We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pandan Laut Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$51
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Kapas Island Resort(Pulau Kapas)
US$33
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TY Hotel(Kuala Terengganu)(Great Value!)
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Permai Park Inn(Kuala Terengganu)
US$42
US$35
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prinzpark Terengganu(Kuala Terengganu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
5
9
9
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
9
9
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The hotel room I had was basic, clean, functional, and quite affordable, the grounds very basic, with a variety of accommodation options and room sizes for all budgets. The grounds are somewhat green and not particularly inspiring, but beyond the traffic running along the main road, you basically face the open South China Sea, the water being magnificently warm and shallow for some distance, with apparently little or no current, with miles of beach on both sides, and almost no one else to share it with. The access to the huge expanse of beach and gorgeous water is really the selling point here, even though it is almost desolate in its feeling.

I am not really sure how I ended up here, as the Padan Laut resort is in the middle of nowhere, and probably a great roadside getaway if you have a vehicle. However, if you don't have independent transportation, you should also consider the fact that the place has no restaurant, and beyond the nearby snack shop with limited hours, the nearest restaurants are some two to three kilometres away and only open in the evenings.The nearest village, Merang, from which boats to Pulau Redang depart, is some 10 or more kilometres away, so you wouldn't really use this as a place to overnight prior to heading to Redang. And walking along the highway at night is hardly advisable, given the testerone-fueled nature of local drivers - you are really taking your life in your hands!

There was no internet available in the time I was here, but after the ongoing debacle of lousy internet on the Perhentians, I stopped caring - just attribute it to the rustic charm of this half of the country.

As an aside, I am not really the kind of person to complain about seeing a few bugs in my room, but my room was literally swarming with ants, not that I woke up in the morning covered with ants, but the floor certainly was - and there was nowhere to put my things but the floor.

Room Tip: The resort has rooms for all budgets.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huitzilipoxtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

What to love
- the beach - most of the time empty, peaceful, with trees whose shade you can go to if the sun is still up
- affordability - they even have rm50 triangular houses for backpackers like me; they provide toiletries, towels, kettle and 2 plastic cups of water daily
- nature - chalets were built with the trees, keeping with as much natural environment as possible; in the morning you'll be awaken by birds chirping
- spaces - chalets/houses are built apart from each other; this is a welcome relief as I had an experience of staying in a resort in Labuan where the rooms are side by side and I was awaken by my neighbor's "noises" in the middle of the night
- maintenance - the resort is +/- 5 years (if im not mistaken), but it is very well taken care of

What not to love
- the problem of ants in the cr, but they did remedy it with insect spray, resulting in dead ants everywhere but at least they no longer walk to my bed; the next day, they're gone
- no restaurant/breakfast available within the resort. A food stop nearby is open in daylight though;at night, the owner is kind enough to drive you to and from a good restaurant that's 5min away.

What to hate - the location! Since I arrived at night time, I had no choice but to take a taxi from airport to the resort at Rm75 (more expensive than the room I had). On my flight back, since it is still day time, buses are available (but at "no time", I would later learn from a local). Waited for more than 3 hours, but I ended up calling for a taxi in the end. So don't ever rely on the bus going to and from this place unless you have all the time in the world (and luck is on your side). Don't also believe if they'll say buses regularly ply the area - well they do, but no one knows what time.

Other than the location, everything else is superb. In retrospect though, maybe because of the location as well, it is a very nice place to relax and have some peace & quiet. But since I waited for more than 3 hours at the road side during lunch time, I'd hate it for now. :p

And oh, the snorkelling trip that they offer is basically arrangement with the ferry (plus snorkelling gears and drive to and from the ferry). Bring your own breakfast and lunch as the ferry that they arrange the trip with won't be docking some place where there's food you can buy. Usually the locals who go on the trip would bring food with them and have picnic in marine park.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wAnderfOol27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We love the resort beach-alike environment. The place is clean and well-maintained. The surrounding is very calm, quiet and relaxing. Besides, the room is nice and the staff is very helpful and friendly. To add, it is a good transit to Redang Island and other islands as well, even though you still need to drive to get to the jetty. There is no dining place but there are a few local restaurants nearby (around 3-minute drive). And if you don't have a transport to go out and eat, the staff is willing to go out and buy it for you! We saw a BBQ place and a cute triangle-shaped room meant for backpackers or couples under a low budget trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nur_HAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My family and I totally enjoyed our 2 nights stay at Pandan Laut run by a family of Wan's. Across a path was a beautiful stretch of beach. The chalets are well maintained and the grounds very clean. We would definitely go back there for another peaceful getaway, despite the distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tangotango_ss2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews