We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Resorts World Kijal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
208 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Decent Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stayed here for a week during a golf tournament that was played on the resort course. Overall the hotel is nice, with nice big rooms, very good dining options, a good golf course and a nice setting on the ocean. I would say that some areas of the hotel are in need of some upgrade but couldn't find anything major wrong. All in all it is decent value for money in this location!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    94
    108
    41
    21
See reviews for
102
38
12
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed here around two and a half years ago and since then with new name, new management and likely new owners it has gone down hill. The studio one bar was closed for renovation 2 1/2 years ago, guess what- it's still closed. what a waste of a good venue. I have been here for 6 days and the main restaurant has opened once for dinner only because there were large groups in the motel. So no groups = no restaurant open. I put in a maintenance request for change of a light bulb, this took 3 days to acknowledge. It caters very much for the Muslim guests i.e. no alcohol with meals, no pork meals etc. The bar is situated on the beach and serves only beer. no wine or spirits. The whole place needs a renovation to spruce it up a bit-very old and drab. Also lack of power points in rooms and no mini fridge available. On a positive, the food is good when available without walking 500-600 meters to get it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rswtrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kijal hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Pros:
Spacious room n toilet
Big swimming pool
High floor room with seaview is nice

Cons:
Smelly pillow
Smelly bed frame
Dirty bath tub (stain everywhere)
Dirty comforter (wit yellow n black spotssss)
Ants is all over the room

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daisy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

we went in december and it was a nice stay.
room was clean.
the swimming pool is good but some parts are dirty with dry leaves falling off from nearby trees.

the breakfast was really great.
overall a very great family retreat

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wan Hafizu W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

For this year we have decided to pick Resorts World Kijal for our year end holiday. A short trip offcity to Kijal, Trengganu. We hv booked from 27th - 29th Nov 2013. 3 days 2 nights. We arrived almost 1.30pm. It took us approximately 3.5 hours driving from KL. It was a relax journey. We had a quick check-in and the room was ready therefore we didn't wait. We took Deluxe room which cost us RM383 per nite and fit 6 of us. 2 adults and 4 children range frm 3 years old - 12 years old. The room quite spacious with extra pillow in the closet. Just to share, the resort has corporate rate for bankers and govt servant provided you bring your id as a proof. The wifi cost RM25 per day if you wish to get connected in your room.

The resort was nice with very helpful and friendly staff. The activities offered for golfers and also others like archery, bicyle and water sports. For kids, they will enjoy the pool, pinpong, kids area for drawing and craft and giant chess.

For food we had buffet breakfast. Kids will be charge RM25.90 and adults RM45++. The sambal sardin was nice and one of our favorite. The buffet offers variety of local food such as nasi dagang, roti canai to western such as omelette etc. Overall we did enjoy the food.

Since Kijal is nearby Kemasik, Kemaman and Kerteh we went for sight seeing. But nothing much being offered. Nearby is Kemasik beach. Local spot. It was nice scenary only thing was not taken care. It was rubbish everywhere. The nearest mall is Mesra Mall. It has major restaurant and fast food such as Secret Recipe, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Roti Boy, Big apple. The mall has bowling and TGV Cinema. Two nights in a row we went there to grab Big Apple. By 9pm the donuts is finished. We went to a jetty further up to Kerteh not far from Mc Donalds. There is a restaurant selling ikan bakar with very cheap price and delicious. We took 2 fried spicy stingrays cost us only rm35. Total we spent for 6 of us with 5 additional food, rice and drinks cost us RM80 only. Basically overall we do enjoy our stay at the resort with very nice beach, friendly staff.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kunangterbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Always wanted to try this place & finally did with my whole family. We stayed in the Premier Duplex. I think that's what its called, I think we had the rooms numbers 139, 141. The rooms were connected with 2 floors. Downstairs was the master bed room & upstairs we had 1 room plus 1 living room. Very nice & we even had our own Jacuzzi which our kids loved. Open up the back door & we could just walk to the beautiful beach. The swimming pool was huge & always had lifeguards on duty. The breakfast spread was impressive with lots a variety. I don't know if this is their standard spread & they added more items because of the big crowd due to the school holidays..if it is their normal breakfast spread, well done then. The housekeeping were very attentive & always with a smile..good job !!

Only 2 minor complaints was the during check out, we contacted the concierge to assist us with our luggage's but they did not show up. Me & my brother I law ended up carrying all our luggage's ourselves to our cars.

WIFI is only available at the Lobby. Its about RM25 for 24 hours but receptionist told me that the WIFI signal is strong only at the Lobby only but she could not guarantee the signal in our rooms. This has to be looked into by the management as WIFI is a must now in this day & age whether we like it or not.

Overall it was a good & relaxing stay & I must say this again, the beach was beautiful especially during sunrise. But the property needs some upgrading. Will come back again, but not so soon as it is a bit expensive, have to save up again like I did for this holiday !!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonFirdaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

About 10-15 years ago, the Resorts World Kijal Hotel (formerly the Awana Kijal Hotel) was a nice place to stay, but this hotel property has been neglected and is badly in need of a renovation. The rooms are dusty, musky, and damp. There are still old-fashion CRT tube television sets in the rooms, even the suites. As others have mentioned, the wifi internet signal is bad, especially for the $25/day. The food in the hotel restaurants is bland and overpriced, especially the steakhouse. It is too bad that there are few hotel choices in the Terengganu-area. You are better off staying in Kuantan and driving to areas in Terengganu.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasBuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kijal
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
20.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
16.1 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
11.4 mi away
Skyview Hotel
Skyview Hotel
#2 of 6 in Kemaman District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Kijal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Kijal

Property: Resorts World Kijal
Address: Jalan Kemaman-Dungun, Kijal 24100, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Kijal Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kemaman District > Kijal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Kijal 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on an East Coast adventure, and experience Malaysia’s heritage traditions that you would otherwise only seen and heard about. Immerse yourself with your family on a journey filled with exotic cuisines, historical architectures and the beautiful 7.6km stretch of white sand beach while being surrounded by the tranquil ambience away from the usual daily pressure of work. Make your family bonding fun and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts World Kijal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Kijal Hotel Kijal
Awana Hotel Kijal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing