We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most beautiful, paradise location and a well laid out resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Perhentian Island Resort
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Bear in mind that this used to be a back-packers island and is fairly basic, so this resort is fairly well appointed in comparison to others we saw. All the resorts can only be reached by quite open high-speed boats and the ride can be choppy. This resort has its own jetty, We took a beach front chalet which was comfortable and had everything we needed, including good airconditioning. For us, this was the best location on the island. We went for the all-inclusive package, the restaurant food was poor on the first day but improved considerably on the 2nd and 3rd days. The Breakfast buffet was fine, though. No alcohol here, but that is quite common in this part of Malaysia. We took our own wine to the restaurant. If you take bed and breakfast, there is access to the adjoining resorts and a couple of restaurants on the next beach.
Having said all that, this is paradise for a leasurely holiday or to snorkel, dive or trek. We did them all!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sva777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

324 - 330 of 933 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

Despite the bad reviews we ended up staying in a "Semi-Suite Beach View" room for 4 nights and had a great time (and because it was the only place available on the island for our dates). The room was large and the bed quite comfortable. Water pressure in the shower was weak at best, but being on a remote, relatively underdevelopped island I kept my expectations in perspective. I really appreciated the individual water taps outside every hut to rinse your feet before entering the room (nice touch!)

It was, in VERY large part due to the location, beautiful weather, water, beach and surroundings that we enjoyed ourselves. Plus, having a number of restaurant options within walking distance made the stay a lot better. Though the P.I. Resort has the best spot on the island by far, the food was average at best.

We chose to overlook some downfalls ie: ants in the bathroom and main room, average food & very slow service in the restaurant and what we assumed to be rats running around in the cieling of our beach hut at night. (My boyfriend confrmed to me on our last day they were rats after he saw a couple running from our small trash bin in the room to the cieling tiles above the closet!!)

I would have mentioned something to the hotel management but -and this was the most disconcerting part of our stay- it seemed as though there was NO ONE in charge of this place!? Though the staff was friendly enough they were unsupervised, all quite young and appeared pretty clueless.

All in all, it was a definite highlight of our trip through Malaysia. Very glad we chose Perhentian over Langkawi, even though there wasn't much "action" it was beautiful and he snorkelling was awesome. We hired a boatman to take us to 4 different spots around the 2 islands for almost 4 hours. Well worth the RM150!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SinOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Perhentian Island Resort is a good little hide away from the world.

Its back to basics, leave all the electronics, stress and hassle of the world behind (there is still wifi, mobile phone reception and computer if you can’t live without them).

Our room was a little run down, but it was our hide away from the world. We were a little shocked at first coming from a 5star hotel in Patong, but the simplistic room grew on us. Also there seemed to be a lot of improvement work going on, so I think they just hadn’t gotten to our room yet (we had a jungle room right at the back).

The food isn’t 5star Asian cuisine; it was basic, but still enjoyable and plentiful. It’s more like a meal you would have at home.

I highly recommend finding the snorkelling guide name Echo. He took us on a tour to Rawa Island and on an afternoon trip. He is an awesome guy, funny and knowledgeable. We swam with reef sharks (yes its safe, they won’t come near humans), green sea turtles, Nemo (clown fish) and so many other amazing fish and coral. An experience will never forget.

The beach is awesome, and you can literally swim 30m of shore and see a coral reef (with lots of clown fish).

If you want a resort with all the bells and whistles (5 star style), where everything is prefect, this is not the place for you. If you want to relax, do nothing and spending quality time connecting with people you are on holidays with, its prefect.

Room Tip: Go a Semi Suite (Beach Front) room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrMrsMuppi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

I stayed in a diffrent place that was popular , cheap, and crowded but food was so awful I decided to give PIR a try thinking that the most luxory accomodation would have a little better food than the bland turist pulp we had served at Watercolor Resort. It was a mistake: chicken in my curry was either very old or terribly undecocked, or both. My husband's tom yum was a brownish joke wirh a very sad calliflower in the state of advanced decomposition. The restaurant was a playground for a group of cheerful rats. What else do you need for a perfect dinner?

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MurasakiWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We spent 6 nights in this resort last summer and before people considering
where to stay on the Perhentians this summer start making reservations,
I thought I'd share my experience and opinions.
I booked our Deluxe Chalet through an agent at perhentianislandresorts.com
for RM327 as opposed to the resort's official site perhentianislandresort.net
where the rate for the same room was RM385.
As we arrived at Kota Bharu in the late afternoon flight the day before, as
opposed to staying at KL, we stayed over night at KB and took the earlier
boat leaving from Kuala Besut at around 11am. This turned out to be a good
move. Once we got checked in, a guy showed us to our chalet (#220) which
was on the second row (from the beach) as advertised, but the view was almost
completely blocked by the back wall of what they called the Deluxe Suite (?),
an ugly white two storied concrete building (the only one of its kind), so even
before we were shown inside, we asked for another room. The guy didn't even
hesitate and showed us a couple more rooms further towards the end of the
beach, one of which although facing sideways, even had a direct view of the
ocean if we looked to the left from the balcony. I was quite satisfied with it, but
my wife was still not pleased and pointed at another room just being cleaned
looking vacant, which had an undisturbed and direct view of the ocean (#235,
one of 4 rooms, #235-#238 in the same semi-detached building all the way at
the end of the beach), which the guy confirmed was actually also in the same
category. He was reluctant to let us have it and told us to check with reception
so I went back and the young woman there hesitated momentarily, but let us
have it saying that the people who were supposed to have the room haven't arrived
yet (perhaps they were paying RM385!?). So it's worth getting there early and
have them show you all the available rooms and fuss a bit. I must add that it
was apparent that the resort was trying to give us the worst room because we're
Japanese, who normally complain far less than the average Caucasian.
All of the Deluxe rooms we saw were basically the same, a little warn out and
grotty in some places, especially the bathroom as others have repeatedly pointed
out. But considering where this is, it wasn't as bad as all that, only slightly dirtier
than the chalets at Coral Redang Resort as my only other point of comparison,
which is a little more expensive anyway. With a direct view and access to the great
beach, we had no complaints. This end of the beach is where the best snorkeling is
(the other end being in front of Coral View Resort), so if you want good snorkeling
close to your room, ask for #235 to #238, if you don't want to pay extra to stay in the
Beachfront Chalets. There's also a lot less foot traffic at this end of the beach, giving
you more privacy and a better chance to relax.
After reading just how bad the food is, we pretty much decided not to eat there at all,
except on our first morning, we ordered an omelet and pancake. It took them over
half an hour to bring the food and it was only barely edible. The breakfast buffet looked vile.
The dinner menu, which pretty much seemed to consist of the same type of seafood BBQ
and traditional Malay dishes, was at least 30% more expensive than the other resorts
and probably not any better, if not worse. So definitely give the food here a miss.
My major complaint is the housekeeping. We saw the same poor woman day after day
basically doing all the work by herself, except occasionally she had a young guy sweeping and I really felt sorry for her, but our room, being at the very end of the beach often didn't get cleaned until 5 or even 6pm! So after a day of diving and snorkeling returning to our room to shower before dinner, we found that it hadn't been cleaned yet with no clean towels or shampoo, etc. replenished. I complained to reception suggesting that they should alternate the order the rooms are cleaned day-by-day, and the next day our room was cleaned before noon.
There seems to be no dispute how good the beach and the snorkeling is (we even saw a
family of saddleback anemone fish not far out from the beach), so if that's your own objective, I don't think it's such a bad place to stay, though they could improve the resort a lot if the management wanted to, I must agree. The snorkeling in front of Coral View was just as good, but the chalets there seemed to be so close together and there are so many people walking along in front of the beachfront rooms there so I don't think it would be as relaxing.
I don't know what the snorkeling is like in front of Tuna Bay, but I would consider staying at
PIR again, if only just for the beach and the snorkeling.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Taku M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

We were so disappointed with the PIR. After reading one of the reviews on here that said it was the place to go to if you were heading to the Perhentians on your honymoon we thought it would be a winner but I really wouldn't bother. Yes, the beach is lovely, but the cons far outweigh this advantage. The rooms are average at best, the food is appalling (one night we were served fish that we wouldn't even eat - and we're not fussy eaters!) with flies and ants all over the place, food left uncovered with nothing to keep it heated. Honestly the worst food I have ever been served. We also saw rats running about the outdoor restaurant. The pool is a stagnant pond near the dilapidated back of the resort and the staff are the most vacant I have encountered. Plus, they serve no alcohol at the resort, which came as a bit of a blow when we decided to have a couple of drinks to lessen the disappointment re. the room. I assume that this is due to religious reasons, so is understandable, but I wish we had known in advance. Thankfully you can easily get a boat ride round the island (not far - maybe 10 mins max) to Tuna Bay, where they have a bar with an excellent barman (great margaritas!), a lovely view and a decent restaurant. I wish we had stayed there. There are also a few other nice little restaurants along the same stretch as Tuna Bay, which do simple (yet edible) fish dishes and where you can get a beer or two.

Would recommend the island and the snorkelling, just not the PIR.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NutsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2010

We checked in at the PIR and it was our worst experience in Asia so far. As we travel with a 4 years old, we usually don't go to basic accomodation, therefore I booked the PIR because it was the most luxurious option on the Perhentians.
But we were really disappointed with this resort. the first room we were given had no extra bed, was extremely dirty, did not have a working shower and was situated at the most far end of the resort. As we paid in advance for our trip (one of the resorts' requirements) and therefore we didn't want to leave, we asked for another room. After waiting at least one hour (and we could also see a lot of other guests were not satisfied with their rooms) we were offered to upgrade to a more expensive room. As we didn't want our vacation to be spoilt, we decided to pay the extra money and change to the other room. This room was run down, but not so dirty and had the extra bed for our son. Dinner was ok, but the next morning, the included breakfast was horrible. further, there were not enough daybeds at the beach for all guests, there were no (clean) towels to use at the beach. We came from KL where we stayed at the Traders Hotel for the same price as PIR is charging and the contrast between these two hotels could not have been bigger. This is really a rip off. I was warned already by the reviews on Tripadvisor, but wanted to take the gamble because of the description in the Lonely Planet. Although the beach is nice, there are many places in Malaysia and or Thailand which are equally nice and have better hotels to stay for the same price. It really sucked and we left after one night, took the boat to Pulau Redang and really enjoyed our stay at the Berjaya Beach Hotel. Also please note that they do not serve any alcohol at this resort. A nice cold beer could have relieved the hardship.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Feek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.2 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
665 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,009 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
350 reviews
2 mi away
Shari-La Island Resort
Shari-La Island Resort
#6 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
487 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Island Resort

Address: | Daerah Besut, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: £68 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perhentian Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Island Resort is an ideal beach resort for a leisurely family vacation in Malaysia. Surrounded by lush greenery, facing white sandy beaches and a warm blue sea, Perhentian Island is a holiday paradise not to be missed. Perhentian Island, or Pulau Perhentian as the locals call it, is well known as a marine paradise and forms a parts of the National Marine Park of Malaysia. In the surrounding areas of Perhentian Island Resort, you will find many things to see and do. Take a jungle trek up the hills under a canopy of large trees, and you might see wild magpies, giant fruit bats or the Nicobar pigeon. Perhentian Island lies along the flight path of this migratory bird. You might also see the harmless monitor lizard or even the unique lutong monkey species. The nearest jungle trail is less than 100 metres away from our resort. Or gather your family and head to the inviting sea for a swim. For those who enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving, the Resort is strategically located, fronting a coral-rich bay. The marine ecosystem of this area is well documented and held in high regards by snorkellers and scuba divers. If you come between June and September, you might get lucky and see giant green turtles laying eggs along the beach. Enjoy your next family holiday at this paradise beach resort, where reality is like a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Perhentian Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Perhentian Island Pulau Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing