We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T GOOOO!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kapas Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DON'T GOOOO!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Went here for 2nts which was too long already! With hubby and group of friends. We all stayed in deluxe sea view rooms - where you couldn't see any sea!
The beach is beautiful, untouched, golden sand and blue sea all that you'd hope for, but the accomodation was really terrible!

The shower room was the worst ever! The toilet didn't flush, water wouldn't go down the sink, shower only let our slow drips of water and it was dirty and smelly which is horrible considering the temperature was so hot!!! The air con didn't work at first we had to complain and then someone came to look at it. Swimming pool was green! The food was Ok, but there is nothing to do here so pretty boring.

Go to another resort!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hapyydays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    15
    12
    45
See reviews for
23
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kuala terengganu
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I just came back from this resort 1 hour ago. Went there for a short vacation for birthday celebration 2D/1N package by NH travel&tours. Truthfully, i was quite scared and worried after i have read some negative reviews from trip advisor. Surprisingly it was not that bad.

Positive:
- The food was excellent (maybe after so many people before complained). I was so surprised!!! The taste was like a 5-star resort. I think the best food i've ever tasted in an island before especially the lunch. at night, we had fresh seafood bbq.Congrats to the kitchen staffs for such excellent job.
- the snorkeling trip was fun and the instructor gave us plenty of time to explore.
- the swimming pool was clean and great for a quick swim after playing in the salt water.
- enough facilities for many activities can be done there.
- nice, new and fully functioning air-cond.
- mosquitoes-free
- brand new heating water kettle

Things should be improved:
- the staffs should have been more FRIENDLY, FUNCTIONAL AND APPROACHABLE. They should be given formal training in handling the customers. VERY LOW QUALITY OF SERVICE. almost ruin our holiday.
- the cleanliness in the standard room esp: room 204 should be improved. the toilet was almost disgusting to look at and to use. The wall need a serious paint job. it has mouldy print at the corner of the room. We can forgive the bad condition of the tv because we dont really need a tv anyway.


In conclusion, i do not recommend people to have a long vacation here. you might feel a little bit bored because the scenery and fish were not as nice as in neighboring islands such as redang islang or perhentian island and lang tengah island. It is great for a short holiday because you save a lot money here.

hopefully, the staffs can be more accommodating and friendly next time!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilla0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2010

We were surprised to see this resort was still operating! We visited this place in oh...1995..when it was fairly new. Nothing has changed. Back then there was electricity only for two periods during the day, the chalets were extremely basic, we were told our air-con chalet was unavailable: they only has 2 back then. When we complained they asked how we had booked the chalets. We replied 'through a travel agent'--and he said they did not accept bookings for ac rooms other than direct to the hotel. Amazing.

We managed to transfer the next day to the Primula hotel in Trengganu which was better but the beach was off limits due to pollution and a strong undertow: it's a man-made beach!

A day trip to Primula resort's Lake Kenyir property showed the company's utter disregard for its clients. Again, electricity was only available for part of the day and the restaurant faced the wall of the dam rather than a view of the lake. And once you were at the resort, which is in the middle of the lake, you were pretty much trapped.

How can these people still be operating ? [And yes, I've been holding on to this for along time...glad to get it out of my system :))]

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C00KSonTOUR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2009

DO NOT COME HERE UNLESS IN EXTREME POVERTY!! This place totally spoiled my vacation!The swimming pool was looked like hadnt been cleaned for weeks..the water was green which reminded me of sewage water.The food and rooms were equally horrible.'The food in an orpanage would taste better.The air con didnt function properly,and we had to walk all the way back to the reception twice just to get someone to fix it.There's no phone,heater,room service,shampoo.The extra mattresses we asked for were filthy.The reception counter is just an old desk and a plastic chair and there's usually no one there.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelcritic49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

A well known travel guide describes Kapas Island resort as the best option, however take no notice, it is dated, dirty and unkept.

First off rubbish sacks are piled along the beach close to the jetty, next , a line of wheelie bins greets you as you enter the Kapas Island Resort, OK rubbish has to go somewhere but so close to the the restaurant ? The bins smell of vomit.

We had booked a deluxe chalet (that was all that was offered). The toilet didn’t flush, broken pipe work was on top of the cistern. Litter could be seen around the perimeter of the chalet and behind.

We left shortly after we arrived - we did get our money back without any problem.

This resort does not offer good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mags064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I visited this 'resort' with 10 friends. It was a long weekend (Merdaka Day) and also during Ramadan. However, the resort was quite busy with various Chinese Malay tour groups.

We paid MYR80 for triple rooms - 'Deluxe Garden View'. These rooms had a/c (which worked very well), a fridge, kettle, cod shower, reasonable sized balcony and t.v. (with 2 channels!). Various things needed sorting (a/c, fridges not working) and our kettle had bug larvae in.

Basically the resort hasn't been maintained very well- which isn't unusual. But for the price and location charm, these little issues didn't spoil the stay. However, the 'brochure' price was MYR240 and we would have been more than a little annoyed.

There is a basic restaurant, a pool, a large screen and karaoke on site. There is a jungle trek starting from the rear of the resort.

However the beaches are the main draw here. Snorkling is pretty good. There are several bays becoming more remote the further away from the main jetty. There are a couple of places to stay with restaurants on the bay next to the 'main' one.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinaRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.K
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We booked a de-luxe sea view room at this resort, and was very excited at the thought of spending a couple of nights on the idylic island with a good standard of accommodation...we were in for a shock!!!
The room must have been classed as de-luxe cos it had a kettle and A/C. The bedroom was basic (which I don't mind) but the bathroom!!! No hot water, the sink was unsafe (moved if you touched it), back of the door (metal cover) was hung off with sharp edges stuck out and the toilet and floor were dirty. Oh and someone had left their flip-flops in there. However, we could see the sea...if when stood on the balcony you looked to the left, you could catch a flimpse of the sea.
A swift return to reception to complain, whereby we were shown another room...which was no better. The manager instructed housekeeping to clean the room again, whilst we went to the gorgeous beach. Don't be fooled by the luxury of the very small pool - it looks dirty and you cannot even sunbathe around it, cos their aren't any sunbeds/chairs - which is exactly the same at the beach!
The food isn't very good either, we had a walk up the beach to Qimi chalets for food/drinks and also went to Turtle Valley for some excellent food.
We decided to stick it out at this resort, mainly due to only being there for two nights. An observation made when we was leaving (Saturday), was that the place went into overdrive...cleaners and gardeners were everywhere!! Maybe this was due to an expectant arrival of daytrippers?!
Beautiful deserted beaches and a very short boat trip from mainland, but this resort is a Dump!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank UK-jenster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Kapas
11.0 mi away
Hotel Seri Malaysia Marang
1.2 mi away
Duyong Marina & Resort
Duyong Marina & Resort
#12 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sumai Hotel Apartment
Sumai Hotel Apartment
#20 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
J Suites Hotel
J Suites Hotel
#11 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental
Hotel Grand Continental
#17 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Primula Beach Hotel
Primula Beach Hotel
#24 of 35 in Kuala Terengganu
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapas Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapas Island Resort

Property: Kapas Island Resort
Address: Pulau Kapas 20000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Kapas
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pulau Kapas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapas Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Kapas Island Hotel Pulau Kapas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing