We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love & hate feeling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pandan Laut Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 9 Marang B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What to love
- the beach - most of the time empty, peaceful, with trees whose shade you can go to if the sun is still up
- affordability - they even have rm50 triangular houses for backpackers like me; they provide toiletries, towels, kettle and 2 plastic cups of water daily
- nature - chalets were built with the trees, keeping with as much natural environment as possible; in the morning you'll be awaken by birds chirping
- spaces - chalets/houses are built apart from each other; this is a welcome relief as I had an experience of staying in a resort in Labuan where the rooms are side by side and I was awaken by my neighbor's "noises" in the middle of the night
- maintenance - the resort is +/- 5 years (if im not mistaken), but it is very well taken care of

What not to love
- the problem of ants in the cr, but they did remedy it with insect spray, resulting in dead ants everywhere but at least they no longer walk to my bed; the next day, they're gone
- no restaurant/breakfast available within the resort. A food stop nearby is open in daylight though;at night, the owner is kind enough to drive you to and from a good restaurant that's 5min away.

What to hate - the location! Since I arrived at night time, I had no choice but to take a taxi from airport to the resort at Rm75 (more expensive than the room I had). On my flight back, since it is still day time, buses are available (but at "no time", I would later learn from a local). Waited for more than 3 hours, but I ended up calling for a taxi in the end. So don't ever rely on the bus going to and from this place unless you have all the time in the world (and luck is on your side). Don't also believe if they'll say buses regularly ply the area - well they do, but no one knows what time.

Other than the location, everything else is superb. In retrospect though, maybe because of the location as well, it is a very nice place to relax and have some peace & quiet. But since I waited for more than 3 hours at the road side during lunch time, I'd hate it for now. :p

And oh, the snorkelling trip that they offer is basically arrangement with the ferry (plus snorkelling gears and drive to and from the ferry). Bring your own breakfast and lunch as the ferry that they arrange the trip with won't be docking some place where there's food you can buy. Usually the locals who go on the trip would bring food with them and have picnic in marine park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wAnderfOol27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

We love the resort beach-alike environment. The place is clean and well-maintained. The surrounding is very calm, quiet and relaxing. Besides, the room is nice and the staff is very helpful and friendly. To add, it is a good transit to Redang Island and other islands as well, even though you still need to drive to get to the jetty. There is no dining place but there are a few local restaurants nearby (around 3-minute drive). And if you don't have a transport to go out and eat, the staff is willing to go out and buy it for you! We saw a BBQ place and a cute triangle-shaped room meant for backpackers or couples under a low budget trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nur_HAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My family and I totally enjoyed our 2 nights stay at Pandan Laut run by a family of Wan's. Across a path was a beautiful stretch of beach. The chalets are well maintained and the grounds very clean. We would definitely go back there for another peaceful getaway, despite the distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tangotango_ss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zawwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Для продолжительного отдыха я бы брала улучшенный стандарт. Переночевать 1 ночь вполне годится домик...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ольга Ф
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die hinteren drei Bungalows haben Meerblick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bauernberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Светлана К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marang
0 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Marang
0 mi away
Grand Puteri Hotel
Grand Puteri Hotel
#8 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
89 reviews
0 mi away
Tanjong Jara Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Space Inn
The Space Inn
#9 of 34 in Kuala Terengganu
15 reviews
0 mi away
Gem Island Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Kapas Coral Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pandan Laut Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandan Laut Beach Resort

Address: Lot 390 Pantai Rhu Sepuluh, Marang 21010, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Marang
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Marang
Price Range: £13 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pandan Laut Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pandan Laut Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandan Laut Beach Resort Malaysia/Terengganu - Marang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing