We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Miri
1 review
“Dirty hotel”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Reached the hotel at 1:30Pm and the front desk officer told me that the room is not ready. Very poor coordination as I was hearing the officer was having hard time to locate the housekeeping team.

After 20 minutes, finally I got our room key and quickly rush to Level 6. The first welcomed me on the lift lobby is a pair of dirty shoe on the table (Refer to the photo) as the maintenance team was repairing at something at the lobby area.

My room was very dirty. Please refer to my attached photo.

Room Tip: A non smoking room that has strong cigarette smell!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mok776688, Manager at ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review posted in TripAdvisor and we would like to offer our humble apologies for all the inconveniences that might have caused.

We appreciate your constructive comments on the services rendered by our hotel staff and are taking the necessary measures to correct our shortcomings. For your information, the hotel will undergo extensive renovations for all the hotel rooms over the next 14 months especially in our bathrooms.

As we had flaws in our services and standards, we would like to offer a refund for your room charges or a complimentary stay as goodwill from the hotel. Please furnish us with your name, booking number and bank details for us to process the refund or your corresponding address for us to mail the room voucher.

Once again, our sincere apologies.

Thank you and have a nice day.


Mok Pin Chuan
Hotel Manager
email: pc.mok@theeverlygroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    78
    76
    43
    25
See reviews for
64
46
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I used to stay at this hotel a lot 10 years+ ago when it was run and managed by the Holiday Inn chain, today its a real hole....and I will not be putting foot back in this place ever again!

From check-in, the staff are rude and very unwelcoming. The check-In lady decided to give me a twin bedded room when I booked and paid for a king bedded room. She got very upset with me when I said, I wanted the room I paid for please......plus she gave me a smoking room when I don't smoke.......she then had the nerve to say, that she has managed to get me an upgrade to the room I wanted!!!!

The room was old and stank of mildew.....everything is old, the towels have holes in them and the place is dirty.

Nothing seems to work in this place. The staff do not care and just brush you off when you ask for anything. The breakfast is truly horrible, not to be recommended at all.

I could not check out of this place quick enough. One night was more than enough.

Keep well away......!!!

Room Tip: Room wise, forget it,,,,,,,stay well away from this property. Go to the Marriott a short walk up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mok776688, Manager at ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Tthank you for your review posted in TripAdvisor and we would like to offer our humble apologies for all the inconveniences that might have caused.

We take your comments on the services rendered by our front desk staff very seriously and are taking the necessary measures to correct our shortcomings. For your information, the hotel will undergo extensive renovations for all the hotel rooms over the next 14 months.

We would like to offer a refund for your room charges as a goodwill gesture and we need you to furnish us with your name, booking number and bank details for us to process the refund.

Once again, our sincere apologies.

Have a pleasant day.

Thank you and kind regards,

Mok Pin Chuan
Hotel Manager
email: pc.mok@theeverlygroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miri hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We went for a one-night stay mid week.The hotel is in serious need of a facelift, both inside and out. The rooms are of a decent size, but rather tired; e.g. cigarette burns even though it was a non-smoking room. The in-room safe was locked and the technician was unable to open it.

The bathroom is small and the fittings are old and worm. We had no hot water.

The beds were comfortable with nice feather pillows, although the sheets were worn and threadbare.

The pool was cloudy and we did not use it. The buffet breakfast was adequate. There was a fair choice, but the quality was not terrific.

The car park is of a good size, however, I suspect that it fill up during the day with non-guests who work nearby. There is a convenient row of shops and restaurants next door.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MisterN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mok776688, Manager at ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review posted in TripAdvisor recently. We would like to apologise for all the inconveniences caused during your recent stay with us.

Barring any unforseen circumstances, the hotel is planning to complete the renovation programme over the next 14 months.

Please contact the undersigned directly for your next visit to Miri or your next booking with ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri. We would like to thank you personally for your comment.

Have a nice day.


Thank you and kind regards,

Mok Pin Chuan
Hotel Manager
email: pc.mok@theeverlygroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was in Parkcity during my trip in Borneo and stayed just for two nights. Room was comfortable and surprisingly big, with nice big bed, TV, in-room safe and some another basic furniture. What is obvious, is that the hotel is oldm you can see that everywhere. Carpets are musty and as a bonus, you'll get your own, big, nice mould on the wall in your bathroom. I haven't found a courage for a long relaxing bath. Just a quick shower and get out, friend. Staff at the desk was nice and helpful though. Breakfast was the nicest experience in the hotel. Food was simply awesome and you will enjoy it for sure. From the beach in front of the hotel is possible to see an big oil platform, really romantic, right? :) If you need a place to stay for one or two nights, this could be your choice. On the other hand, i wouldn't reccomend this hotel for longer stays...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VladaF-CZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mok776688, Manager at ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments in TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay with us.

We would like to thank you for the compliments on our hotel and also like to apologise for all the inconveniences that might have caused. For your knowledge,the hotel has plans to carry out extensive renovations for the rooms and public areas over the next 14 months.

Please do not hesitate to contact the undersigned for your next visit to Miri or your next booking with us.

Have a pleasant day.

Thank you and kind regards,


Mok Pin Chuan
Hotel Manager
email: pc.mok@theeverlygroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Have stayed in this hotel on and off for the past 20 years, since its pioneering Holiday Inn days with that famous discopub.

The price has gone up by about RM50. Room is clean but old. A large pink lipstick stain on the coffee cup! This was replaced immediately. Bathtub was mouldy and fittings rusty. The swimming pool bottom at the deep end was dirty with decaying leaves and whatnot. Still many sandflies near the poolside.

Watch out with the breakfast buffet if you bring along a family. They let our children in with a smile and we assumed it's free. Then upon leaving, they thrust us a RM20 charge for each children. After much arguments, we refused to sign. Tempers flew on both sides. I went to the reception to discuss and they casually said it's ok, no need to pay. This should be made clear from the beginning before we entered. We would have happily forego breakfast - who would leave kids alone in a hotel room? This experience spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay. Will be looking elsewhere next time when in Miri.

On many past stays here, I have skipped buffet to catch the morning flights and ate at excellent coffeeshops opposite Miri airport. (Try the Foochow kampua mee at the 2nd coffeeshop).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank borneotrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mok776688, Manager at ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your comments in TripAdvisor with regards to your recent stay with ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri.

We would like to apologise for all the inconveniences caused during your stay. We are taking the remedy actions to improve our overall services.

We would like to offer you and your family a complimentary stay in our hotel as goodwill for your next visit to Miri. Please contact the undersigned direct or email your address to us so that we can mail the complimentary voucher to you.

Have a pleasant day.


Thank you and kind regards.


Mok Pin Chuan
Hotel Manager
email: pc.mok@theeverlygroup,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The ParkCity Everly is simply one of a kind! Nice atmosphere with good hospitality. Rooms are very accommodating and complete with peaceful views and natural surrounding. Our stay was made even more memorable with the assistance of Madam Blenda Patrick who was willing to assist us on any information or services available in the hotel. I would highly recommend anyone especially families looking for a comfortable environment to stay in when visiting Miri to stay in ParkCity!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank livantimothy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mok776688, Manager at ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your very positive feedback reflected on TripAdvisor review during your last stay with us. We truly appreciate your generous comments on the overall service rendered by the hotel staff.

We look forward to your next booking with ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri and please contact the undersigned direct for your room booking.

Have a nice day.

Thank you and kind regards,


Mok Pin Chuan
Hotel Manager
email:pc.mok@theeverlygroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu District, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The view so beautiful.i would like to stay here again if i visit miri again.The shuttle service that they provide are good and extra mark for this hotel compare to others.The breakfast also good.I stay here 1 night and book the executive room via online and i get the best price.I will suggest and recommend to people if you all want to visit miri, it worth to stay here specially if you dont have transport,because they provide free shuttle to some famous place.Well done managemant

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missdrfaridah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mok776688, Manager at ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Cik Faridah,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on the TripAdvisor review with regards to your stay with us in February.

Your comments are very important to us for improvement and to ensure consistency in our overall hotel service.

We look forward to your next visit and please feel free to contact the undersigned for your room booking.


Have a pleasant day.


Thank you and kind regards,


Mok Pin Chuan
Hotel Manager
email:pc.mok@theeverlygroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.5 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
1.5 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
180 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 31 in Miri
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Palace Hotel
Grand Palace Hotel
#6 of 31 in Miri
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri

Property: ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Address: Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Miri

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing