We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Resorts World Kijal
Nearby Hotels
AL-Safina Kijal Beach Resort(Kijal)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kijalena Inn(Kijal)(Great Value!)
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
US$28
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$33
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Skyview Hotel(Kemaman District)
US$30
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cukai View Hotel(Kemaman District)
US$28
TripAdvisor
View Deal
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Club Med Cherating Beach(Cherating)
US$506
clubmed.us
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$32
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveller rating
39
119
119
45
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
39
119
119
45
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseprivate beachbig swimming poolturtle watchingthe east coastwater sportslocal foodpremier roomnasi lemakbeach activitiesbreakfast buffet isthe main attractionplay golfkids poolconnecting roomsadults and childrenbeach bistro
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 345 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2007

We stayed at the Timeshare - had 7 nights but only stayed 4.
Timeshare is seperate to Hotel - there are 4 appartment blocks, 3 of which are used for locals living there permanently and then one for the timeshare.
The room smelt musty, there was mould, the toilet leaked etc etc
The kitchen while partial did not even have tea towels or toaster - although we did manage to get tea towels from housekeeping.
There were these rules like - hang your washing outside and get FINED 100 ringits and our appartment looked out onto the residents who all hung their washing out. These other blocks had not been painted in years either. Room size was good.
Hotel large and flash, but too expensive. Good food at the shops at the gate, which is infact as close as the Hotel.
The beach was great, water incredibly warm and the swimming pool was excellent too (thank goodness).
This resort is also very isolated, we rented a car for 2 days and ran out of things to do.
If you just want to swim, sun bath and read well this could be you.
We have travelled extensively through Malaysia a couple of times now and would not return here. This is the only experience we have had that have felt like not good value. It is a waste of your timeshare allocation as good hotels with better location are cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank corokiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2007

True, the service is nothing special and the place looks like it needs a little upgrading, but there are just lots of things to do, really.The food is great (chinese is superb, the steak is alright but the buffet is terrible). The beach is clean compared to other beaches on the mainland (not east coast). The swimming pool is quite fun (if there are no kids conquering the play area) and the massage at the spa is so heavenly. I love the volcanic mud wrap..i feel sooo rejuvenated after the spa experience. We even went to a pasar malam nearby, went to kerteh, etc. Our room is quite spacious but the walls are quite thin (believe me!). It was a great experience but it could have been better if the staff were a tad courteous and friendly. But i definitely would come again because of the spa and delicious foods

  • Stayed: June 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetalingJayaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2007

Went during off season, the pool and amenities were all running but there was no atmosphere.

The rooms were clean but quite dated, needs a revamp.

There was only one restaurant opened. The bar was closed.

I would recommend to eat outside in once of the restaurants that are in walking distance, it is much cheaper.

The hotel rate is quite cheap at 230RM and there is alot of amenities during mid-high season. I guess it was just a bad time to go.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2006

This timeshare is a block of units associated with the resort. There are 5 levels of units no lifts or elevators, no ground floor units, all units start at 1st floor level there is only stairs, 2 flights per level. The let down was the kitchen, 2 element electric hotplate, 1 small electric jug, 1 pot, 1 frying pan. There was no microwave, no toaster, no cooking utensils and no tea towels. We realize that this was a partial kitchen, but I would expect at least these appliances, utensils, and tea towels.
No hot water over the hand basins or the kitchen sink.
Water was brown looking out of the taps, you have to run the taps for a while for the water to clear. The drinks and restaurant charges are expensive, as Malaysia goes. The resort (when we complained about the kitchen) expected you to use the restaurant, if the charges were more reasonable, we would have used these facilities, plus10% service charge.
Timeshare uses note that at the end of the driveway by the main road is a block of shops, with 4 restaurants plus KFC, and a minimart (groceries) a 3 min walk. The prices here are very reasonable. You definitely need a car to enjoy the area.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Kiwi Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2006

Me and my husband visited Awana Kijal Golf Resort 21-23 July 2006. It's a huge place with both hotelrooms and apartments. Lots of things to do, specially for children and there were a lot of families there. We had a premier room with a see view, quite ok and enough space but the doors to the toilet and bathroom were a bit odd. We do not golf so we have no idea about that but we do like to swim and since we don't have children the beach was perfect for us. The beach is quiet, white and long! We tried the chinese restaurant and it was ok, and we also tried the restaurant by the pool with western cuisine - we really liked the pizza! It's rated a 5-star hotel but we consider it more like 3-star +, it feels like a huge European tourist hotel. The service is ok but nothing special. The rooms are ok but not on the top. And no balcony facing the ocean. The coccroaches on the breakfast buffe (running around the food!) brings minus to the star rating.

Stayed: July 2006
4  Thank stina3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews