We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dive center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perhentian Island Resort
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We had a wonderful scuba diving experience at this resort. The dive center was equipped with well taken cared equipment and a fun professional crew. Unlike other dive resorts that pack as many divers as they can, this one split the groups with assigned dive masters. For Advanced Open Water course, instructor Rashid taught at our pace because we wanted to enjoy our holiday relaxing by the beack too. The beach is nice and quiet, except the weekend because there was a sudden influx of local guests.

Now, the disappointing part. Fine, having travelled around Malaysia for 5 months, the resort is what we expected for beach holiday but the rooms needed maintenance badly and the housekeeping staff are slow. Did not eat the restaurant, we walked in and walked straight out after looking at the buffet selection.

We will go back for scuba diving and the beach!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 10_Divers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2013

I went to this resort for 3D2n diving trip in group of 25 peoples in March. The room is large and clean with no TV. But there is fridge and working desk and the size of room enough for 3 adults.

The room is clean and basic but much better than my last stay at the Panorma Chalet on the other island. The restaurant food is OK and surprises but the a la carte menus is a bit expensive as compared with other restaurants nearby.

The dive centre there is well equipped and the diving equipmentsare in good conditions and the facility is good. The divemaster there is very friendly but very casual without any debriefing after each dive or brief introduction before each dive. For experienced diver that is OK.

There are other smaller resorts, resaurants nearby within walking distance to which may be good if you travel in couple. The check-in process is very slow at tis resort and there is not much entertainment in evening as there is no bar at all due to muslim owner.

There is a very small pool at teh back but water quality don't look good so I suggest to enjoy the beach is better. The long beach is just outside the resort !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights on a trip around Thailand and Malaysia. I will never forget this Island, along with Redang the most beautiful I have seen, white sandy beaches, fabulous snorkelling, right off the beach. On a boat snorkelling trip we saw a black tipped reef shark and got up close and personal with a large turtle. Unforgettable.

I booked it knowing it was not great, but was only one available at the right price about 3 months in advance. It has such a great location, I guess it doesn't really matter about the hotel as people such as us will always come.

Terrible service - arrived at check in time and had to wait 2 hours to access our room. I heard other people complaining too. The staff just sort of look at you when you complain.The bungalows are huge, loads of space and ours was back from the beach in the jungle, amazing sounds at night. But the power kept going out which was infuriating. Pool looked dirty and uninviting, but I suppose you don't really need it. We were already forewarned about the bad food, so didn't eat here once. Walked to next door and Watercolours which we enjoyed. Great wildlife, saw huge fruit bats and flying squirrels whilst just walking to dinner.

If I ever had the chance I would return to the Island like a shot - but I would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedSquirrel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This resort is the best resort in Perhentian Island. I've been here for two times. They have a private beach, swimming pool, a private jetty and many fishes can be seen at this beach. The turtle point is also at this beach.

The room is clean, has 24hrs electricity, fridge, tv, hot water and other facilities. The price is slightly higher compared to other resort but it is value for money.

More pictures and review can be read at my blog. =)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank neynapathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

This is a resort at a wonderful spot; a paradise like island, it's own beach in a magnificent bay!
And I had a nice room (sometimes I think I stayed at another place reading reviews). Yes, not the best ever or so. Just functional. Pretty balcony. Warm water, aircon working fine, happily no television and very GOOD mattresses! Not cheap, in fact expensive, but I considered that the price of booking late. The staff was great, always supportive and kind. Only real minus is the food, just don't eat here. Even their BBQ isn't what you would hope for. And for that quality it is absolutely overpriced.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank wuyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Probably the best beach on the island. Sandy bottoms. Although, you probably wont see much fish here. Perhaps some turtles. Service is friendly. Food is terrible (bring your own), and takes ages to prepare. Chef should be thrown off the island. Rooms are outdated, but acceptable. No TV (not needed). Fridge, tea, coffee and a hot water kettle in the room. Baby and stroller friendly. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaqattaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

As someone previously said, Perhentian Island is a paradise.. green water, a lot of fish, white sands, good weather. We booked a superior room (at least, it was supposed to be "superior") in front of the beach. The position was really good, but in general the property is not realy good. It's old and not that much clean. There is a pool, not needed in that kind of natural scenery, and it's also dirty. There is an AC in the room but it wasn't working properly.. and when it worked, then plenty of noise. The staff is not really friendly, sometimes seemed like if they were not interested in us at all. If it weren't for the amazing scenery, there would be no reason to visit this hotel. But I have to be honest, is the one with the best beach of the Island (i checked the others while I was there!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SerenaPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.2 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,008 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,324 reviews
1.9 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Island Resort

Address: | Daerah Besut, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: £68 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perhentian Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Island Resort is an ideal beach resort for a leisurely family vacation in Malaysia. Surrounded by lush greenery, facing white sandy beaches and a warm blue sea, Perhentian Island is a holiday paradise not to be missed. Perhentian Island, or Pulau Perhentian as the locals call it, is well known as a marine paradise and forms a parts of the National Marine Park of Malaysia. In the surrounding areas of Perhentian Island Resort, you will find many things to see and do. Take a jungle trek up the hills under a canopy of large trees, and you might see wild magpies, giant fruit bats or the Nicobar pigeon. Perhentian Island lies along the flight path of this migratory bird. You might also see the harmless monitor lizard or even the unique lutong monkey species. The nearest jungle trail is less than 100 metres away from our resort. Or gather your family and head to the inviting sea for a swim. For those who enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving, the Resort is strategically located, fronting a coral-rich bay. The marine ecosystem of this area is well documented and held in high regards by snorkellers and scuba divers. If you come between June and September, you might get lucky and see giant green turtles laying eggs along the beach. Enjoy your next family holiday at this paradise beach resort, where reality is like a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Perhentian Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Perhentian Island Pulau Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing