We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awesome :D”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Calcutta
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome :D”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here Sept 2013. I don't have words to describe this place - you simply need to go there and experience for yourself. Trust us you won't be disappointed. The staff makes you feel so much at home, food is absolutely great, room is spacious, beach area is clean, family friendly, overall we give it a "5" star. While over there do try and visit Turtle Beach its so calm and beautiful. Those into diving will also enjoy this property. Go for a walk in the late afternoon you will enjoy it.
Right from Kota Bahru to Kuala Besut jetty to Tuna Bay - these guys got it so organised.
We wish team Tuna Bay best of luck and look forward to our next trip back.
Thanks for making our stay so memorable.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Abhijit_Chatterji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    418
    122
    46
    24
See reviews for
242
507
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My children and I just returned from a lovely 3 night stay at Tuna Bay. From checking in at Kuala Besut, car parking, ferry, then island check in, all went very smoothly. We had two rooms connecting with each room having queen and twin bed. It was quite clean and in good condition.

The water was warm, the beach has white sand and lots of seashells that my kids loved collecting.

We ate at the restaurant most days and found the food to be well proportioned and quick delivered. The price was ok, not inexpensive but not over the top.

My only complaint...because of all the activity, lots of boats, tours and people, the ocean wildlife is diminishing and there was some signs of dead coral all around the island. If measures aren't taken to protect it, the beauty of this island will be just a memory.

If we return, we will try somewhere quieter with more rustic feel. This place is great, just a little more bustling than I would want.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmerPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The Tuna Bay is a very nice and simple resort on a wonderful white beach of Perhentian Besar.
Staff is very friendly and cheerful, rooms quite big and nice (luckily no tv!) and a great restaurant, actually the best one we tried during our stay, little more expensive than the other on Besar (but cheap anyway for europeans) but good quality, huge choise...I hoped to get slimmer during my stay, but in the end if was the opposite!!
With a taxi boat or a guide (we've chosen this last option and we loved the guy!!!) you can reach very nice beaches and see turtles, shakes and a wonderful reef. We love snorkeling and we found this reef was one of the best ones we saw ever.
This resort and the island in general is for who wants a relaxing holiday, no shoes in the restaurant (I didn't wear shoes for 10 days exept during the jungle treck), a paradise for me!
I thank Ali and Jimmy for being always nice to us and the bartender that prepared for us wonderful margaritas :)
See you soon I hope!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiaraluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

The island is where you can forget everything in the busy life. Time goes slow there.
Staffs are friendly and foods at the restaurant at night are great but expensive as Malaysian price.
Wifi wasn't working well so
first we wonder if I can manage days without TV or Internet then we found us getting used to nothing because we spend time to swim on the beautiful beach has corals and plenty of fish or chat with friends! What a perfect holiday! We really enjoyed to stay there.
This is the place we wanna go back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Komarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Though i experienced some "hiccup" on d online booking system, but finally all issues are sorted all.
Location : Excellent. Relax, not too busy. With fantastic sunset view .
Environment : Beautiful beachfront resort with white powdery sand, and crystal clear water. Juz jump in for snorkeling anytime. Excellent for family with children.
Room : Clean n Comfy bed. With hot water & air conditioning. No complaints.
Food : Western bf is good at in house restaurant. If you prefer something more local, juz walk to the next door Coconut resort.
Staff : Friendly & helpful. Tq guys.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Abby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Really nice staff and nice bungalows. We thought that it was a little too expensive looking at what you get. Good breakfast, fresh pancakes, eggs the way you prefer them etc. Service was really well. Cleanliness was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhazendonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Great place to stay! The rooms are nice, clean and have everything you need. The restaurant offers an excellent morning buffet and all meals are delicious! There are plenty of nearby restaurants from other hotels and a beach cafe. We loved the easy access to great hiking, snorkeling and kayaking. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AGreen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pulau Perhentian Besar
0.6 mi away
Coral View Island Resort
Coral View Island Resort
#3 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perhentian Island Resort
Perhentian Island Resort
#4 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resort
The Barat Perhentian Beach Resor...
#5 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
BuBu Long Beach Resort
BuBu Long Beach Resort
#1 of 7 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & Beach Chalet
Arwana Perhentian Eco Resort & B...
#7 of 11 in Pulau Perhentian Besar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.1 mi away
Alunan Resort
Alunan Resort
#1 of 10 in Pulau Perhentian Kecil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort

Property: Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort
Address: | Perhentian Island, Pulau Perhentian Besar 22300, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Terengganu > Pulau Perhentian Besar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pulau Perhentian Besar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort is located on the south west coast of Pulau Perhentian Besar (Big Island), a quiet, untouched part of the island surrounded by tropical jungle, on a broad expanse of powdery white sand. The resort commands a breathtaking view of Pulau Perhentian Kecil (Small Island) and the South China Sea, right on your doorstep. All chalets are just a minute's walk from the beach and are tastefully built with wooden furnish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Perhentian Tuna Bay Island Hotel Pulau Perhentian Besar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing