We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot recommend this hotel enough” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend this hotel enough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I was here with my sister and my two 8 year old kids for 5 nights and 6 days. I seriously don't know how we are going to top this vacation. We had a "family suite" which consists of a room on the beach which backs onto an adjoining room facing the garden. The room was literally ON the beach; you can't get any closer. The rooms were basic but clean. The beach is simply gorgeous with fine white sand, well maintained, with plenty of deck chairs. The house reef is small but pretty and they are clearly taking great pains to preserve it. Snorkeling in the area is also good. This is one of the few hotels on Perhentian which treats its sewage instead of dumping it in the sea, which could account in part for the slightly higher prices. The dining area is nice, and there is a bar. You have a few options on the beach for food, and I would not recommend full board, if only for the variety available. My only gripe is that they didn't provide free wifi, or even a one time fee, but instead you have to pay by the hour. Notwithstanding, our stay was simply perfect as a family vacation and I only wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Get a room on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    408
    120
    45
    24
See reviews for
232
495
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We had a very nice stay in tuna bay. The rooms are basic but comfortable and the island and resort have a relaxed atmosphere. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Don't expect anything fancy but that's also the charm of the islands.
We also enjoyed diving with seahorse divers, just next to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank are413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

For what we paid, I thought this resort was pretty average. There was also a sense of trying to make money on everything, which I know is not uncommon but when you look at the food prices which exclude 'tax', wifi, commission on airport transfer etc. it makes you think.

Staff were friendly which is always a bonus but upon check out, we were not happy to see that they had automatically added an airport transfer when we didn't request one! They said they did it for all residents with a departing flight? Anyway, they were charging RM 70 and we got a taxi at the jetty pretty easily for RM 50.

There are other good resorts on the island and we found Abdul's Chalets to offer great food, no hidden charges and even free wifi. Given a second chance, would probably have stayed there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzyb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We loved our stay at the Tuna Bay Island Resort. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Rooms were good but sometimes there were rolling blackouts - I think they had to switch generators. In my room though, we sometimes had trouble with the air conditioning unit. It wouldn't always turn on when we wanted it to. Rooms were overall clean; however, sometimes little ants did get into the room.

One thing that I would like to see improved is their internet as they did charge RM 10 for 30 minutes of internet use; however, the internet didn't always work. The staff members were quite nice though in making up the time that I had lost with my internet (when I had 20 minutes left but the computer said I had 0).

My group and I also did our Open Water Diver courses and booked through Tuna. We ended up doing our courses at Universal Divers and it was AMAZING! Our instructors, Jana and Marek were extremely patient, friendly, and made our course a success! I would highly recommend this!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trav3ller_chic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Just stayed at Tuna bay for 5 nights on a 4 day diving package (plus added 2 additional nights). This by all means is not a luxury 5 star hotel but if traveLling to the islands it is not the accommodation that will wow you but the place.

The hotel itself while relatively basic is clean, modern and is air conditioned. Food at the hotel we found mixed. The diving package was full board, breakfast was good but the lunch and dinner left a bit to be desired mainly as there was no choice to what you were served and you weren't even told what you were getting. This meant we were left on some days having things we just did not like. However I have to say on the 2 days we weren't full board we just choose off the menu and the food was really good, therefore if to do again we'd just avoid doing the package. There was limited other places to eat, we did eat at the cafe at the side of the resort and became quite addicted to their banana shakes and roti canni.

The real sell for the perhentians is the beach and sea. The coral off the beach is some of the best weve seen making snorkelling good with clown fish to be found. Some of the coral has died not helped by people not observing the no flippers ban on the beach. However if you want to experience really great snorkelling you should walk further down the beach almost to the bottom of the islands (opposite the camp site). Snorkelling here we saw clown fish, barracuda and even blue spotted rays with the coral being really vibrant.

Diving through Universal Divers was great. Really friendly professional school. Some of the best and most relaxing dives we've ever done. Because of the number of sites around the islands it was v simple, no more than 20 min boat ride to a site. Managed to see a number of sharks and turtles. Enjoyed so much ended up doing several more dives than originally intended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vinterbro, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The location is fantastic, on the beach of the Perhentian Besar. On this beach you find a couple of other resorts, taxi boats, a shop, a laundry/post office and diving courses. The boat trip from Kuala Besut takes 45-60 minutes by the Tuna Express boats, and the wonderful view is against the small Perhentian island.

We lived in room 20, which had quite a dull view against a fence and the employee rooms. The room was very small for a family of four (children aged 3 and 5), not more than 12 sq metres, plus a nice and comfy bathroom. We also had a terrace with two chairs, a table and drying eqipment. But because you don't go to Perhentian to spend time in your room, this was no problem. Neither was the lack of refrigerator, tv and wifi in the room. You could go online in the restaurant area.

We really enjoyed our stay here. Tuna Bay is a small resort, and the restaurant and the beach life is very quiet. You meet the same people at the beach and for three meals a day, and it is really easy to get in touch if you want to. The beach is nice and clean, with a lot of fish and sealife to snorkel for.

Tuna Bay offers activities like diving and snorkeling. The guides will take you out to see big turtles, with a chance to swim with them, and to swim with a lot of colourful fish in the beautiful reef. In the bar you can have cocktails and watch Premier League live.

Tuna Bay is a very nice resort with staff that seems to really enjoy their job and being proud of the resort. The restaurant is not expensive, and the menu is rich in interesting food. But you end up paying for lunch and dinner every day of your stay, so expect to spend some money.

We liked the welcome drink and the information about different animals on the island, given to us on arrival.

For families with children, beware that there are encounters with stonefish near the shoreline. One of our friends was stung, and quickly hd to go to hospital on the small island. We wish that the hotel staff could have informed us about the stonefish, so that we at an earlier could have taken safety precations with our children.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KEGillesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Based on what I've read and heard about tuna bay, my 3 day stay was not quite what I hoped it to be. Electricity was cut for a while, and there was no water supply in one of our bathrooms for all three days. What annoyed me as well was the fact that they charged RM10 for a 30 minute use of their WiFi.

Unfortunately, this is the best resort that Perhentian has to offer. It was not a horrible stay, but not much value for money. On a positive note, there are some live corals along Tuna Bay's beach. Even found clownfish among those corals. Also, they air football matches live on a HD Tv screen at night! Perhentian is a beautiful island, wouldn't mind taking a trip back there again.

Room Tip: If you're looking to save some money, The garden rooms are only a stone's throw away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samlimja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.6 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#2 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#3 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#4 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
20.4 mi away
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
The Taaras Beach & Spa Resort
#2 of 13 in Pulau Redang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort

Property: Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Address: | Perhentian Island, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort is located on the south west coast of Pulau Perhentian Besar (Big Island), a quiet, untouched part of the island surrounded by tropical jungle, on a broad expanse of powdery white sand. The resort commands a breathtaking view of Pulau Perhentian Kecil (Small Island) and the South China Sea, right on your doorstep. All chalets are just a minute's walk from the beach and are tastefully built with wooden furnish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing