We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pool - kid friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I have stayed on three different occasions over the last three months. I love the pool. The beach isn't all that great to look at and full of sandflies. The sandfly bites are annoying. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are decent but not what I would call a 5 star hotel. Food and Drink are very expensive. To avoid the over priced costs of food we eat off site. They have an all right points club with discount pricing. Overall I do enjoy staying there.

Room Tip: Second floor poolside rooms are the best. The garden rooms are a fair way from the pool. The good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4375sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

300 - 306 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent two nights here as a part of out tour of Borneo. Very friendly staff, clean and good service, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Pool and bars were a perfect place to relax. The sea beoynd the pool never seemed inviting.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are vey quiet and acessable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikem0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Had a great night at the Marriot. Friendly staff, very good restaurant, decent coffee (hard to come by in this part of the world), awesome pool. All this and a great sleep.
Only downside is having to pay for internet access and (a strange one) a small part of the inside of the bathroom door had been kicked in/broken. Surely housekeeping has seen it yet nothing been done. Oh, and an aged toilet seat in a new bathroom...weird.

Room Tip: Avoid the west wing if you don't have kids. The noise from the kids pool can be a bit loud...al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Warning to anyone who thinks the pool looks great; sandflies are the problem. You will be eaten alive if you don't wear repellent. Completely ruined my stay and has left me scarred all over. In general food is poor and supplies at weekends always run low (no towels, watermelon etc), rooms are good but if you are in Chalet then bugs are a problem and staff are friendly but not very knowledgable (will just say yes when they don't know). This is a shame as the pool is amazing. As the only 5 star hotel in Miri they should be doing much better.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matcott_Tripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiriMarriott, Public Relations Manager at Miri Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Matcott_Tripsters,

Thank you for choosing Miri Marriott Resort & Spa on your recent visit to Miri as well as for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologise for the discomforts and the shortcomings. Rest assure we are taking actions to rectify them. The sandflies is a similar experience along most if not entire stretch of Miri's coastal line. We are continuously doing the best we could at the resort to contain this issue including disinfection spraying and raking of the sand surface regularly until we find a permanent solution.

The resort is nestled in a 20 acres lush garden with towering causarina trees may explain the presence of the tree bugs. But "should" you have refered to this as bed bug I'm sure it is not as our rooms are well maintained to the standard Marriott practice elsewhere and made daily. I could possibly think that the itch may be related to the sandflies earlier.

Have noted on the supplies to increase and the employees. For your info, we are refurbishing all the chalet rooms this mid year calendar with new setup, outlook in the rooms and modification in the washroom for an up to date concept. Completion will come in stages before we would look into giving the lobby area a new "facelift".

Nevertheless, we thank you for staying with us and would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the near future.

We treat all feedbacks as important, to inspire the team or to improve on areas in order to provide our guest with most pleasant and memorable experience.

Sincerely,
LIAN PASAN
PR & Communications Manager, Miri Marriott Resort and Spa
lian.pasan@marriotthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My first impressions of the Miri Marriott were not good. After a hot and sticky journey I found myself in a lobby that was almost as hot and sticky. When a glass of cooling water would have been welcome the only thing on offer was a sweet orange coloured liquid - awful. Things improved when we got to the bedroom which was clean and the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was also clean. However the bath was lethal. No rubber (or any other kind) of mat was provided for showering in the bath and the surface was extremely slippery., causing me to fall.
The catering was variable. The breakfasts were good although staff were sometimes slow to replenish empty plates. We enjoyed our drinks in the bar. Our first night was Valentine's Day - when we got to the restaurant we were told that our only option was the buffet at about 130 Ringitt plus taxes each. We decided to partake and were very disappointed. Some of the food was being kept warm under lamps and looked as if it had been there for some time. The staff were not anxious to help with any information. A bland and uninteresting meal. At different times we had room service and the meals both Western and Asian were OK.
The hotel is set in pleasant grounds and the swimming pool is good, although there are sudden unexpected changes in depth which is unnerving for a poor swimmer. We greatly enjoyed cocktails dangling our feet in the pool.
Service everywhere was adequate. There were the same dead cockroaches on the stairs to our room the whole time we were there.
I got the impression of a hotel which, I think, has little competition locally and has grown complacent, feeling that not much effort need be made.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marchhare83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiriMarriott, Director of Sales at Miri Marriott Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for choosing the Miri Marriott Resort & Spa on your recent visit to Miri and for taking the time to share your experience with us on the TripAdvisor.

We sincerely apologise for the shortcomings especially on the unavailability of the mat in the bathtub and we do feel for the discomfort. I had shared your review with our team here and with the actions taken to rectify.

We treat all feedback as important as it helps to inspire the team or to improve on some areas aimed at providing our guest with an excellent and memorable hotel experience. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Doris Chin
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Let me start by saying that I went to Miri on a one week R & R. I knew it was rainy/off season. I heard several of the guests during my stay complain about their stay, when the problem was the season, not the hotel. We found the hotel to be FABULOUS! The entire staff spoke English, and most worked amazingly hard to meet our every need. Our room was spacious and clean with a nice patio. We did have problem with mosquitos but tracked it to the floor drain in the bath. placing the rubber bathmat from the tub over the drain solved the problem completely. Our room was close to the restaurant with a lovely view of the pool. One day of our stay the children were horribly loud at the pool, and the hotel promptly offered to move us. in the end, we declined and were not sorry. That said, if you take a room at the end of a wing closest to the main building, be prepared for noise, as everyone in your wing has to walk past your door. And not all people are considerate of others' sleeping habits. If sleep is on your list - ask for a room further down the wing - closer to the water. BTW - we were told during our stay that many of the rooms are undergoing a refreshing - with some new furnishings, etc. Breakfast: our experience was if you wanted anything that was not on the buffet all you need to do is ask! And the fresh squeezed juices - magnificent!! We had snacks at the pool side area, and food the staff there just as charming, and the service was good. Dinner was bit of a disappointment - as we were craving more Americanized foods, and when I tried to order some, the (very) young waiter told me "I didn't want that". So we ate in town after that for dinner; the hotel recommends "Ming's" and I could not agree more. The spa was heavenly and we went all but one day of our stay. If you are into nature and some hiking the local preserves are great - and you should dedicate some time to that. All in all, a great stay with great staff - and we appreciated it from the bottom of our hearts!

Room Tip: Furthest from the main building are quieter, but you may get wet traversing the walk. Poolside has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grammy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Spent a long weekend here, expectations were higher than usual given this is a resort Marriott. Pool and garden surrounds are lovely. We were positioned furtherest from the main part of the hotel, therefore the quietest, perfect!
The service in the restaurant, Zest, was haphazard and needs some interpersonal and communications training, and no, it wasn't because the staff spoke a different language than myself.
The rooms were impeccably maintained, and the housekeeping staff friendly and professional, maybe they can train the Zest cafe staff?


Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MelM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.9 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
2.0 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
2.9 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miri Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miri Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: | Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miri Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible sunsets, lush tropical gardens and soft breezes from the South China Sea await you at the Miri Marriott Resort & Spa. Award-winning 5-star Sarawak resort and one of the best resorts and hotels in Malaysia. Located near the city centre and airport, our resort features rooms with breathtaking views, broadband Internet (chargeable if not a Marriott Rewards member), luxury bedding and other choice amenities. Our top restaurant offers best international buffet and live entertainment at the lounge while our delicatessen is known for the finest breads and cakes. To relax and rejuvenate, visit our Mandara Spa or enjoy other recreational facilities including the fitness centre, Sarawak's largest free-form pool, and resort activities for all ages. Our 9 meeting venues include a Ballroom accommodating up to 600 guests. When planning a holiday, conference or honeymoon, there's no better choice than our Borneo resort near shopping, nightlife and national parks showcasing Sarawak's natural wonder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miri Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miri Marriott Hotel Miri
Miri Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Miri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing