We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing 10 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miri Marriott Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were booked for a 10 day stay at this resort. We arrived around 2 pm on Sunday afternoon in Miri. During check in the girl at the reception desk told us she didn't had a room with a king size bed available and we were on our anniversary trip, we asked if we couldn't get another room the next day but she told us only on 21st of May so we were a little disappointed. We were taking to our room which was looking out on the garden and partly on the swimming since we were at a top floor. The room was fine but it had 2 separate beds, once in the room my husband tried to get internet connection but that was not possible so he went back to the reception desk and asked for the front office manager a very friendly gentlemen by the name of Roy helped my husband with the internet and he also told us that we could get a room with a king size bed the following day in the afternoon because they had some check outs. During our entire stay we kept in touch with Roy and he was very helpful with whatever we were planning to do or go and see. This was true Marriott service. So after unpacking not too much since the following day I was moving to another room. We went to the pool side where they have a bar/restaurant Matahari and had a late lunch then we went to sit by the pool until it was already getting dark and went late for dinner that night. On Monday after a very good night of sleep we woke up at 09.30 am with rain. That day was our 30th wedding anniversary, we had a long breakfast while it was still raining so we decided to go and explore the town. Roy told us we could take the shuttle bus till the mall, which we did we got back by taxi to the hotel in the afternoon when the rain had stopped we went to sit by the pool and have a late lunch at Matahari the wraps they served there were very good they had a selection of 3 different they were all good. The service at Matahari was always excellent the employees at the bar were very hard working and always with a smile.
Later in the afternoon we could move into a room with a king size bed that was located very near to the main building and close to the swimming pool the room was also on the top floor very nice and they had also filled the bathtub with bubbles and rose petals and made a decoration on the bed.

We got to know them very well and talked with them Esther and Krispen are just 2 to name but the entire team deserves credit they are an excellent team, true Marriott employees real teamplayers.
The swimming pool is amazing and very big which is very pleasant to swim especially for myself I usually swim 1 hour everyday, rain or sun that doesn't matter.

On Tuesday we were walking in the lobby when we met the GM a very nice man, Marcel he is from Germany. He asked us how everything was and he also invited us to have dinner one evening.

On Wednesday evening we had dinner with the GM in Zest the food was excellent and the service as well.

Since we were on vacation we don't have to get up that early we often went late for breakfast I would often take local food for breakfast which is nice and spicy which I like. The first week of our stay it was very quiet during the day time around the swimming pool which was for us a good time to relax. My husband would go 2 times per day to the gym and in the late afternoon we would walk on the walking trail around the grounds of the hotel very nice. On Wednesday we went with a taxi on a city tour and visit the oldest and newest Buddhist temple in Miri we also went to see the Grand Old lady and the museum of petroleum very interesting. We also visited a handicrafts market.
Often after dinner when we stayed in the hotel or near we would go a drink into the bar, where we asked the bartender to make a Negroni, he didn't know this cocktail so I told him the ingredients and he made it to perfection.

On Saturday we had booked a trip to go and see the waterfalls in one of the national parks about 1 hour drive from Miri called Lambir Hill Park we were the 2 of us and then there were 3 other people with us in the mini van. We walked through the rain forest and saw different water falls the last one was the biggest and it had a natural pool. Unfortunately just after we arrived and were still looking around to see fish or other creatures in the water it started to rain. Only the guide and 1 of the group went into the pool since we didn't know to bring a towel and swim wear that wasn't mentioned when we made the booking.
So we sat under a roof in the rain and had lunch there, it kept raining so eventually we had to walk back out in the rain. Once we were out it had stopped and the guide took us to another entrance to show us the national flower of Brunei which is a yellow flower and a plant which they call the monkey cup the plants looks like a cup so after the rain the cup is full with water so they can drink from it.

After that trip with the wet clothes, I went for massage which was very nice. That evening we had dinner in Zest again since we were too tired to go out.

On Sunday we had earlier breakfast then usual because we would go on another trip this time to Niah Caves which is in another national park further away from Miri about 110 km south west. This is worth to visit, we had to cross the river in order to get to the path that would lead us through the rain forest towards the caves. We saw 4 different kind of rainforest. The caves are famous for the birdsnests which are used for the famous birdsnest soup mainly in Chinese cuisine. Some of the caves are very dark so you can rent a lamp which you need to look where you walk some parts can be very slippery. We were lucky that day it was a dry and sunny day our guide kept hoping it would rain so we would be able to see more animals. We did see some very weird insects like a small full white spider which I had never seen before caterpillars in various colours, lots of bats inside the caves.
That evening we got back late it was already dark so we had dinner at Matahari with our entire group the same 3 people we had met the day before when we did the waterfalls. These people were in Miri for business not like us for pleasure but during the weekend they also don't have to work. After the weekend we had only 2 more days left and then we would continue to another country. On Wednesday we left in the afternoon our flight was only at 7.00 pm and were taken with VIP service to the airport by nobody less then our friend Roy the Front office manager. We regret we had to leave because we had a good time and got well taken care of.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

...out of the 3 I've stayed at. Good value, very clean, nice rooms, quality toiletries, lovely little touches. The pool is massive and plenty of quality sun-beds available. The staff were great, just little things like asking about our stay, liking my lipgloss and giving advise on my lip problem. The one thing letting the hotel down is additional prices. We didn't include the breakfast, it was too much when food in Miri is so cheap. Then the biggie - wifi. Not free and extortionately priced. Nice little 'thank you' biscuits on departure tho...after staying at another 2 different hotels in Miri, this was definitely the best. I would go back...I very rarely say that ;-)

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Foodslut2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Modern clean rooms in resort-like setting, large and well appointed. Excellent quiet AC, upscale bedding. Excellent breakfast buffet. Impressive pool area. Very helpful staff. Met lots of families and expats that stay here regularly. Spa prices in line with typical upscale resort so did not visit.

Some rooms can be quite far from lobby/restaurant.

Captured some great sunsets at seawall

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed again at the Marriott for my visit to Miri. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The pool is great, for a good relaxing swim after a day in the office (or sightseeing). The breakfast buffet had plenty of coice. My room was big enough and quiet. From the beach promenade we had beautiful views of sunsets over the South China Sea in the evenings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank w84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Marriott in Miri is a charming hotel, well-appointed, modern. The rooms are in a garden setting, making it feel less like a hotel and more resort-like. The pool is huge and very appealing. This hotel is about halfway between the airport and the city; however, the city centre is very unattractive, with no highlights. The hotel does provide a free shuttle to the city (and pickup) at designated times- ask the concierge. We stayed here as a 2 night stopover between Kuching and Mulu National Park, as part of a package that included a very interesting city tour to places we would not have realised in the city (the City Fan park & the beautiful Lian Hua San Ching Tien Taoist Temple which is in the suburbs, not city centre , as well as a day trip to Lambir Hills National Park, and an Iban longhouse. Our local guide pointed out the rather nondescript restaurant about 50m from the Marriott on the other side of the highway, by the roundabout- the food was REALLY good, and cheap, as was the Tiger beer & we ended up eating there three times! Breakfast at the Marriott was included in our accommodation and was good. Free wifi was adequate, but slow, as we have come to expect as the norm in Malaysian Borneo. The beach is nothing to rave about. I would definitely recommend this hotel for Miri. Our only negative was that the pillows were very hard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I love this hotel, i just dinner but really enjoyed with good food and happy tummy. Thanks for Marriott Miri. My 2 best friends who work with Marriott,keep fabulous ya... will back again to Miri...
Hope i have long holedah...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank AltafSAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Marriot Miri has become the only choice for our family trips when we drive across the border for that quick getaway. A Beach side resort with the largest pool in Miri. Perfect for kids, with a connected pool bar for the adults. Rooms are huge but do insist on those in the main building. The garden/poolside chalets are noticeably different, but that might be a personal preference for me. Food across restaurants are decent. And there is good security system entering into the premise.

Twice so far I have seen wedding ceremonies held by the beach (who doesn't like a romantic beach wedding?!). So you have an idea how well known the Marriot is locally.

Overall, as I said, it's the only choice. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Dexter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.9 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
2.0 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
2.1 mi away
Meritz Hotel
Meritz Hotel
#9 of 31 in Miri
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
2.9 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miri Marriott Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miri Marriott Resort & Spa

Address: | Jalan Temenggong Datuk Oyong Lawai, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range: £51 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miri Marriott Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Incredible sunsets, lush tropical gardens and soft breezes from the South China Sea await you at the Miri Marriott Resort & Spa. Award-winning 5-star Sarawak resort and one of the best resorts and hotels in Malaysia. Located near the city centre and airport, our resort features rooms with breathtaking views, broadband Internet (chargeable if not a Marriott Rewards member), luxury bedding and other choice amenities. Our top restaurant offers best international buffet and live entertainment at the lounge while our delicatessen is known for the finest breads and cakes. To relax and rejuvenate, visit our Mandara Spa or enjoy other recreational facilities including the fitness centre, Sarawak's largest free-form pool, and resort activities for all ages. Our 9 meeting venues include a Ballroom accommodating up to 600 guests. When planning a holiday, conference or honeymoon, there's no better choice than our Borneo resort near shopping, nightlife and national parks showcasing Sarawak's natural wonder. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Miri Marriott Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miri Marriott Hotel Miri
Miri Marriott Resort And Spa
Marriott Miri Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing