We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice family-orientated hotel resort. But not 5 star.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Asolo, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice family-orientated hotel resort. But not 5 star.”
Reviewed 1 January 2013

I don't usually stay in chain hotels as I'm more of a boutique hotel person that appreciates details and personalisation. However, travelling to Miri, the Miri Marriott was the best choice out of the pick of hotels available in the area.

The hotel is definitely catered for families and I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a newly-wed couples or couples in general looking for a romantic stay. However, the facilities are good and the overall service is of a good quality.

Staff are very friendly, attentive and polite which always makes a big difference when staying in a hotel. The Balinese spa is also very pleasant and well run and I would recommend having a treatment there.

The rooms are big if even if a tad tired looking. What was important was that the beds were comfortable and I had a very good sleep.

Although there isn't a beach, the swimming pool is of an ample size and there are smaller pools catered for children and babies.

Although, I did have a pleasant stay, it is not to a five star quality. It is a comfortable family-friendly resort with not bells and whistles.

Room Tip: Most rooms in the hotel are twin beds. So you you want a double king size, make you you request for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    229
    74
    18
    12
See reviews for
149
124
30
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

The pool is the main attraction if this hotel. A very large pool with a swim up bar and on weekends the hotel provides an air float for the kids to jump and pay on over the pool.

The rooms do show some wear on them on I wouldn't call this 5 start resort, more like a 4 star. I do rate this hotel a great hotel for your family and probably the best hotel in Miri.

The hotel is not near the city center but their its a great fish resistant across the street and the hotel offers a shuttle to the main locations bars and restaurants in Miri.

Room Tip: Pool will full up with kids early so choose a room far from the pool if you wish to sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cincoMcBrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Out of the center this resort feels like it is from the 1970s'. It isn't to bad - but it isn't very modern either. No access to the sea and no beach - nice big pool though. Because it is location out of Miri center - we had dinner here and the buffet wasn't bad. The service in the hotel is awesome and you feel that staff is properly trained and really doing their very best. Breakfast is nice. Room ok - nothing special.

Room Tip: This hotel has a resort lay-out with two wings some rooms face the sea - but because of the lack of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mareku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarawak, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Marriott suppose to be a very famous, well known 5-star hotel. Somehow, this Marriott Resort doesn't deserve to use this name.

The bad service starts when the reservation line was engage and the operator asked to call again in 10 minutes time. I called back only to find out that the line was still engage and I was asked to call back again in another 10-15 minutes time!!!

The service at the hotel, lousy. They organize meetings/workshops at their establishment but they could not provide the appropriate facility as per expectation. The prayer room was locked all the time and guests have to call for the key 2-3 times per day to get-in. The staff could not speak proper English, so it’s quite hard to communicate and worse of all, we can hear them mocking the guests in their own dialect.

The room cleanliness was okay but it was not consistent. They always forgot to provide the toilet mat and the anti-slip mat for the bath tub.

The food, nothing special. But they do have a lot of waiter and waitress to provide fast service at the restaurant.

In conclusion, you can come to this resort if you really have to. Otherwise, worth spend your money elsewhere...

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side (Left side if you are facing the sea) are quitter since there is a major cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohammad_Mustapha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

A reasonable hotel however it falls far behind the more accomplished resort type hotels in the region. Staff, as always, try hard and make every effort to ensure your stay is comfortable and addresses your needs.
It beats the rest in Miri, however that is a relative benchmark to use.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The resort is located slightly out of town. However, free shuttle is provided to few shopping malls. Except that there's nothing much to shop in Miri.

The lobby is huge and looks grand. We were checked in promptly even though we arrived earlier. We were upgraded to Suite with sea view in the Main building. However, the corridor and the room do looks dated. Especially the colour of the carpet.

We had breakfast and dinner at the Zest restaurant. Variety is good and quality is fine.

The resort is not beach front but more of sea front. You don't really get a beach with sands in the resort. There's a lovely pool and it's rather crowded. Not sure if they are all hotel guests or simply the Fitness Club membership members. Often there isn't any sunbed available around the pool as all are occupied.

Overall, it's a nice place to have a short getaway.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at main building facing the pool if you prefer quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I am a regular patron of the Miri Marriott Resort and Spa, using it as a stopover point from Brunei when I have an early flight to catch the next day from the Miri airport. I have just come back from this hotel after a weekend getaway with some friends.
 
This is why I'll keep coming back to this establishment:
 
1. Excellent staff. EVERYONE is so warm and friendly. From the security guards, housekeepers and other hotel staff. They will greet you with a sincere smile every time they see you. Attentive and super helpful too.
 
2. Great rooms. Rooms are clean, large, good amenities, nice contemporary decor. The beds are so comfortable. Ask for extra feather pillows when you book.
 
3. Breakfast buffet. They have the usual suspects you'd find anywhere at a hotel buffet in Malaysia, i.e. rice, noodles, pastries, cereals, various meats, waffle and egg station, etc... Their Sarawak Laksa is very tasty and authentic. Apparently the lamb curry was also very good during our stay. What I love most about this breakfast buffet is their freshly squeezed juices. Unlike other hotels that provide boxed juices at the buffet, this one has an actual juicer so you can choose to mix fresh juices if you wanted to.
 
4. Security. I know Bruneians have their reservations about bringing their cars into Miri for fear of them getting stolen. However, I can quite confidently say that so far we have had no incidents(knock on wood), nor have we heard of any. Some of my colleagues recommend arranging with the hotel to able to leave their cars at the Marriott and take a taxi to the airport. This does come with a price, but it is reassuring to know that your car is being looked after. You can even ask the hotel staff to start your car engine from time to time too.
 
I did have some issues with this particular stay though. There was a slight hiccup during check in. I booked for 3 rooms, all with king sized beds. However, apparently in their system, it showed that I only booked 2 rooms with king sized beds and no preference stated for the 3rd room. Unfortunately they couldn't replace the room, as this is the school holiday season and the hotel was completely full up. Luckily, two of my friends didn't mind taking the room with 2 twin beds.
 
The room I was allocated to had a smell of stale cigarette smoke. My preference is usually for non-smoking rooms, solely because of the smell. If my request for a non-smoking room couldn't be fulfilled, I really wish they’d try and make the effort to make the room smell cleaner. The shower curtain also smelled of body odour… :s
 
I suppose this may all have been because of the high volume of guests that weekend, not enough time to thoroughly clean rooms etc.. I was denied late checkout due to the hotel being fully booked. Check out also took absolutely ages… I suggest introducing express check out, particularly during school holidays.
 
I have tried the spa on a previous visit – loved it. The swimming pool is also nice and huge, gets plenty of sun. But if you don’t like the sun, there’s also a large awning to shelter from it.

Room Tip: Room Tips: I personally prefer the rooms that aren’t in the main building because I like the direct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsker00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.9 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
2.0 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.4 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
1.9 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
3.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miri Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miri Marriott Resort & Spa

Property: Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
Address: | Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miri Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible sunsets, lush tropical gardens and soft breezes from the South China Sea await you at the Miri Marriott Resort & Spa. Award-winning 5-star Sarawak resort and one of the best resorts and hotels in Malaysia. Located near the city centre and airport, our resort features rooms with breathtaking views, broadband Internet (chargeable if not a Marriott Rewards member), luxury bedding and other choice amenities. Our top restaurant offers best international buffet and live entertainment at the lounge while our delicatessen is known for the finest breads and cakes. To relax and rejuvenate, visit our Mandara Spa or enjoy other recreational facilities including the fitness centre, Sarawak's largest free-form pool, and resort activities for all ages. Our 9 meeting venues include a Ballroom accommodating up to 600 guests. When planning a holiday, conference or honeymoon, there's no better choice than our Borneo resort near shopping, nightlife and national parks showcasing Sarawak's natural wonder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Miri Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miri Marriott Resort And Spa
Miri Marriott Hotel Miri
Marriott Miri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing