We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, overpriced and busy”
Review of Grand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palace Hotel
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Miri
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Average hotel, overpriced and busy”
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Average hotel conveniently located in the business district. Supermarket next door and few eateries withing walking distance. Outdated, average size rooms. Excellent service, staff are the best aspect of the hotel, always happy to see you. Average breakfast, with spread of Western and local options. Parking is a nightmare in the weekend as the hotel is crowded with people over for the weekend. There are weddings pretty much every weekend and the hotel is overcrowded. This takes away the hotel privacy, expect noisy nights most weekends. If staying in miri, cheaper, newer hotels located nearby.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Na33mB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    43
    32
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
8
9
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Hotel is located quite far from the city center. Definitely not a walking distance ~25 minutes.
There are a lot of weddings that take place in hotel so pool area or restaurants might be closed due to private party.
Pool area is rather poor. It's very small so if more than 10 people it gets really crowded.
Haven't tried the food at restaurants but breakfast were very good. Big range of food (European and Asian).

Do not exchange the money in the hotel as rates are veeeerrrrryyyy bad!!

For travelers with babies: hotel provides bedside cribs free of charge, bath mat in the tub and high chairs in the restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Varsovie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bintulu
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Clean and well furnished rooms, fantastic laundry services. Young vibrant and courteous staff and always ready to assist. Nice gym and small spool with natural setting. Hotel bar is not well manned. Nice Chinese restaurant.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Nwabugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We planned to stay at grand palace for a month due to my work schedule in Brunei and my wife didn't have a visa to get in Brunei so the nearest we can be is Miri, at a glance we chooses grand palace but unfortunately it wasn't as we expected, no smoking detectors in the room, no emergency exit route defined, the full floor was smelling cigarettes, as two of us booked for a month only one can have a breakfast but not two of us !

The rate was high compared to nearby hotels with more convenient choices, even you get an executive room with the same prices

We stayed one night and the next we urged to check out and move to another hotel

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahmoud M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miri hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ampang
Level Contributor
134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Location:
15 minutes from airport.
Surrounded by ktv centre, reflexology centre, chinese food joints. There are plenty of shops and there is a hypermart which closes at 10.
Saw only one halal restaurant but closes very early i.e. before 930. there is a mall nearby approx 2 minutes drive.
The area is quite dead after 7pm. So, where ever you go, make sure pack your food or eat sufficiently before going back to the office.
There is a 24 hours convenient store 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

Hotel:
Check in & out was fast.
Taxi available outside during the day, but may need to call at night as Miri is quite dead at night.
Deluxe room was spacious, can fit 10pax at a time.
Toilet with bathtub. Water pressure is reasonable.
TV channel is minimal.
View of the housing area nearby (depends on which room u get)
There is a halal restaurant at the lobby which closes at 12am but the price is quite expensive. however, the food was nice.
Breakfast is from 6am-10am. Breakfast range is basic but enough to start the day.

Sleeping quality:
Excellent.

Overall experience:
Satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazzerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
277 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Grand Palace Hotel is an economic hotel in Miri, with big room, even no so luxurious, but still with good standard. It is near Canadia Hill. One remind is if u need newspaper,you need inform concierge one day before

Room Tip: high room at main road side, you could see nice Canadian hill at early morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank white j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

I lived in Grand Palace for 5 months and I appreciated all the hotel services, such as laundry, in room dining, etc. Room was always impeccable and all the requests were promptly fulfilled. Atm is just across the road. Convenience store and cheap restaurants are just at the back of the hotel. The hotel is conveniently located close to few bars and clubs, but this represent also one the low sides: during week ends it is hard to find a parking, indeed the hotel doesn't provide fixed parking space for guests (at least in 2011). But if you are not in a hurry it is not a major issue. The Internet in the room was a bit slow at that time. However I had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TIB70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miri hotels
1.4 mi away
Imperial Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Kingwood Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#4 of 31 in Miri
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mega Hotel
Mega Hotel
#8 of 31 in Miri
178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pullman Miri Waterfront
1.1 mi away
ParkCity Everly Hotel Miri
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palace Hotel

Property: Grand Palace Hotel
Address: Grand Palace Hotel Grand Palace Hotel 2-Km. Jl. Miri-Pujut, Miri 98000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Miri District > Miri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Miri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing