We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, chilled, pretty”
Review of Kapas Beach Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapas Beach Chalet
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Came to Kapas after mental stay in Penhentians, and it was a welcome refuge to come to such a chilled island with such a relaxed vibe.

We were lucky to get rooms at KBC as we'd not booked in advance, and it's clearly a popular spot especially for those on a budget.

Room was basic but clean and most rooms have mosquito net and the fans manage to keep you cool enough to sleep. Bathroom facilities pretty basic, and lacking a sink to wash hands brush teeth properly.

Staff at KBC (there are SO many, dont really understand their system) are friendly and up for a chat, they are super chilled though so you can't be expecting anything too quickly (esp food at the restaurant), but that's the beauty of life on Kapas, need to get into the relaxed pace of life here and you'll fit right in.

Do stay at KBC, we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay by another night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

The great part about this resort is the atmosphere. The chalets are small, however they provide you with a decent amount of sleep. The area has been affected by the recent monsoon season, but you can still navigate around the islands paths. My overall stay here was good, and i would definitely recommend the omelets.

Room Tip: Book in advance, sometimes the island is busy, and therefore there is no rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Me and my bf walked in without any pre-booking due to our original stayed at Qimi were too terrible for us. It was really lucky and happy that we managed to get a clean room and bathroom without any bad smell here, although the room is without hitter and aircond,but still we managed to enjoy our short vacation using their facilities. Their service are good and the price is really reasonable and affordable for everyone. And i do really hope that in the future, they can improve their room facilities for those who prefer to stay with aircond and hitter, it will be a really perfect vacation with that improvement

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautiful island unfortunately infested by rude money seeking foreigners who are exceptionally rude to locals. I am very disappointed as we are all paying customers, Yes WE PAID, but we were so annoyed by the unfair treatment. You've pretty much ruined the day for all 8 pax of us. By the way, the restaurant cleanliness sucks, the food came out 1 hour late and no apologies whatsoever. Horrendous.
Don't bother staying here. There are plenty of better friendlier nicer resort in short walking distance with better people and service.
Will never come back here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jTwT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

This is the place to chill out on Kapas. Contrary to other reviews we actually found the staff very cheerful and friendly. The food does take ages to arrive but is pretty good, the chili fish being the best choice. It's also the only place we could find with beer.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank WSRevilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Although the huts can be cleaner, the place cannot be more relaxing. It's in the same Kapas beach. You open the door of your bungalow and you see the garden and the beach.

They usually have long term guests who live in the KBC.

There's a lounge room in the top floor of the reception with hammocks where you can spend the afternoon listening to music or reading your book.

The restaurant is expensive but they have a very good menu. Great salads!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hiworld_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Been there recently and have to agree to some reviews.
See reviews titled:
“Chalet - basic but charming, Restaurant - get better staff”
“KBC/Kapas Beach Chalet - Not the restaurant........”

The restaurant food is ok but slow. No comment about local staff working in the kitchen.
But the European lady wearing spectacles who interfaces with customer (serves and collects payment), kind like serving in a rather strange attitude.

Advice to management of KBC restaurant:-
Travel worker or not, before placing any of them to become the 'face' of restaurant, basic servicing standard should be communicated. Hope KBC restaurant could do better next time round

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank raymondmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marang
0.0 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Marang
0.0 mi away
Kapas Coral Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Gem Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#3 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
660 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapas Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapas Beach Chalet

Address: Lot 85 Pulau Kapas, Marang 21600, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Marang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Marang
Price Range: £4 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KBC is a laid back and simple place with a collection of wooden bungalows laid out along the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapas Beach Chalet Hotel Marang
Kapas Beach Chalet Malaysia/Terengganu - Marang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing