We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you need on a beautiful island”
Review of Kapas Beach Chalet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marang
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kapas Beach Chalet
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean little wooden huts facing a pretty garden with view of the sea at a very reasonable rate. Contrary to other reviews, our room has a sink and a fan.

There are deck chairs and lots of nice spaces to lounge. Good music all day from a good restaurant with alcohol and fresh food. The entire space has been decorated, a lot of love has gone into this place and it creates a nice atmosphere.

All the staff are very friendly with a mixed crew of locals and foreigners. They were all especially nice to our little boy.

There's opportunities to kayak, walk and good snorkelling.

It's super easy to get to, you can fly to Terengganu, get a 30min taxi to marang and a 15min boat ride to paradise.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank HaanimBamadhaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

KBC is the ideal place to chill out, I stayed 5 nights in a dorm (a bungalow with 5 beds with mosquito nets and fan), you have everything you need for a real good price, they lend mask for snorkeling, very friendly staff, good restaurant, kayak to rent, hamacs, long chair, beach volley playground, library ...
You just have to stay there...your feet in the sand, the snorkeling spots are close (turtle on the left and sharks on the right), you can do a little jungle walk as well, take a sunbath or swim in the clear water...it's up to you!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas82000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We arrived in Kapas a little worse for wear after a few days on the Perhentians - Kapas and KBC was exactly what we needed. I think this is the most chilled out place I have been.

We stayed in the basic 40RM fan room which were indeed basic but certainly value for money and clean. All the staff were friendly (there appeared to be a lot!) and the grounds were maintained immaculately.

The attached restaurant was great too. Good food, friendly service, chilled out tunes in the day and plenty of board games.

I definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoelikestotravelUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Came to Kapas after mental stay in Penhentians, and it was a welcome refuge to come to such a chilled island with such a relaxed vibe.

We were lucky to get rooms at KBC as we'd not booked in advance, and it's clearly a popular spot especially for those on a budget.

Room was basic but clean and most rooms have mosquito net and the fans manage to keep you cool enough to sleep. Bathroom facilities pretty basic, and lacking a sink to wash hands brush teeth properly.

Staff at KBC (there are SO many, dont really understand their system) are friendly and up for a chat, they are super chilled though so you can't be expecting anything too quickly (esp food at the restaurant), but that's the beauty of life on Kapas, need to get into the relaxed pace of life here and you'll fit right in.

Do stay at KBC, we enjoyed it so much we extended our stay by another night.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The great part about this resort is the atmosphere. The chalets are small, however they provide you with a decent amount of sleep. The area has been affected by the recent monsoon season, but you can still navigate around the islands paths. My overall stay here was good, and i would definitely recommend the omelets.

Room Tip: Book in advance, sometimes the island is busy, and therefore there is no rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie2k13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Me and my bf walked in without any pre-booking due to our original stayed at Qimi were too terrible for us. It was really lucky and happy that we managed to get a clean room and bathroom without any bad smell here, although the room is without hitter and aircond,but still we managed to enjoy our short vacation using their facilities. Their service are good and the price is really reasonable and affordable for everyone. And i do really hope that in the future, they can improve their room facilities for those who prefer to stay with aircond and hitter, it will be a really perfect vacation with that improvement

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautiful island unfortunately infested by rude money seeking foreigners who are exceptionally rude to locals. I am very disappointed as we are all paying customers, Yes WE PAID, but we were so annoyed by the unfair treatment. You've pretty much ruined the day for all 8 pax of us. By the way, the restaurant cleanliness sucks, the food came out 1 hour late and no apologies whatsoever. Horrendous.
Don't bother staying here. There are plenty of better friendlier nicer resort in short walking distance with better people and service.
Will never come back here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jTwT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marang
4 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Marang
11.7 mi away
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
Felda Residence Kuala Terengganu
#2 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kapas Coral Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Gem Island Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Pandan Laut Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapas Beach Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapas Beach Chalet

Address: Lot 85 Pulau Kapas, Marang 21600, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Marang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Marang
Price Range: £4 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The KBC is a laid back and simple place with a collection of wooden bungalows laid out along the beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kapas Beach Chalet Hotel Marang
Kapas Beach Chalet Malaysia/Terengganu - Marang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing