated in a nice garden but outdated, poolchairs probably bought around 1970, most of them are broken or rusty, poollamp floating in the pool (danger of electrocution?), the poolbar is clearly abonded since many years, etc.
Breakfast is good, and the Atlantis buffet we had on friday evening was excellent.
Conclusion: there is a clear need of investment. The hotel needs an urgent refresh if it wants to stay open in the next years.
Last point, the beach. This hotel claims to be the only that has a beach in Miri. Well, dont take the risk to go there. Apparently, it is situated near a sewagepipe (this was told by people who stayed inthe Marriot), but worse, it is infected with sandflies. I spent 5 minutes on the beach, and was bitten hundreds of times. Sandfly bites cause a terrible itch, that is itchier then a mosquito bite and last much longer. When I asked a staffmember, he confirmed the presence of the sandflies. The hotelmanagement should inform their costumers about this!!!!!!
William, Senta and little Ella

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William_Decoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.5 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#6 of 31 in Miri
199 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
264 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
1.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
242 reviews
2.6 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#7 of 31 in Miri
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri

Address: Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range: £22 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing