We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Regulations NOT Customers Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Resorts World Kijal
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Kuantan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hotel Regulations NOT Customers Friendly”
Reviewed 17 November 2010

1. Room reservation is only within office hour. This causes inconvinience to the customer.
2. Cause trouble for family travelers consists of 5 persons. One room only for 4 persons. Is there any nursery available??

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelLoverKuantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    100
    110
    42
    22
See reviews for
107
38
12
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
KL
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I'd stayed here for 4-5 times and I'll always choose this hotel when I come here for business or leisure trips. You'll love this hotel once you enter the lobby. The front desk was efficient and I always get rooms with best view. My room was nice and comfortable and I love the washroom-living room window where I can lay down in the bathtub whilst watching tv.
The spa packages was reasonably attractive and highly recommended when you stay here especially after business trip. If you are bored and feel lonely, you can always go to their biggest swimming pool in Trengganu. Their staff were friendly and one of them even taught me how to swim! The jacuzzi was roofed and rarely used by other guests. So, you may enjoy the privacy moment there even during raining. Kids will surely love the landscapes and the beach. The prove is, many companies had their family days here.
The breakfast was okay and acceptable. You may go to Kijal town or Kemaman to enjoy great varieties of food and buy seafood products there.
Nothing that I dont like here, only I wished to stay here longer.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MccKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Its quite a large complex this place is, they have apartment and hotel rooms, a golf course and everything is just next to the South China sea. Check in was fast and courteous, at least 3 staff attending the checking in guest, and I checked into the room on the club floor on the right side of the main building.. right above Taman Sari spa and smack at the end of the room is a large bath tub next to that big bed. And I was thinking should I sleep in the tub or the bed tonite as both looks inviting :). Quite a sizeable room, I see it all clean with a firm bed, the only snag is there is no LCD tv.. small matter lah. Yes from the outside the building may need a coat of paint etc but I couldnt find fault in the room

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mat_asri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Rather sad cos Awana Kijal looks like it can be a fantastic hotel (big in size with a nice beach) however not sure if any effort at all on hotel maintenance. Hotel need a new coat of paint, room & furniture are outdated. In the swimming pool - tiles are uneven, water somewhat murky and kids slide are damaged (wear & tear). Breakfast is only 1 star for a 4 star hotel. Customer service, non-exist at all - no smiles, no hospitality.

Positive : - nice beach and room is clean.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarinAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2010

For our weekend getaway, my fiance and I initially wanted to chill out at Cherating Beach. Unfortunately, all the hotels were fully booked on a Saturday, and it doesn't make sense for us to check in one night, and check out on the next day. Some hotels like Holiday Villa, Eastern Pavillion and Legend Hotel Cherating are seriously overpriced... plus, they appeared very run-down.

The both of us decided to drive up further and we ended up at Awana Kijal. The hotel was huge and beautifully lighted up (we arrived and check-in at night). The first impression was already very good.

The room rates were reasonable too. RM300 for Deluxe room (you can opt for normal or seaview!) on weekdays, and RM330 on weekends (low peak season). The room was squeaky clean, king-sized bed, clean pillows, three layers of blankets/sheets, decent sea view (blocked by trees), fully equipped and modern looking bathroom facilities (looks very new too!).

The staffs were friendly and courteous.

The beach is decent too. We were both very surprised as we were the only ones at the beach most of the time. Definitely recommended to those who dislike overcrowded/commercialized beaches. Sand is clean, water is clean. We could even see fishes swimming around our feet.

Cycling by the beach is recommended for too (RM10 per hour), a nice side activity.

We didn't try out the swimming pool as it was crowded, plus it doesn't really look outstanding. So we didn't feel we missed out.

The area around Awana Kijal is rather dead though. It is recommended that you have a car (or rent a car or hire a driver/tour guide) as you may want to experience local culture/food, outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheauwuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Was with a 4x4 motorsport event which put the participants in Awana Kijal. Hotel is big(lobby, pool, beach, parking..etc) but shows its age and could do with a refurbishment otherwise acceptable and clean. Beach have nice fine sand and clean of litter. The undercurrent is strong so watch your kids when in the water. Nothing shouts for me to return but nothing bad for me to criticize as well. Personally I'd prefer Swiss Garden Hotel in Cherating which is 45 minutes drive further South. Cheers.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2adults2kidsonBudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

I've read a few of the reviews on here and one thing is for certain, this hotel has changed over the years. I first started viviting this part of Malaysia in 1997. This hotel is the only one of a decent size and quality in the area, so for my work, I have little other choice.
Due to management changes, changes in local governance etc. this hotel is now run under failry strict Islamic ideas. Hence no alcohol. You cannot get wine, spirits or beer in any of the eateries, only in a little club called Studio one. It doesn't open on Thursday nights (Friday is the Holy Day), they only have a choice of bottle lagers and they are around 25 - 30 RM per bottle (current eexchange is 4.9RM per 1GBP (£) at point of writing). The club is nearly always dead. Very quiet, apart from the resident singers, and empty of customers. Those that want a beer walk to the little bar run by a Thai gentleman by the name of Tan. Beer there is 10 RM per bottle and he does have spirits too. Alternatively, the two chinese restaurants on the corner of the little huddle of outlets also serve Tiger beer.
The hotel itself is bright, light and airy. Tis true that the roof leaks and reception is wide open to the elements. The rooms are situated in a U or V shape facing away from the beach with the expensive rooms having a sea view and LAN internet connections and the cheaper rooms having neither but a view of the carpark.
The reception area is one huge atrium with nothing above you but the roof beams over nine floors up!
The whole place needs a refurbishment. I don't think the rooms have been painted in all the times I've been here, but that being said it is clean.
I've never not been given two fresh bottles of water, even if I've only half used one. If it's not in the fridge, they replace it. Talking of which, there is no minibar facility. Coffee and tea, a fridge with two bottles of water, but that's it.
Laundry is promptly returned by 5pm the same day on the standard service. Shirts neatly repackaged as if new.
The beach is lovely, but not for swimming. Currents are too strong, but the hotel watersports does hire jet ski's and catamaran sailing boats.
Also quads and cycles are available. The quads are poorly maintained and usage is limited to a 1500m stretch of the beach. (you don't need more than 15mins to go up and down four or five times)
The breakfast buffet is great, but seating is overcrowded and as a single you may have to share a table in order to have breakfast when you want it, this week was a school holiday and the place was packed with families.

This hotel is ok. The people are friendly, staff courteous and polite. English is widely spoken throughout.
I come back as there is little option, but I'd holiday here if you did want a little beach sun without a beer!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJNSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kijal
18.5 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
107 reviews
20.4 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#33 of 43 in Kuantan
413 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Qamar Paka, Terengganu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
20.6 mi away
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
22.9 mi away
Ulek Beach Resort
Ulek Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Dungun
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Resorts World Kijal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Resorts World Kijal

Property: Resorts World Kijal
Address: Jalan Kemaman-Dungun, Kijal 24100, Malaysia (Formerly Awana Kijal Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Kemaman District > Kijal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kijal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Resorts World Kijal 4*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take your family on an East Coast adventure, and experience Malaysia’s heritage traditions that you would otherwise only seen and heard about. Immerse yourself with your family on a journey filled with exotic cuisines, historical architectures and the beautiful 7.6km stretch of white sand beach while being surrounded by the tranquil ambience away from the usual daily pressure of work. Make your family bonding fun and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Resorts World Kijal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Awana Kijal Hotel Kijal
Awana Hotel Kijal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing