We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kapas Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$31
Priceline
View Deal
  • Restaurant
TY Hotel(Kuala Terengganu)(Great Value!)
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Permai Park Inn(Kuala Terengganu)
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prinzpark Terengganu(Kuala Terengganu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
3
5
15
12
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
5
15
12
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate islandnew managementbasic amenitieslocalstranquilitystate
Filter
Updating list...
50 - 55 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Went here for 2nts which was too long already! With hubby and group of friends. We all stayed in deluxe sea view rooms - where you couldn't see any sea!
The beach is beautiful, untouched, golden sand and blue sea all that you'd hope for, but the accomodation was really terrible!

The shower room was the worst ever! The toilet didn't flush, water wouldn't go down the sink, shower only let our slow drips of water and it was dirty and smelly which is horrible considering the temperature was so hot!!! The air con didn't work at first we had to complain and then someone came to look at it. Swimming pool was green! The food was Ok, but there is nothing to do here so pretty boring.

Go to another resort!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hapyydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I just came back from this resort 1 hour ago. Went there for a short vacation for birthday celebration 2D/1N package by NH travel&tours. Truthfully, i was quite scared and worried after i have read some negative reviews from trip advisor. Surprisingly it was not that bad.

Positive:
- The food was excellent (maybe after so many people before complained). I was so surprised!!! The taste was like a 5-star resort. I think the best food i've ever tasted in an island before especially the lunch. at night, we had fresh seafood bbq.Congrats to the kitchen staffs for such excellent job.
- the snorkeling trip was fun and the instructor gave us plenty of time to explore.
- the swimming pool was clean and great for a quick swim after playing in the salt water.
- enough facilities for many activities can be done there.
- nice, new and fully functioning air-cond.
- mosquitoes-free
- brand new heating water kettle

Things should be improved:
- the staffs should have been more FRIENDLY, FUNCTIONAL AND APPROACHABLE. They should be given formal training in handling the customers. VERY LOW QUALITY OF SERVICE. almost ruin our holiday.
- the cleanliness in the standard room esp: room 204 should be improved. the toilet was almost disgusting to look at and to use. The wall need a serious paint job. it has mouldy print at the corner of the room. We can forgive the bad condition of the tv because we dont really need a tv anyway.


In conclusion, i do not recommend people to have a long vacation here. you might feel a little bit bored because the scenery and fish were not as nice as in neighboring islands such as redang islang or perhentian island and lang tengah island. It is great for a short holiday because you save a lot money here.

hopefully, the staffs can be more accommodating and friendly next time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dilla0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We were surprised to see this resort was still operating! We visited this place in oh...1995..when it was fairly new. Nothing has changed. Back then there was electricity only for two periods during the day, the chalets were extremely basic, we were told our air-con chalet was unavailable: they only has 2 back then. When we complained they asked how we had booked the chalets. We replied 'through a travel agent'--and he said they did not accept bookings for ac rooms other than direct to the hotel. Amazing.

We managed to transfer the next day to the Primula hotel in Trengganu which was better but the beach was off limits due to pollution and a strong undertow: it's a man-made beach!

A day trip to Primula resort's Lake Kenyir property showed the company's utter disregard for its clients. Again, electricity was only available for part of the day and the restaurant faced the wall of the dam rather than a view of the lake. And once you were at the resort, which is in the middle of the lake, you were pretty much trapped.

How can these people still be operating ? [And yes, I've been holding on to this for along time...glad to get it out of my system :))]

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C00KSonTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2009

DO NOT COME HERE UNLESS IN EXTREME POVERTY!! This place totally spoiled my vacation!The swimming pool was looked like hadnt been cleaned for weeks..the water was green which reminded me of sewage water.The food and rooms were equally horrible.'The food in an orpanage would taste better.The air con didnt function properly,and we had to walk all the way back to the reception twice just to get someone to fix it.There's no phone,heater,room service,shampoo.The extra mattresses we asked for were filthy.The reception counter is just an old desk and a plastic chair and there's usually no one there.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hotelcritic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

A well known travel guide describes Kapas Island resort as the best option, however take no notice, it is dated, dirty and unkept.

First off rubbish sacks are piled along the beach close to the jetty, next , a line of wheelie bins greets you as you enter the Kapas Island Resort, OK rubbish has to go somewhere but so close to the the restaurant ? The bins smell of vomit.

We had booked a deluxe chalet (that was all that was offered). The toilet didn’t flush, broken pipe work was on top of the cistern. Litter could be seen around the perimeter of the chalet and behind.

We left shortly after we arrived - we did get our money back without any problem.

This resort does not offer good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mags064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews