We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise or hell”
Review of Qimi Chalet

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pulau Kapas
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Qimi Chalet
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Reviewed 17 June 2013

If you don´t like to have a beach on your own, your feet tucked in the warm sand while waiting for the homemade dinner to be ready and quiet surroundings, then you should go somewhere else.
This is truly the best place I´ve been to during my 20 years of traveling in Malaysia. For me and my family this is paradise, the place we dream of and always wants to go back to. The house Bougainvilla is our favorite, with the jungle at the back and the beach at the front. The bathrooms are open, so a lizard took our toothpaste and that gave us hips of funny stories to tell. Our 10 year old daughter fell in love with the place. The homemade cooking is worth waiting for, it can take an hour, but it´s one of the tastiest in the country. Always take the catch of the day and you will never want to eat somewhere else. Their Tom Yun Goong soup is excellent. 15 min stroll north and you can find your own beach, 5 min stroll south and you will have crowds on friday and saturdays. Best time to go is April to October. Yes, the pillows can be a bit cheezy but Rose promised to fix that, and there is really nothing to do and nothing to buy. If you like action, noises, drinking and shopping - stay away.
Qimi have their own beach and their own coral reef and we saw black fin sharks everyday, octupuses and loads of colorful fishes.
Just pure relaxation, and we loved every minute. We booked three nights but stayed more than a week. Sip a Chocolat Ice it while looking at the sun set, listening to the waves and feeling just perfect, doing nothing.

Room Tip: Ask for a tree house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElisabethAkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

A boyhood dream has always been to sleep in a treehouse. This is that and so much more. It's novel to sit out on the balcony of your tree house chalet and look down on the beach and everything that's going on around you. By far the staff are the friendliest I've encountered on the island. Very welcoming with some good banter! Only issues would be the sink in the bathroom, leaky! But overall very good!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Japers201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Last week, my friends and I went to Pulau Kapas and stayed in Qimi Chalet. Our initial plan was to stay there for 4 days 3 nights to relax and enjoy the nature. Unfortunately, things were bad since at the beginning. We waited for the boat transfer at Marang Jetty for more than an hour as the boatman was too busy running some errands at the jetty area. And then, when he finally ready to take us, a total of 10 adults with 3 children were all cramped into the boat. There was not enough life jackets for all too. From my experience, this kind of boat usually can accommodate only up to 8 adults and its a rule that all passengers must wear a life jacket. We were lucky to arrive safely despite the water was quite choppy that day.

When we arrived at the chalet, we were welcomed by a very dirty. The floor and bed sheet looked like it has never been cleaned for ages! They did not even provide us with any blanket.
Never mind,we decided to borrow a broom and cleaned the room by ourselves.

Lo and behold for what is coming. On our first night staying in the room, one of my friend were actually bitten by a huge centipede while sleeping! We quickly called the owner of the chalet and informed her about the incident. We were hoping for some first aid treatment for my poor friend who was so in pain. One of the worker came to our room to check on us and killed the centipede. The owner too came to check on us but not offering any helps. We fully understood that it was 2.30am and was raining heavily outside. So we can't travel to the mainland immediately to send my friend for proper medical attention. But what really disappoint us was, no first-aid treatment was given to my poor friend. The owner even told us that it's nothing biggie and we were all over reacting. I think there is valid reason to why we were so panic as some people could die due to the allergy caused by the centipede's venom. How could we not worry with the zero medical attention given? We also totally understood that there's a risk of insects coming into the room for the fact that we were staying in a chalet which is so closed to a jungle. But where is their first aid and medical care knowledge?

Since there's nothing that we can do at that time, we just waited for morning to come while packing our belongings. We can't wait to get out from this place. It was the longest night ever, as we were so worried about my friend who was in agony of pain.

Finally morning came and to add on to our disappointment, the owner did not even bother to arrange for an emergency boat transfer for us, to send my friend to the hospital. Instead, we have to wait for the normal scheduled boat. So there goes waiting again and we were too tired to argue at that time. Once again, we were all cramped into a boat again. Its about 10-11 adults with 3 children this time with no life jacket was offer. We shared the boat with a family from Australia and they were telling us that they saw a snake in their room's toilet! Goodness!

When arrived at the jetty, all of us went to ask around on where is the nearest hospital and clinic available. Luckily there are some kind-hearted people who helped us to call for a taxi and brought us to a clinic. Thanks God that my friend is alright! We were considered lucky as things could be worst.

For me, as an active and outdoor person really despised the lack of safety measures provided by the chalet owner. This is absolutely the most horrible holiday experience i had so far. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank darleneliew2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Qimi Chalet ids very well located on Kapas Island, on and near to calm and beautifull beaches.
Of course, rooms are not offering confort of a huge resort, but the small chalet in the wood are very confortable.
The service is great and the food is delicious, probably the best on Kapas Island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Radomir D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We were recommended to go to Qimi Chalet and we absolutely loved it. Rose and Nolly couldn't have looked after us better, so if you want an away from it all experience to de-stress, Qimi and Kapas won't disappoint. The rooms at Qimi are all different, they are not cheap, so when you book try to ask Rose to show you a photo of what the room is like and where it is situated so that you get what you want, but book ahead!. Some rooms are up a small number of steps in the trees just set back from the beach and are great for seclusion and views but others are almost in the sea! We had our fresh brewed morning coffee on the verandah and were very happy just sitting amongst the foliage admiring the view! The welcome at Qimi is second to none, and if you fancy a bit of a boat trip, Nolly may be happy to oblige. We went across to the little island adjacent to Kapas (forgotten the name), the one with only a resort on it, and were so glad to have stayed on Kapas main island where can visit other beaches and have fantastic walks. There are a couple of other places for chilled out food and drinks a stone's throw from Qimi. Kapas is one of my most favourite islands. You arrive by small boat from the mainland and alight on a small set of step - classic! Note to hardy boat travellers .. always wear your life jacket, the sea can be lively! Thanks to Nolly and Rose for making us so at home, and Rose what a beautiful hostess you are. As if that wasn't enough all your Malaysian food is just fantastic - the best we had on our tour of 4 islands! Thanks and see you again sometime. Vicky & Becky (March 2012) ..bit late I know! x

Room Tip: All rooms have different characteristics, so do your research if you want a particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank likesblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed there for 4 nights early July. We took the small Bamboo chalet which was ok for us since we don't need loads of space nor aircon. The room was clean and cosy. The resort is nice with a nice environement. The staff was helpfull and nice. We even received a fresh juice uppon arrival! The food is also very good. Bathroom was ok for the type of chalet we took (you don't have to expect hilton style on a tropical island).
On the negative side we experienced some issues with the bad smells on the terrace in the evening. The chalet was not cleaned once in the 4 days. Last point: there are also a lot of mosquitos in the area so bring good repelant when you go there!
PS: Snorkeling is great on Kapas!

Room Tip: There are some huge steps to take in order to go to the big cottages. If you don't like that cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank spoutnik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erry82, Manager at Qimi Chalet, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Tq for your comment... we already solve that bed problem. We already by new bed for that room.. Hope u can came 2 stay with us again.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

I wouldn't reccommend this resort to my worst enemy....!!!!! If I could stop one person staying there this review will be worth it....
Cons..
1. Shower stand by pipe in the ceiling with rusty dribble.
2. Had to clean the toilet myself as it stank so much -as made you want to vomit
3. Pillows were all mouldy and bed sheets grimey
4. Steps really steep with no hand rail...ok if you are a mountaineer
5. Laundry....left with it all wet and smelly and had to put into proper laundry
6. No toilet roll, smelly towels, only one socket and one light bulb
7. Loads of Mosquitos.
8. Food nothing special and service slow
9. cess pit smells so you can smell it while eating dinner.
10. Sink in first room, just leaked all over your feet.
11. Woodworm, so could fall through the floor probably at one point.
12. Very expensive compared to other resorts.

Pros...lovely din, Hannah and the cats

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank samanthafreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Kapas
0 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Marang
0 mi away
Hotel K.T. Mutiara
Hotel K.T. Mutiara
#18 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
19 reviews
0 mi away
Gem Island Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kapas Coral Beach Resort
0 mi away
Tanjong Jara Resort
0 mi away
Intan Beach Resort Sdn Bhd
Intan Beach Resort Sdn Bhd
#13 of 46 in Kuala Terengganu
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qimi Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qimi Chalet

Address: Qimi Chalet Marang, Pulau Kapas 42940, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Kapas
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Price Range: £22 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome all to qimi chalet. We treat you as our family... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Qimi Chalet Hotel Pulau Kapas
Qimi Chalet Pulau Kapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing