We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely need a refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Perhentian Island Resort
Reviewed 9 May 2014

I stayed at PIR on April 2014 for 3 days 2 night under full board package with my friend. Breath taking view around the resort and the best beach for sure. With Marine park exactly in front of the resort, you can just jump in to the beach and enjoy the snorkelling! Everything was smooth from the moment we arrived in Kota Bahru airport till the resort for the check in.
Our disappointment begin when we got our room key. The room was big but the air conditioning not working at all. It's like we stay in sauna room in very hot day!! The bathroom not clean at all. The toilet bowl and sink very dirty. No chair for dressing table. Smelly pillow and duvet. Only at 6pm maintenance guy came in and fixed the air conditioning. And same thing happened next day which is the air conditioning not working and it's turn to be very hot! Another maintenance guy came in and fixed the air cond. The housekeeper did not clean the coffee cup for some reason and I wonder why? I have stayed in many hotel & resort before but never come across this situation. Definitely the room we stayed need a refurbishment.
The buffet for lunch & dinner also biggest disappointment for us. The fruits plate not fresh at all. The foods too oily and tasteless. I ended up ate outside the resort and wasted our full board package!! Definitely big no for the full board package!
On our last day, we already hang the DO NOT DISTURD sign in the door. Unfortunately, at 830am in the morning someone claimed from maintenance loudly knocked the door and said want to fixed the air conditioner!!! But why must on our last day and in the morning and when we already put the DO NOT DISTURB sign???!!
It's terrible experienced for the holiday. I will definitely come back to Perhentian Island but not to Perhentian Island resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nanicharlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 932 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

This ressort consist of bungalows directly at a wonderful white sanded beach with coconut palms and amazing clear water. The bungalows are not luxurios but clean. The restaurant is not recommendable (food not so nice and expensive). There are nicer restaurants within walking distance.From the ressoerts close by I believe thisbis the bestvone:Bungalows do not stand too close and the beach is stunning.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jasmin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at Perhentian Islands Resort wih friends in March, 2014. We booked via Booking.com two Deluxe rooms with breakfast. We arrived early morning (8 A.M) with the first boat from Kuala Besut. They were given welcome drink to us. Check in time usually is in the afternoon, but we were waiting only one and half hour, and the rooms were ready.
The rooms was very big, with big bed and big bathroom. We liked it. Every day, if you want, they give you a new towel and complimentary water and coffe/tea.
The breakfast is average with some local food.
The beach is the best in Perhentian. White sandy beach, turquoise water… it’s amazing! There are turtles, fishes, sharks and some corals int he crystal clear water.
In the garden live so many animals, like thomas leaf monkey, monitor lizzard, flying squirrel, squirrel.
All in all, if you like nature and wildlife, this hotel is a good choice for you.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kittcsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at Perhentian Islands Resort on 18-20 April 2014, booked from Agoda , $ 265 for 2 nights , for 3 people ,with breakfast.
At first we're a bit concerned about the transfer to the resort, , but at the end, we booked all the land transfer (RM 60 per person) and speed boat transfer (RM 70 ) all return trip, from the resort.For 3 persons we paid RM 390.It was easy , and hassle free.Journey from KBR to Kuala Besut took us exactly 1 hour ,and from Kuala Besut to Perhentian Besar Pier was 30 minutes.We have to buy Marine Conservation Tickets for RM 5 per person.Thank you Fika ,and Faz, for replying our emails !
We arrived a bit early to PIR ( about 10- 10.30 am) , and could not go to our room ,because , check in time is should be on 3 pm.Welcome drink was given.
So we leave our backpacks at the front desk , and changed our clothes and went for a swim.On 1 pm , they gave us our room the 321.
Observed that there's a certain time for lunch and dinner, cannot buy food other than the time stated.Buffet lunch is pricey ,RM 55 per person.So we went to neighboring resort for lunch and dinner throughout our stay.Glad that we found them !
The beach in front of the resort , is obviously the best beach in Perhentian Besar ,white sandy beach ,turquoise water , variety of marine life can be seen , just merely several metres from the beach.Further , you can snorkel among live corals , water visibility was quite good.In fact ,we saw a Moray Eel with just snorkeling here ! The best and only spot for Turtle Watching is on the sea, right in front of the hotel.We spot 2 big turtles over here.
A dive shop , located near the boat pier , they arrange snorkeling trips 2 times a day , on 10 am and 2 pm. A trip to Shark Point is a must !! We saw and swim with several harmless Black Tip Sharks.Thank you David , we had such a good time with you !
This resort have many interesting creatures can be seen , we saw a lot of Squirrels , Flying Squirrels, Bats , and 2 Huge Water Monitor Lizards , on a pond next to the swimming pool.
In the morning , we saw families of black monkeys behind our bungalow ! Please PIR, preserve these animals, its a nice surprise we could see them ,a very nice addition to your resort.
No complain about our room , complete bathroom amenites,except toothbrush, hot water is working , AC is great , beds are comfy ,spacious, quite clean.
There's a small fridge but no TV nor a safe deposit box, we have to put our valuables , on the front desk.3 bottles of water were a compliment ,daily.Delicious breakfast.Friendly staffs.
For the price we paid , we liked what we got from it.Would we come back ? Its a definite Yes ! The food might be better if served a la Carte ,serve food all the time ,not in hourly basis.

Room Tip: Ocean view would be nicer..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erwin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We booked through Groupon a few months before the event took place.

The islands was beautiful as I remembered. The resort looked astonishing from afar. Boat ride was OK.

At the jetty. Crystal clear water, but some dark residue can be seen on the seabed. Didn't think it was organic. Not much fish in the water. Six years back, hundred of small blue-green fish can be seen. The urge to jump into the water was not there. Safety fail. Some slippery spots on the walkway from the jetty to the resort. Broken railings on the sides. Any kid could have fallen by accident.

The weather was hot. We got our room close to 3pm. The AC took its time to cool the room. Low lighting. Average room size. Very heavy sliding door to the balcony. Some damaged on the wooden laminated floor. Stained curtain with broken hinges. Loved the pillows. Didn't fancy the spring bed much. Working heater. Good water pressure. Clean toilets.

Good food. Pricey a la carte. Slow on replenishing the buffet. Good setting facing the beach. Nice wooden tables and chairs. Easy wipe after a wet guest used the chairs.

Helpful, friendly staff.

Swimming pool management. Small pool for a resort of that size. No water filtering. High chlorine. Broken pool chairs.

Gorgeous beach. Not a good spot for snorkeling.

Good walkabouts to other areas i.e. food outlets, beaches, etc.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kamarol1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms are very basic with no tv or telephone. The regular rooms are poor. Went into the suite, I expected better but the only difference is the view facing the beach. But it's a better option. Food is average but you could walk to other parts of the island for a variety of food and drinks. Service is slow and needs prompting for every single thing including cleaning of the room. The only good thing was the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank St3pK4ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Boat transfer and check in procedures were ok, nothing to complain.
Husband and I thought that the food was really awful, that we had to walk over to the next resort to find a more edible food. A China lady and an British guy talked to us, and they thought we would like the food. It was embarrassing to tell them that even we think the food sucks.
The first day afternoon we went to the snorkelling center, happily waiting for the 2pm session. It turned up to be just 2 of us. So we went out on a honeymoon snorkelling with the boat man. I personally think that the snorkelling experience was not great, nothing much to see at the 3 sites. Luckily the next day snorkelling at Shark Point and Turtle Bay was not disappointing.
The room space was ok, but the air con was not cold in the afternoon. I sweat while taking a nap in the afternoon for 2 days. And worse, there was a lizard making noise from the air con place.
We paid for the land transfer from jetty to airport, and when we reached the jetty office, it was not open and we had to call the KL office. We waited 45 mins for the van to come. The journey to airport on the van was bad, since the air con was not good.
Overall, the experience with this resort was really terrible. The first thing they have to improve is the food, followed by other facilities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DISappointing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.2 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
664 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#8 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resor...
#2 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
1,009 reviews
20.3 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 12 in Pulau Redang
1,326 reviews
1.9 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Island Resort

Address: | Daerah Besut, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22200, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range: £68 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Perhentian Island Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Island Resort is an ideal beach resort for a leisurely family vacation in Malaysia. Surrounded by lush greenery, facing white sandy beaches and a warm blue sea, Perhentian Island is a holiday paradise not to be missed. Perhentian Island, or Pulau Perhentian as the locals call it, is well known as a marine paradise and forms a parts of the National Marine Park of Malaysia. In the surrounding areas of Perhentian Island Resort, you will find many things to see and do. Take a jungle trek up the hills under a canopy of large trees, and you might see wild magpies, giant fruit bats or the Nicobar pigeon. Perhentian Island lies along the flight path of this migratory bird. You might also see the harmless monitor lizard or even the unique lutong monkey species. The nearest jungle trail is less than 100 metres away from our resort. Or gather your family and head to the inviting sea for a swim. For those who enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving, the Resort is strategically located, fronting a coral-rich bay. The marine ecosystem of this area is well documented and held in high regards by snorkellers and scuba divers. If you come between June and September, you might get lucky and see giant green turtles laying eggs along the beach. Enjoy your next family holiday at this paradise beach resort, where reality is like a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Perhentian Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar
Perhentian Island Pulau Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing